Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 16 hours, 17 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The life of a Boss - Jiddo - Jam Entry

    If one of the links doesn't load, please try another!

    You are a Boss. You have kidnapped a princess. Now the king has sent out all the heroes of the land to save her. You must not let this happen!

    Taking refuge in your very own evil dungeon, build a maze of lethal chambers with deadly traps and nasty minions to stop the heroes from getting to you.

    Each hero that dies in your dungeon will drop shiny gold for you. Keep in mind that different heroes have strengths and weaknesses against different types of hazards. Vary your chambers accordingly!

    Team:
    * Cem Eliyurekli - code
    * John David Olovsson - code
    * Simeon Atanasov - art and sound

    Tech:
    * Developed using Java and Slick2D.

    Update history:
    1. Initial upload

    View Jiddo's journal. | View all entries by Jiddo

    Ratings

    Theme(Jam)4.39
    Fun(Jam)4.02
    Coolness66%
    #4Overall(Jam)4.06
    #27Mood(Jam)3.63
    #49Innovation(Jam)3.49
    #81Graphics(Jam)3.76
    #94Humor(Jam)3.05
    #134Audio(Jam)3.02

    Comments

    mutuwarejam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    I perished. :(

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    This is awesome. Perished on the last round.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    Loved it! Will be playing it frequently I think. great audio and sprites

    sharbelfs says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Great game, Perished on 18 :(

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    I really loved this one! A really clever and fun idea, and very well implemented! The artwork and overall feel of it were amazing; great work!

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Awesome game! Took me a little while to work out what I was supposed to be doing at first, but once I did it was loads of fun! A nice, polished entry :)

    rubna says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Woohoo! I wert victorious! Great game! Seriously, this is awesome!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    It's good!

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    Well designed game with strong strategy/defense components. I loved reading the little descriptions of the heroes! The gameplay got a little slow at times, but I found myself playing it over and over to try to survive all the waves.

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    Very hard until you understand you can click on a heroes to view his weakpoint. Building varied rooms is the key; then the difficulty is just right.
    I liked the idea, anyway.

    Sim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    This game is great. The balance is quite good, but sticking with lv1 spike and saw rooms seems to be a good (although dull) strategy. Nothing else to complain about other than a lack of background music.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Great game! gets kinda hard to manage all the roms at one point, but it's a neat idea with a great execution. I wish there was a way to heal myself, though =/ could be very expensive,but worth it. Great game,lots of stars

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    nice game,art and animation are good.
    I don't understand why you put grey bg under your character toughh. I'd appreciated if an option to accelerate the game was implemented.
    Nevertheless, it's a very good game.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Get a "Could not install native libraries" error on mac. :-(

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Hmm, that's too bad. Which version did you run?

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:14am

    does not run for me, white screen after download on web, the downloaded version says failure to install native libraries

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    One of the best games I've seen so far. It's really fun to play. I have the habit to try to place as many rooms as possible, but ran out of waves to do so. Some more would have been great, but thats no point of criticism. The limited number of waves sure has its effect on the fun.

    Madball says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:34pm

    Managed to win on the first try, randomly placing and upgrading rooms.
    Great game! Fun gameplay, nice strategy element, amazing graphics and sounds, very polished.

    galman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    YAY I won :D Amazing game! Really perfect. I sent it to some friends and played with them togheter and we really enjoyed it

    Clodial says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    I couldn't help but chuckle a bit when I heard the trumpet when a unit came in XD.

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    Very polished, fun and on theme. Applause.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:10pm

    Really lovely! The graphics room graphics are my favorite part, but the polish on the player graphics and font style and so forth is really appreciated. I wish I could have seen my minions dancing around. The gameplay is a bit straightforward tower-defensey; I didn't feel like I had that much influence on the outcome. Still, one of the most complete and best conceived entries of this compo.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    Truly accomplished, wonderful polish. Nailed the graphics (love those pixels!), fab sounds effects. The drive to upgrade the rooms to see all the animations was brilliant! I would love to see room-context-sensitive deaths (version 2.0?) The tower defence twist was really nice, though the fonts were a bit small so I couldn't really tell how lethal the rooms were during play, also it was fiddly to have to click on the enemies (friendlies?) to see how much health they had and to read their names - since you have the gray box you could include a health bar perhaps? Overall really enjoyed it, and beat it ;)

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    I liked this; effective sounds, great character descriptions, nice gameplay. good stuff.

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:59am

    Great entry! I think the only improvement I can come up with for this is more explanation of what the power levels mean and what mobs do precisely. I managed to win by making a circular, spiral shaped path to the center, which I think is probably the best way to lay the most traps in front of the heroes so that they never make it to you.

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Really well made game, would have been fun if the positioning had impact and that you could make several routes.. and maybe different effects like slow, teleport, etc on the rooms.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:06am

    Good entry dude!

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    Awesome! Makes you want to finish and learn every option of dungeon combination till the victory.

    df458 says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    This is my favorite game so far! I wish you could make branching paths that heroes could occasionally get lost in. I enjoyed the various hero descriptions.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    All around, an excellent game! I especially liked the room sprites, the sound effects when spawning new rooms, and the humourous details on the knights.

    Mago says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Fun and good game. I like graphics style and sound, I did not mind lack of background music.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    I liked the heroes' descriptions. ;) Great game overall.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:54am

    very nice and fun, wished it lasted longer than 20 rounds when I found a good strategy

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    Wow top rank game ! I would have loved that room position imply more strategy than just making a line for a more maze-esque result. Maybe with dumb and strong heroes using the worst path exploring all dead ends, and smart but weaker heroes that goes straight to the dragon. I hope you guys will make a v2.0 of this !

    Cryovat says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:04pm

    I'm usually not a fan of Tower Defense style games, but I liked this one. It captures the spirit of the theme perfectly. :)

    It took me a while to realize how you built minions (kept wondering why it took so long for heroes to die), but after that "aha!" moment it was easy to get into. Great work! :)

    Also, great graphics!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]