Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 13 minutes, 30 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 13 minutes, 31 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Vixen - bentosmile - Jam Entry

    Just a quick little visual novel. There might be bugs as I had to make a lot of code fixes last minute :(

    Girls are mean!

    Made with Ren'Py

    View bentosmile's journal. | View all entries by bentosmile

    Ratings

    Theme(Jam)4.44
    #16Mood(Jam)3.89
    #20Overall(Jam)3.84
    #50Graphics(Jam)4.04
    #105Fun(Jam)3.10
    #135Innovation(Jam)3.01
    #178Humor(Jam)2.50
    #257Audio(Jam)1.50
    #854Coolness40%

    Comments

    RokB says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

    I liked this. You got me to feel sympathy for her. Also the art is really great.

    TomSmizzle says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:13am

    Oh no! So mean!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

    I feel like this game succeeded in making me feel like a jerk, and was quite enjoyable, so good work

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    I don't want to be a jerk anymore!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37am

    Wonderful pacing. This is too good. Why am I an evil fox I don't want to be an evil fox ahhhh *SOB*

    Nice work!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:35am

    UGH. I feel like crap, now! I had options to "do nothing" but I was so curious to see what would happen I just kept on being a jerk. That whole back and forth kinda of thing in my head made me feel really uneasy about all of it. You did a good job getting me to feel true emotions, and that's not too easy with a simple 48 hour game. The art is beautiful as usual!

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    This was really, really good.

    zompi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Wow... Jerk simulator. The best villains are always children (ew. young people), they can be cruel. Like the story and art, really cool.

    awppy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Visual novels really aren't my thing, but there's a nice amount of diversity to what you can do for a quick little game! I think I lack the emotional attachment to appreciate it, though

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Only the top right quarter of the window is rendering on 64bit Xubuntu :(

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Ha ha ha! I wanted to be nice, but it just felt so good being mean! Full theme points for you! Cheers!

    Mase says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24am

    One of my favorites out of a 100 or so. Really cohesive graphics. It was interesting that the player character had a distinct personality.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:14pm

    Cool!

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    i really love your games bentosmile. this one is great.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:43am

    You made me feel SOOO bad! You're even meaner than me/her!

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    i just loved the game, a nice story i trid to do differents choices trying to reach the end

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Poor girl!

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Really great! Interesting how it forces you to be a either a villian or a nonchalant bystander, I think I've seen all 3 endings alr.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:29am

    Good work! Nice graphics.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Wow. I've got to tell you, this really made me look back at some of the girls I know. This is a visual novel, so I can't really give you a good/bad breakdown, because literature is so much more subjective. All I can say is great work.

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:48am

    Wow, that was very well played. At (almost) every point I had the option not to do something terrible, but because the game is what it is of course the sense of exploration demanded that I do.

    Eventually I decided to stop being a jerk and back out of every opportunity to be hurtful. Though the ending was completely anticlimactic, it was possibly the best ending to a game I've seen in the competition so far.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:42am

    the lack of audio made the text much more effective (nice graphics too). overall a fascinating little game. really gives the player a taste of how little a person's feelings mean to a bully.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:14am

    It's new, nice game! Really!

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:51am

    I could only play two days. I realised that the player character was going to make Anne's life miserable, and I couldn't be responsible for doing so... which is interesting, I think. Well done!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    I'm not used to visual novels but I sure like this one. :)
    Got four different endings.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    This is one of the better games. I dunno what "Vixen" or the fox means though but whatever, still a very cool game.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    I just taught Anne a valuable lesson.

    (Awesome work with this!)

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Good job!

    Some music would be nice... and don't put "close the game" on the right mouse button, please :D

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Very nice entry. One of the nicest I played. After playing I really feel like I'm the villain :/

    Volute says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    Great game ! I like now you can not be the villain if you want even if the dialogs (and the induced curiosity to know what happens if...) strongly encourage it.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Excellent art and use of theme. You don't need an Armageddon weapon or minions to be a villain.

    bentog says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Bah, I hate being evil :( This game is great, it makes the player feel bad for its own actions.

    goerp says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    Haven't seen this take on the theme, very good!
    I was the villain, but in the end didn't like it at all.
    Graphics looked perfect for the game as well.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    That was horrible. I'm going to cry in a corner now. Bravo, I guess.

    madpew says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:34am

    I don't like VN, but I really enjoyed this one. Good job on the story and the graphics. Well done.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:02pm

    Very emotive, excellent presentation and an interesting progression - I even enjoyed the ending. Some plunky piano wouldn't have gone amiss but it was really polished and enjoyable (if that's the word!)

    feili says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:31pm

    that changed from destroying the world and killing people with goats!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:04am

    Was interesting. Are there multiple outcomes or anything? I ended up just feeling bad but not bad enough to be friends with her. I kept waiting on escalating bullying until Anne killed herself, or something to really drive the point home. Good stuff.

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:41am

    ='(

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]