Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 13 hours, 52 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 14 hours, 40 minutes, 24 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Revenge of the Simian - Datw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You will need java 7 to play this. If you do not have it, there is a link on the html page of the game. Go get it. Now.

    Please let me know if it ran (browsers and OS's), how it ran(lagged, jerky, good, perfect (should not happen)) and if the background music theme worked or not.

    1goat

    That's it for now, I may (or may not) add more to this entry post.

    It is an applet so, if input is not working, just click on the screen. If this don't work let me know too.

    Big thanks to: tumoxep. If it wasn't for him, my game would lack music (the music is crappy and it might not run on your computer, but that ain't nothin', he pointed me to the right spot and I really appreciated it). If you (tumoxep) read this, please drop a comment :).

    View Datw's journal. | View all entries by Datw

    Ratings

    Coolness61%
    #174Theme3.64
    #240Fun3.09
    #282Humor2.76
    #353Overall3.00
    #425Audio2.21
    #456Graphics2.73
    #511Mood2.52
    #573Innovation2.42

    Comments

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18am

    It seemed to work overall, but no background music. Okay game. Pretty short.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

    Nice! :D Quick to win, but fun.

    L says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

    I'd like to see a version of this with actual level design - careful placement of ladders, different jumpmen who take ladders in a specific order... And maybe barrels that don't just fall down like shmup bullets.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

    Good game! Quick and funny! The problem is that as it seemed fully randomized, sometimes it is too easy :). It worked smoothly on a Windows 7 and Chrome, no background music though :/

    Felix20 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31am

    Worked perfectly on Windows XP with Firefox 17
    music worked fine.

    The game was very short, but still slightly challenging, more marios coming in during the level would have been nice

    svenardo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    Funny, but maybe a bit too many ladders and Marios! Donkey doesn't stand a chance :D More careful level design and this would be a hoot to play!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    Nice reversed arcade concept, no background music though - and it went all weird when barrels hit the people (crashed or froze sometimes)

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    yay i win :)

    5 start :)

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Work well. It's funny but too short. Need more level! :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Probably a good thing you didn't go with outside BGM, that could have been a potential DQ.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Everything ran perfect for me except background music (Windows 7-64bit, Chrome).
    Nice reversal of classic game, fun to play

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Cute little game, love the concept!

    No background music in Firefox, Windows 7 64-Bit.
    Everything else worked fine.

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Nice game, sound effects can be a little annoying but it's better then no sound right? The hardest levels are the ones where the princess is on top of ladder. Otherwise you kind of have some spare time left before they save her. I enjoyed playing it.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:26am

    Wouldn't play in Chrome but it played fine in Firefox. Rather easy, but fun for the nostalgia factor. Nice work.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    I feel "Attack of the Plumbers" would've been better :D

    Ed Okonik says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:19pm

    Background music didn't work for me, but otherwise the game worked fine. Quite fun too.

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:22am

    Nice, but quite short game. Fun to play, but more levels or challenges would be nice. Also here I did not hear background music, but the game itself worked well on my old (>10 years) Windows machine with Firefox. One of our first ideas for our game was exactly this concept. ^^ Nice execution of the idea, but I think it could have something more.

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:16am

    Quick and fun, could have used with some music, but was a very fun spin on the theme~

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:24am

    This was a cute little game. As others have said, some music and some more variety and design would really take this to the next level, but this is a great start.

    By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. I'd love to see this game there!

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    RE: my entry loading slowly, out of 100+ ratings so far you're the first to bring it up so you may wish to try again if/when you have time.

    I've got the same system you do & it's fine. Could have been a DropBox issue or perhaps you need a reboot. /shrug

    crashbanito says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:57am

    Very quick to beat. Music sound alright but its way to soft in relation to the sound effects.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]