Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 23 hours, 8 minutes, 8 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kong Fu Bike - SamoojaMies - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Post combo version (some bug fixes): http://dl.dropbox.com/u/60485425/LudumDare/LD25PCUnity/WebPlayer/WebPlayer.html

    Kong is mad for no good reason. Total six levels of kong fu!
    Mixture of Trials, Excite Bike, Donkey Kong and kung fu.

    Make your way to the left side. You can push wooden ramps. Those red poles are checkpoints.

    B = pickup/throw barrels
    Arrows/WASD = move
    Space = jump

    _________________________________________________
    Technical info:

    Engine: Unity 3.5.6 (Used Unity 4.0.0 for the linux build)
    Graphics: Blender and GIMP
    Sound effects: http://www.bfxr.net/
    Music: with a python script by Ben "GreaseMonkey" Russell http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/13/if-you-find-it-hard-to-make-music-read-this/ mirror: https://raw.github.com/iamgreaser/it2everything/master/atrk-bu.py
    Font: http://www.dafont.com/visitor.font

    View SamoojaMies's journal. | View all entries by SamoojaMies

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #45Humor3.69
    #48Fun3.65
    #98Innovation3.57
    #200Overall3.29
    #305Graphics3.08
    #321Mood2.87
    #363Audio2.43
    #546Theme2.78

    Comments

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Ahah, I love the animations and the ragdolls. It was really fun to play :)

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:05pm

    Nice I laughed at the pay the rag dolls throw around.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    Hell yeah - Take that Trials Evo!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    There's something inherently funny about the physics and the low production values.

    Many Ludum Dare games try too hard to be lolsorandom using text. Sometimes no words are needed.

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

    Fun! Love knocking those Trial riders of their bikes.

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    Cool game, fun to play. :)

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

    Enjoyed the physics.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

    Loved the ragdolls.

    zerebruin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

    I didn't like the gameplay very much. Kudos for the idea thoug + extra points for letting kong walk left instead of right ;)

    ming_tea says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58am

    I found the music really charming, and the ragdolls were cracking me up.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:07am

    It was fun kicking guys in the air and seeing the physics in action.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33am

    Hitting riders with barrels from really far away and watching the ragdolls fall after a flying kick were satisfying. :)

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    hahaha!... awesome! :) nice all around - and i WON! :)
    solid work.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    High quality physics and (very)lowpoly graphics made a strange mix that works! The game is very fun, too! ;)

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    These positive comments are overwhelming, thank you! Criticism is also welcomed ofc.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    nice man just really nice ! I loved it !

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Fun, innovative, and ragdolls are never bad. The only downside to me was after a while I felt like I was the good guy just innocently trying to get to the other side while evil bikers tried to crush me. But a monkey throwing barrels is classically evil as we all know. He's probably got a princess captive under ever one of those dirt hills.

    I was also reading your technical info and tried the link to the autotracker but the link on the post it goes to is broken :/

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Nice game. Really fun. One of few that actually has a nicely scaling difficulty

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Try this Schwiggy: https://raw.github.com/iamgreaser/it2everything/master/atrk-bu.py

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Hehe, nice one. Sometimes I just had to watch bikers fall on they own and other times there were a few of them collapsing together, but that made the game more fun :)

    garygreen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    Nice graphic style. I really enjoyed playing it.

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:20pm

    haha, brilliant game. very original and that kung fu monkey thing is hilarious. Sometimes a bit random but that also creates accidentally funny situations.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:04pm

    Love the flying kick, so funny.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:47am

    your game is funny as hell

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    That was funny :)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Fun and creative. I wish games were more random and had more ragdoll like yours :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]