Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 17 days, 10 hours, 56 minutes, 12 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Boss Level - Kuothe - Jam Entry

    You are the Boss Monster of the level, and a army of heroes is coming for you!

    Create the perfect level layout! Crush the heroes! Rule the kingdom!

    Instructions: Just buy "Items" by clicking on them and place them on the valid areas in green, then press "Start"! Kill heroes to earn more gold and keep building your level.

    View Kuothe's journal. | View all entries by Kuothe

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #19Fun(Jam)3.69
    #65Overall(Jam)3.48
    #80Theme(Jam)3.70
    #128Innovation(Jam)3.06
    #146Mood(Jam)2.89
    #160Graphics(Jam)3.24
    #177Audio(Jam)2.69
    #186Humor(Jam)2.45

    Comments

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

    link?

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

    Hmm, i think the links are missing?

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25am

    Add http:// to the link!

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

    For those looking for a link, they're obviously in this journal entry only: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/17/android-apk-is-up/

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Sorry! The links are up again!
    First entry on a Ludum Dare, sorry again :)

    Xgor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

    Pretty fun game, I kinda wish it had more depth but it's really fun idea and it works well

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    I'm still adding features!

    saulotti says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    One of the best games I played so far!

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28pm

    I like idea, but a little tutorial would be nice. However it's a good game. Art by Onyx ?

    LogiQ121 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Although it took me about 2 minutes to figure out an un-losable situation, it's awesome just watching those soldiers run to their deaths! Muahahaha!

    feiss says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Great one! congratulations, very funny and very well done :) on the top!

    One question: how good is Unity for 2d games? do you use any special library? I'm tempted to try, but as it is very 3d oriented, I'm not quite sure..

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    @Gornova Yes, they are Onyx sprites. I intend to use them mainly as placeholders until I finish the gameplay.

    @LogiQ121 I'm still adding features to balance the game :) Now it's too easy.

    @feiss Unity3D can work great for 2D, you just need to use an Orthographic camera and just don't use the Z axis for physics. I didn't use any plugin.

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Very fun! Although adding a bunch of pits just makes it easy.

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    The idea is not new but well done and the art fits very well. It get a little bit too fast and i see no chance of winning the game. A counter to break a given time would be good!

    Saspiron says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    Good, but really easy as all you need todo is make heaps of holes in the ground

    Yogr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    Awesome! I feel like I built the perfect defense.. 1500 coins and counting, 3 hearts on dragon still!

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Just dig lots of holes and done: almost invincible. Besides that, the game is really cool

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

    I really enjoyed playing this. HOLES ARE OP! :P

    SunShiranui says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:47am

    Nice! It would be even nicer if it had an end, though :P

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Nice game!

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    Lovely retro feel to it! :)

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Fun game and great music.

    Flai says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Pretty fun, but as I mentioned in one of your posts ( that you later deleted? ), you shouldn't update the game after submission and if you do, at least keep a link to the original version of the game

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    @Flai sorry, it was my first Ludum Dare and I got too pumped up by my game. Also, I started developing it on Saturday night (so technically I've spent less than 72h making it..) but anyway you are right. I won't touch it anymore.

    Flai says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    @Kuothe No problem and congrats for your first LD :) ! But I hope that you understand that it's somewhat unfair for others if someone can continue developing their game after deadline, even if they started a bit later than others.

    EpaceGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Nice! I killed 406 heroes!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    Nice job!
    Very exciting and fun!

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    Man, you should reupload the original version. People are going to rate your game for the updates you did AFTER the deadline, and that's no fair :(

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:26am

    Hi there! The version published in this page is the oldest version I've got in my PC.

    The more actual version (and the newer to come) will be stored here: http://apps.ninja-coders.com/BossLevel/PostLudum/BossLevel.html

    Also, I just bought some iOS/Android licenses for Unity to publish it on the App Store / Google Play in the following month (with new homemade assets and new content).

    Thanks!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    This is lovely! (once you figure out what to do :P)

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:07am

    Simple but fun; not very original but the gameplay is still addictive!

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    nice

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Hey man ! Do you steal some graphics ? Your soldier absolutely looks like the warrior of the game "Realm of the mad god" ! Take a look here (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-3unuUE3oBTA/TomgyVIDrdI/AAAAAAAAGJk/GNY1tMh61x0/s640/level%2B20%2Bwarrior.jpg). It's not fair :(

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    @lotusgame yes, it's the same sprite set. They are called Onyx sprites, and they are Creative Commons for non-commercial use. You can find them here: http://oryxdesignlab.com/sprites/

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Ok I didn't know ^^ As i am fond of Realm of the mad gods, i panicked :p From my point of you, the challenge of Ludum Dare is to really create everything from scratch. But i won't bother you, you are in your rights ;)

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    @lotusgame the focus of ludum dare is to motivate people to create something. It worked for me :) I wanted to focus on gameplay, so I got placeholder art. The next month I'll release a new version with my own assets. Thanks for the interest :)

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:07pm

    Really fun - the block and pit placement really make for some interesting decisions. I'd love for the flow of heroes to stop at the end - with an empty pit, my score keeps going up even though I've lost.

    wally2069 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:09am

    Edited the game after the voting started and using premade art assets, this kind of unfair conduct earns a downvote.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:58am

    this is really great!

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:26am

    It's fun to watch the heroes fall like lemmings.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Really fun to play! It would be nicer if it had an end.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]