Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Happy Vil Friends - Dew - Jam Entry

    We present you "Happy Vil Friends"!!!

    This is a game about friendship! About spreading true love!

    Play it responsably.

    Background:

    You're Vil, the cutest Villain of the world, your mission is to give love to people, and punish the bad people. Who is bad and good? Your choice!

    Objective:

    Score as many points as possible within 5 minutes, online highscores rank to check your skills!

    Or just play endless mode!

    Team:

    Andreu "Dew" Figueras - Main Programmer
    Adrian "Over9000" Galindo - Middle Man
    Guillem "L3V14T4N" Marti­nez - Electronic music producer
    Laura "Tsuki" Garrosset - Main Designer

    Songs:
    [menu] http://happyvilfriends.oqstats.net/img/menu.mp3
    [ingame] http://happyvilfriends.oqstats.net/img/game.mp3

    Tips:
    The game may became heavy, check options if the game run slow. (There are 3 profiles or you can make your own profile)
    Only Firefox and Chrome (IE should be punished with the fish!)
    If the loading screen it's not full, try reloading.
    Achievements are only saved ingame! (play a new game for saving your current achievements, might be fixed soon)

    View Dew's journal. | View all entries by Dew

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #82Humor(Jam)3.13
    #99Graphics(Jam)3.63
    #101Audio(Jam)3.20
    #111Theme(Jam)3.53
    #214Mood(Jam)2.63
    #216Overall(Jam)2.80
    #261Fun(Jam)2.32
    #296Innovation(Jam)2.07

    Comments

    TDRGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

    Web version isn't resolving =/ either that or no loading bar

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

    Game is not loading for me at all, even in multiple tries. May want to look at that

    Dew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:39am

    Only Chrome and Firefox!

    Sometimes the loading bar get bugged refresh until its propertly loaded.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

    Web worked fine for me, but the animations seemed a little slow/choppy. Not sure if it was my connection or something else.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48am

    The presentation is very nice and pretty polished, but the gameplay is lacking. It would have been nice to have more options than just the one melee attack.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

    Cool music and nice screams. The game is a bit slow. Suggest speeding up the game and cutting the time.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30am

    It ran fine for me. Fun game, just a little slow at 999 blood(which is to be expected, haha).

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32am

    That was fun :D i really liked the music! I think it started lagging after a while tho

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

    Whoa, cool death animations, and the music is fantasticccccc. Gonna put that song up for download anywhere?

    Dew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58am

    You have the songs in the description

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    Graphic style is really interesting

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Runs fine on Firefox for me :) Kill all the pandas!

    Boiúna says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    The art is very good. But, what I have to do besides kill everyone?

    Dew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Unlock all achievements :P

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    Nice graphics, but not very challenging ! Try adding a way to get hurt maybe ?

    Yogr says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    Nice graphics and audio. I appreciate the inter-working legs and arms. You can tell they are not the same animation, which takes some extra effort to pull off.

    The blood particles were cool, but honestly you should have amplified them a bit, it would have been gore-tastic.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Brutal, loved the main char, very creepy.

    Dew says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    @Yogr check options you can change the blood setup

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    nice sound effects :)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    It's hilarious, you that need just a little of thinking about mechanics and it's will be very cool, GG

    Dew says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    @ahmed.majd problems of doing all handmade... blood took me 10 hours and moving main character 12 hours ^^U hope I can make a library for next edition

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    brutal & heavy, nice job D:

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    guts, blood and rainbow ! huhu !

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:02am

    Why can't he make any friends? poor guy
    anwy good game!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:14am

    Web version very slow :( Pretty entertaining as a game. Nice work on the online scores

    Dew says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:43am

    @BrothersT go to options and lower blood and use ugly blood pool will make game much faster! Calculating convex hull and smoth polygons its heavy

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Graphics and audio are very well made. If you continue to work on this game, I would try to make the game deeper. The attacking is a bit slow, too.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:47am

    Funny and plays well. Like the art style, but animations seem a bit slow. Would have liked a few more ways to do damage or some sort of comboing system. But for a Jam game, you guys got in a lot!

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Great graphics and sound, and I'm impressed it's in HTML5. Unfortunately it doesn't run great on my crappy pc, the controls are a bit unresponsive. But I love the achievements!

    aare says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    The graphics are cute, and the game is funny but the gameplay should be a little bit more diverse

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    The aesthetics and music is great. Those are some freaky screams.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Love the concept. Bad guy in .... heaven, I guess? The afterlife? Bashing with a lollipop? There's a comic book or novel in there somewhere. =) and LOVE THE DRUM AND BASS. How long has it been since that's been a soundtrack?
    Would have appreciated some sort of goal, but eh. It was fun.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    I found the atmosphere very polished.

    amassingham says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:16am

    Love the graphics and presentation.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:59am

    Definitely needs more attack options and a faster pace. It's cute, and the weapon choices are nice (particularly the little magic wand). Really slick title screen music, as well.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:33am

    Graphics are interesting but unequal, and some characters are a little blurred. Music is good but gameplay is too much repetitive. Anyway, it's incredible to have implemented an achievement system !! Good work !

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:17pm

    haha... nice tunes.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]