Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 3 hours, 44 minutes, 8 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    EvilCakes - FrederickK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You hungry! But not for ordinary food! You hungry for cakes!!!!
    Grab the cristals to make a great (evil) cake!

    Because I made with Blender 2.65 (you can get it HERE http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/ ), you may need it installed to play it.
    Made entirely with logic bricks

    Commands:
    Arrow - Move
    M, Space, Ctrl - Top View

    Objective:
    Bring each cristal to the caking-making-laser
    You can only hold one cristal each time.

    Bugs:
    I'm aware that it have some big problems, but it is playable. I apologize.

    EDIT:
    For Linux users: Unfortunately I think you will have to download Blender to play it. Then, just open the .blend file with Blender and press P with the cursor on the screen and it should work. I tested with Ubuntu and worked fine.

    View FrederickK's journal. | View all entries by FrederickK

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #120Graphics3.67
    #330Humor2.63
    #490Overall2.76
    #494Fun2.56
    #561Innovation2.44
    #572Mood2.38
    #606Theme2.58

    Comments

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    I like the main character, the whole thing is like characters from a toybox!

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25am

    First time I play a Blender game. The graphics are amazing, but I couldn't catch any crystal

    heloheu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

    The characters are so cute! I think the game is a bit hard, maybe if I could control the direction of the main character with my mouse like an FPS, it could be easier to escape from the soldiers

    heloheu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09am

    Also, it ran without Blender installed here!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09am

    First time i've played a blender game too. Some times you can't get the crystals.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    cool game and cool walking way!

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    I like the character and his walk style, pretty cool!

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

    Nice job! Really love the graphics (good graphics are typical of an art centric engine like blender)

    otus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    Cool game! But as some already said, sometimes you can't get the crystals.
    Cool walking way! x2 hehehe

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    I liked the graphical theme a lot. It seems like with a lot more time, the movement could be made into a really fun physics-based mechanic.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    Nice game, its always nice to see someone else using the bge:)

    delpes says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:05am

    Sweet game but a bit hard. An when you are in the top view (space9 you can't move forward and press left. Forward and right works though. 2 crystals was my max :/

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Wow! I thought that nobody would play it because it was made with Blender, thank you guys so much!
    I'm glad to hear that you don't need to have Blender installed, but if you do, I think it is more guaranteed that will work.
    I am aware of the collision problems, but sadly, there is nothing I can do. :(
    What works for me is insist in the collision, it works after a while.

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:40pm

    Good job. It works pretty well without having installed blender =)

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Nice stuff. Keep it up!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Interesting game, the visual style makes me think of boardgames. For some reason I could only play by opening the .blend file in Blender. Windows insisted the .exe file was not a valid executable (go figure.)

    I read your postmortem about using BGE and it was very informative too.

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:45pm

    Sorry I can't rate, I don't have windows.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Cute graphics. I think the game is a bit too hard and it needs some sound effects or music.

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    @jmaasing Actually, there is a way to make it work. I use dual boot with windows and ubuntu and tested. I edited the post with the instruction to play it with it.

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:14am

    Yeah, running from inside blender worked on Linux. Thanks for the instructions.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    It works here too without blender. The game is ok but I triggered the end sequence by bringing back just one crystal. I like the smooth move on view scroll, I think It could have been higher.

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:50am

    "If you is reading this, you started the game or died". Genius.

    Cyboot says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:45pm

    Nice and funny game. Love the graphics and the walking animation.
    I am not sure if I did it right but after I got the first cristal and took it "home" I won.

    Nice job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]