Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 12 days, 17 hours, 54 minutes, 30 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Villain Complex - MaximSchoemaker - Jam Entry

    The Villain Complex is a game about a guy who gets called in the middle of the night to hear that someone kidnapped his wife. He then proceeds to try and rescue her. In the mean time he keeps finding telephones that spark conversations between the man and the kidnapper.

    The rest of the story involves a mirror and guns... Lots of guns!

    The Villain Complex is a side scrolling platformer shooter, with a gun creation tool embedded.

    The reason this turned into a jam game is because the whole system was simply too much to be implemented in 48 hours!

    Have fun! ^^

    Edit: For the Windows and OS/X builds: To see the game's font you have to install the visitor1.ttf font file.

    View MaximSchoemaker's journal. | View all entries by MaximSchoemaker

    Ratings

    #9Fun(Jam)3.95
    #29Innovation(Jam)3.68
    #49Overall(Jam)3.63
    #58Humor(Jam)3.25
    #62Mood(Jam)3.39
    #163Audio(Jam)2.78
    #167Theme(Jam)3.28
    #216Graphics(Jam)2.89
    #948Coolness32%

    Comments

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59am

    I really dig this game; I love the mood given off and how the gun-making is embedded into the gameplay: it's really smart to balance it by giving the same guns to all the enemies

    rubna says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    This is really great! I love the mechanic! It's really quite hard, though D:

    Volute says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    I like it ! A little hard (I had trouble not being hit by the enemies) It's very dynamic and I like the phone sequences<

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Ha ha, I lol when I died.
    Nice phone gimmick!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56am

    Hhm the weapon design system was genius. I loved thinking about how to design weapons that help me but not the enemies. Maybe weapons with a large arc of fire are a bit broken, because the enemies don't know how to use them well.

    I really liked the game and the idea. The story didn't do much for me (other than duragon and dragon), but it was fun to play :-)

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:14am

    Good job, the platforming mechanics were pretty solid.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    Nice blood spatter and the phone bits were refreshing. Well done.

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47pm

    brilliant :)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:57am

    This is seriously accomplished for 3 days. The mechanics are very solid, and it's just so satisfying and fun to play.

    The game feels like a real world on its own, one of the most difficult things to achieve for a developer. Every action has an immediate effect, visceral and quite sensory. It all happens so naturally it's a bit like the laws of physics.

    The whole game is a delight for fingers, eyes and ears. I looked forward to answering the phone because I liked the visual and auditory effects so much. Besides, the writing is really funny and charming.

    Are we to see a post-compo again? :D Looking forward to that tremendously.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:56am

    Great Great Great! I love it!

    yokcos700 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Here is something you may want to consider: After the first level, one can set the clip size of every gun to 0, then run through the level without opposition (other than aggressive gun-pointing) I used this to beat the game in mere minutes.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    I crashed it with a doomsday configuration on the SMG.
    Awesome mechanic, it adds to difficulty aswell as itemization.
    Good job

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:17am

    I love how the game starts off. Really good aesthetics! I like the fact that you pick the weapons up from the fallen enemies.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]