Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 48 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 48 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    TerraForma - recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Note: I just put up a post-compo Linux version. I have not tested it so please let me know if it does not work.

    This is a "destroy the planets" puzzle game where you use terraforming technology of your civilization to destroy the worlds which have inferior lifeforms on them. The fun is trying to do it in as few moves as possible.

    Controls:
    Mouse: to select a block of land
    Left button: Terraform land down
    <Left Ctrl>: Orbit Land mass
    MouseWheel: Zoom in/out

    Eliminate all land blocks by turning them all into Deep Lava and watching them fall off the plane.

    Notes:
    1) There are a few rules when terra-forming that you must abide by and for the most part when you try to do something wrong, the game will tell you.
    2) Some land types affect others when they are terraformed. Discovering these interaction rules is part of the game and can lead to a lower move score.
    3) There is a restart button. If you are stuck, don't be afraid to use it
    4) There are several boards, I have only played the first 3 so the others are as of yet untested...

    Block Types in order from highest to lowest:

    City <- Cannot destroy these directly. They must be surrounded by lava.
    Forest
    Grass
    Dirt
    Water <- <hint> water and lava interact with each other
    Rock
    Lava
    Deep Lava <- get all blocks to become this to advance to next level

    **Post-compo version has online scoring and orbit control is now done by holding the left mouse button.

    View recursor's journal. | View all entries by recursor

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #28Innovation3.98
    #115Overall3.50
    #121Audio3.20
    #212Graphics3.36
    #260Mood2.97
    #316Fun2.93
    #412Theme3.12
    #545Humor2.00

    Comments

    Graf_Grun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

    Is Level Four broken? http://puu.sh/1BSvW

    Otherwise, I liked the concept and the implementation of it. Perhaps, though, a bit more consistency in you art style...
    You have:
    -jumping pixels
    -an image (the background)
    -spherical treetops
    -blocky cities and tiles
    I would have been fine with just blocks, I might have looked a bit more cohesive too.

    But very nice...

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54am

    Lovely idea for a puzzler! The blocky aesthetic is great, and the game feels quite polished. Nice work!

    Remember to upload the source-files so it can actually compete :)

    recursor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    @Matthias Thanks for catching that. I had put the link for the source in when i submitted but somehow the http:// portion got cut off so the link never showed up. That has now been corrected.

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Very creative and original.

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Pretty nice game. Concept is cool and i really loved your square based graphic concept.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    @Graf_Grun: Thanks for the critique, and as for level 4, yes it was broken but no longer. I just fixed a typo bug in the code so now it can be beaten. Literally changed a '+' to a '-' which is ok according to: https://twitter.com/ludumdare/statuses/148673391648456704

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40am

    Nice cities (oh yeah, and gameplay too !)

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

    The premise takes a bit to get used to, but once you get get the hang of things the game can be quite enjoyable.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

    Nice! I like the idea of terraforming planets to their destruction. :D

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Really nice work! Fun puzzle mechanic and well polished overall, really fun when games like this have online highscores too.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Nice concept, well executed. Could do with a few more rules of interaction, as after the first couple of levels the same tactics work for everything, which becomes dull. I'd like to see this developed further!

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:34am

    That's wow execution! Completed first level and I know what to be done.
    Nice mechanics to destroy particular in couple of ways. Who love puzzle game with good graphics, this is it. Good job!

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    Hah, "Destroying planets makes you feel all warm inside".. Very creative :)

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Really like this one. Its very satisfying clicking the blocks and destroying each landmass. As a bonus, I think your game does a good job of explaining concepts and its possible to figure everything out. Definitely keep working on this one :)

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Unique concept and nicely done! The lerning curve could be a bit more challenging.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    I agree with Winterblood about having a few more rules for interaction. Very nice look to the game.

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    nice work dude

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:12am

    Best out of the 80 I've played so far, if only for potential. Trying to see how the more complex puzzles would be done is a joy. This is really something special, hope you work on it more.

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Really nice!

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    I like the concept, but it seems too simple (get everything down to concrete and then make lava). I would like to see some more interactions (and destruction) between tiles--like water flooding or lava flowing.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    Very original ! The first puzzle game i see in this Ludum Dare. With the theme it wasn't easy to make such a game. Congrats :)

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Nice puzzle game. Not much on the theme. Interesting dynamics. i think i only lost on one puzzle as i didn't do the very end lava blocks write. good job

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Nice graphics, original gameplay! If there are many different interactions of terrain, it's definately hard to find :P

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]