Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 0 hours, 13 minutes, 29 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 1 hour, 1 minute, 29 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mad Princess - AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ---STORY---

    There is a story of a beautiful princess trapped in the castle of a horrible demon. Many brave warriors have fallen
    trying to face the dangerous traps of the castle to save the princess!

    The truth, however, is much more darker: The master of the castle is no one but the princess herself!
    She uses terrible dark magic to set traps for the hapless heroes who invade the castle,
    and then uses their blood to create more deadly traps for new heroes who dare to set their foot in the castle!

    Mad Princess is a tower defence type of game. You control the princess,
    who uses blood as currency, to set up different traps from spiky floors to
    crossbow sentries to kill the invading heroes!
    The heroes travel in sideway 2D view in the halls of the castle,
    trying to reach the princess. If that happens, she is forcefully saved and probably married, or worse, taken to some mental care institution


    ---CONTROLS---
    Use mouse to play, select different traps by picking their icons from the top screen and then place them down in the battlefield.

    Press R to restart current Stage and Esc to return to main menu. Note that this will restart the whole game.

    Press P to pause and unpause
    Use + and - to adjust volume and 0 to mute/unmute.

    ---TRAPS---
    First trap is the Bombs, you can spawn them pretty much anywhere by just clicking empty space. They are cheap and pretty powerful, but be careful though, because they start rolling around easily and will blow up your traps if they happen to collide.

    Second trap is the Spike Carpet, it falls on the ground and will sap the health of anyone who steps on it except Agile enemies. The invading heroes cannot attack it, but be careful when placing it, because it breaks if it touches other traps.

    The third trap is the Wall, well, it is not really a trap, but a strong brick wall, that will halt the travel of the heroes until they manage the break it. Agile enemies can run through it with no harm though. The Wall will break any traps that collide with it.

    The fourth trap is the Crossbow, it's an automatic sentry that will shoot arrows at the invaders. It's also a bit like the Wall, and will halt the heroes, but only briefly, because it's not as sturdy as the Wall. Agile enemies can also pass through it with no harm but they can still be hit with arrows.

    The fifth and final trap is the Chain Ball, it spins in place in a round arc. It's very powerful, but it will destroy any traps it happens to smash into so be careful when placing it.

    View AdventureIslands's journal. | View all entries by AdventureIslands

    Ratings

    Coolness84%
    #16Graphics4.36
    #22Overall3.94
    #32Audio3.66
    #53Theme3.98
    #74Fun3.53
    #86Mood3.41
    #110Humor3.35
    #235Innovation3.15

    Comments

    apophenia says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Really solid game, very coherent aesthetic style.

    Minor nitpick: I wish it weren't possible to set traps during transitional states between levels (I kept accidentally clicking on them/setting off bombs during the "you win/try again" phase).

    Nimphomaniak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32am

    Great game!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

    Solid

    vrav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Enjoyed it! The music is great. Love how the humor meshes with the dark atmosphere.

    solidplasma says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29am

    Very well made, but I had trouble with the bombs.

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Nice take on the theme. The levels are just hard enough to try a couple of times without getting frustrated. It would be nice if the princess could take at least one hit. Not really any room for errors now. Anyway, I liked the game

    RipX says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21am

    Really like this game. Had some issues deploying weapons which made it a little frustrating but nice graphics, great sound and well polished.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:22am

    Bravo! Well Done!

    blackarm says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    The second wave was obnoxious.
    Also, after killing an enemy pushing the princess, she is still pushed off the screen to death.

    blackarm says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    However, visually it is nice and the idea is good. Very much like how you used Peach as the villain.

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

    soo addictive, and hard, and gltich at memnets u need it not to be , grr, :D

    Kickerua says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    The best game I've played.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    Woooow nice its hard but new :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Very well executed. Lovely balance between fun and gruesomeness :)Pretty art!

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    I love this game, well made and following creation is a plus. Well done!

    Nanofus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    This game is awesome :D Quite difficult (particularly the bombs are tricky to use) but the graphics and sounds are very amazing.

    iandioch says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Really liked it. The bomb level was a pain (do you need to hit with every single bomb?) but the concept is nice and the graphics were great. The music wasn't too shabby either :P
    I did find the ability to place traps during the win/lose screen a bit odd though.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Great job!

    Sim says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Really fun game. Good graphics and music too, nothing to complain about.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

    Awesome game

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Nice aesthetics!

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11am

    The pxeil graphics are great! The mouse handling is a bit too slow for the fast heroes. All in all Well Done!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Nice work on the various characteristics of traps and enemies.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:45am

    This is lovely! Love the music and visuals. Gameplay is fun too, but ramps up way to hard in level 2.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Nice difficulty. It made me press R more than a few times!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    Awesome pixel art!

    pythong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    loooooooooved the art

    FinalMirage says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Very cool art style. Gameplay is addicting, nicely done.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    Definitely a cool idea and fits well with the theme. The art style is great

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:48am

    Great game!!! I love the attention to detail, like the Princess's face as she's being dragged out. I had the same thing happen that others commented on, where i killed the last hero during the dragging out phase and it was confused whether I won or lost. Awesome overall though, I had a lot of fun playing.

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:34am

    Fantastic. Great all around. With more polish, bug fixing, and content, I'd pay for this game.

    The second wave was overly difficult, but this is one of the few 5's I've rated so far.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:42am

    Graphics - awesome. Music - awesome. This game - awesome.

    Just to nitpick, the bombs felt a tad slow to detonate. But maybe that's just because I like insta-explosions.

    Very, very good game though.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:13pm

    Very nice! Loving the art, and the gameplay is familiar and coherent.

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    The agile enemies seem a tad overpowered D:
    That and no room for error made me just give up on the level where you have spikes and bombs to defeat those guys =/
    Was enjoying up to that point, love the graphics.

    muratcelik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:32pm

    game idea and graphics are great.

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    nice job

    deepnight says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:10pm

    Ok you are definitely my fav in this LD °_°
    I totally loved your game and played it through the end (which something I rarely do in LD).

    Gameplay is great: it seems pretty simple & basic at first but every level has the perfect balance between frustration & reward.

    Excellent job :)

    bach says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    Fantastic entry! Really don't have anything to criticise. Really well done for 48hrs.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Great art! love the music! but a little too hard for me ^^

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    fun, challenging and really good gfx !

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    Very very cool entry! Spent a lot of time on it :) And the music is pretty cool too!
    I'm really impressed!

    awppy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    I actually found this to be a bit frustrating. Having to click at the top to change weapons is very inconvenient; being able to quickly switch traps via numbers on the keyboard would allow for better micromanaging. Placing a trap too close to another trap/the princess results in the trap being destroyed, and I did that by accident fairly often.

    The agile characters are a bit much to deal with. Running by spike traps and crossbows is fine, but bypassing walls renders the wall pretty much pointless

    A few minor tweaks and wider levels could really improve the game

    bompo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:07pm

    Great sprites and awesome music!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Great art and music! A bit on the challenging side but there's nothing wrong with that :D Fantastic entry and with more features and levels, this could do well on touch devices!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Awesome, as expected. You rock :)

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Quite fun. Timing the bombs was a pain though.

    cjgammon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    awesome! really solid game for 48 hrs.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Really great game, played for longer than I should have.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Very solid. Feels like a finished project with tons of polish. The scope of the game is just right. You didn't overextend yourself, but it still feels like there is a lot of game there. A wider variety of level designs would've made it perfect.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:33am

    You've done a great job indeed! I really like this game!

    berareu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:36am

    That was pretty much great! Good job :)

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:02am

    That title screen is awesome.

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:13am

    nice graphics, good gameplay but it relies a bit too much on precise timing.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Great in every aspect! The only issue I found is with the try again and next wave screens. There's something odd about the way they respond, not sure exactly what.

    Still might be the best I've played up to now :)

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Very nice game! I like the idea :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:32am

    Nice game. I liked the graphics, music and the gameplay. Had a little bit of trouble placing items, but overall a good game.

    lukew23 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:58am

    It was an original and well made game, and the only thing that killed the fun for me was the balancing of the traps and enemies, which is easily fixed. One tactic I found helpful against the agile enemies was to place a spiketrap and drop a bomb over it when the guy ran on top of it. This was a lot easier than timing the bomb. Extremely well made, good job.

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:33am

    I enjoyed it quite a bit. Very nice.

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:23am

    Really fun, polished game. Provided a nice challenge without being overbearing. The only issue I noticed is that the bombs are so cheap and powerful they basically become the easiest solution to every level. Still, great work!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:44am

    Good entry and fun to play. Well done on a polished game.

    LeReveur says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Absolutely awesome !
    Great job !
    I loved this one ! :D

    atraxgames says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:45am

    Great concept and well realized!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:47am

    Very nice,
    lack of a little tutorial in the beginning but the game is well polished.

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:03am

    The evil princess is an awesome character. I kept going "mwahahaha" between levels.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    nice nice nice game.

    Zed says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    Devilishly clever. I trust you'll be fleshing this out into something bigger?

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Great graphics and music :D I think the side scrolling tower defence type idea works really well, was kind of what I was going for but I didn't quite get there!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    Impressively well done!

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:43am

    Pretty nice graphics and decent music. It gets a bit frustrating at times (especially with the fast green dudes), but overall a solid nice game. Good job!

    twotimingpete says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:01am

    outstanding!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    A tiny little bit hard, but really nice game !

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Nice game, very good polish!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    Damn this game is hard and frustrating x)
    The gameplay is polished even if a bit repetitive, the aesthetic is great and feedbacks are great,I have nothing to say except i wanna use moar bombs D:

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Very good one, but quite frustrating : I wish the bomb timing was not that hard to get right !

    beeglebug says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:48pm

    I think the walls shouldn't slide down slopes (one of them pushed me off the screen!)

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    Took me a while to get to this one, glad I waited. Nice to play a complete well constructed game after a few imperfects or incompletes.
    Looking forward to your post-compo version.

    solkar says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    I really liked it. Very well done. It's a pity because I can't vote in this entry.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    Very challenging game. Nice art, too! :) Maybe bombs need to explode more quickly.

    wally2069 says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:50am

    Second wave was just too obnoxious for my tastes.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:47am

    Nice game !! Really appreciate the differents gameplays, and graphics are cute. Well done !

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Nice entry, really!

    LTyrosine says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    Nice game, a bit hard but very fun. Amazing music.

    saguaro says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:13pm

    I love your princess! Great concept for the theme. The bombs were a little tricky.

    dark_hunter says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:00am

    Very nice idea! I like the graphics. Quite addictive and challenging!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:13pm

    I had great fun playing through this game, great level design at play here, nicely judged with the addition of new weaponry through the players progress! Also, the graphics and audio are ace!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    Hard to say something that hasn't been stated already. The graphics and music are incredible. While the concept itself isn't unique to this Ludum Dare it definitely plays the best out of the couple dozen others I've played. I've followed the development of your post-compo version and any complaints I really had were fixed at this point. A very, very solid entry!

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

    Would have liked more responsiveness - but brilliant work! Great fun, great graphics and great style... I WON :)

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    My only real nitpick is when placing the traps some of them are hard to place or don't react quite like you'd think, it would be nice for more feedback during the trap placement.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:59pm

    Pretty damn awesome game, and the post-compo is even more awesome. The post-compo pretty much resolved the quirkiness I found. Great work! I see you used cgMusic ;)

    Jacic says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:15am

    I finally got around to playing this. :p

    Nice work! The original version gets quite hard!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:44am

    Wow, really impressive effort, loved the game. Got really sucked in, even though this is not a type of game I generally play.

    I was surprised that I got stuck in level 2, and had to do a little work to get the timing of the bombs right. But you have a very good eye for level design, and from your tweets I can tell the post-compo is even better. Can't wait to try it!

    Great job!

    PaulSB says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:17pm

    Really solid, polished entry for sure; your pixel art is great as ever. The gameplay was solid but the difficulty in timing the bombs and such was pretty frustrating!

    dragonfi says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:39pm

    And you made all this in 48h? The game is sufficiently long, fun and polished.

    dragonfi says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    Hehe, okay, almost rated the wrong version, but the LD entry is very good itself.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Awesome little game with a rad art style and nice progression. It's not too easy and not too hard. Music is rad and the game controls perfectly. Very nice work... and not just for 48 hours. You should be happy!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]