Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 11 minutes, 17 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 11 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Invasion of the Replicators - JesterBLUE - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play a replicator, a metallic space thing that attacks space stations and, surprisingly, replicates itself.
    I wanted to make this game about timing and balance - you have to decide if you want to attack or expand your force. If you expand too much you present a larger target and you get in your own way. If you don't expand, you are limited in the amount of damage you can deal out.
    I like the way that you end up playing a swarm of expendable identical entities against a single powerful one, a classic villains / hero scenario.
    Sounds by SXFR. (Happy 5th birthday SFXR!)

    View JesterBLUE's journal. | View all entries by JesterBLUE

    Ratings

    #21Innovation4.00
    #137Overall3.43
    #196Fun3.20
    #258Graphics3.20
    #293Mood2.92
    #400Audio2.31
    #630Theme2.50
    #980Coolness30%

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:36am

    I like the duplication mechanic. Brings me back to Galaga (I think) where you could get the extra ship alongside you...

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    I can't get the EXE working on Windows8 it complains about the javaw in the wrong location, tried to start it with command line parameters towards the javaw but that didn't matter much. The LD25.jar doesn't work sadly.

    hypp says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Quite fun to play!

    JesterBLUE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    Sorry about that, strong99. This is the first time I tried to publish a processing game that uses opengl. I haven't figured out all the tricks yet. You may be able to download processing 1.5 from www.processing.org and run it from source.

    SelectricSimian - yup, it was Galaga. There was one of those arcade games in the mall that I played all the way up to 1998.

    FacticiusVir says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    I'm getting the same "javaw" error on Windows 8...

    zompi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Hey, it was fun! I was duplicating like crazy and making massive attack... But then I realized I can shoot myself! Awesome! Really innovative and very addictive, Only if there were more levels and cloning skill had some restrictions.

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    Loved the concept, never come across an idea like this. The dilemma between reproducing and shooting was very real although I suppose a more complex game is required to explore this further. There was no real cost to replicating too much or too little other than it taking longer to defeat the station.

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:50am

    This game exhibits a super cheap mechanic: infinite lives with no death penalty! It's fun to hold down 'R'...

    JesterBLUE says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    Aslai - The death penalty is that the station regains health.
    I also like to hold down R but then I press K for extra jollies.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:12am

    Very nice gameplay.

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:27am

    Excellent. Very cool idea and nice gameplay balancing which choices to make.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    nice idea!

    GameRespect says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

    Nice aesthetic, and i enjoyed the gameplay. I like how you can replicate to use the new ship as a shield for the other ship as a last resort. I also like how you can shoot down your own ships, forcing the player to use a little more thought when firing. Good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]