Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 10 hours, 53 minutes, 23 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    (Tie One Woman to a Train Track and Suddenly) I'm the Badguy - handCraftedRadio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Tie women to train tracks and laugh your way to the top of the score board!

    -Written in C++ using OpenGL, SDL, and a custom engine.
    -Devcpp project file included in source.

    View handCraftedRadio's journal. | View all entries by handCraftedRadio

    Ratings

    Fun4.26
    Theme4.49
    Coolness55%
    #4Humor4.33
    #5Overall4.15
    #19Mood3.90
    #31Innovation3.97
    #59Audio3.45
    #200Graphics3.41

    Comments

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48am

    I love this game! Hilarious!

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Hah, awesome. High score 1920, then I walked into a train :(

    VDZ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    Fun game. Neither the interpretation of the theme nor the game itself are very innovative, but it's fun and that's what matters most. Reminds me of old Commodore 64 games.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Ahaha-*bmpf* (hit by a policeman).
    Also: Tying a woman next to the tracks, than standing on the track, laughing. I think I did something wrong.

    Awesome game! The small scope probably allowed for a lot of polishing, and it shows. The controls feel very good (although I don't know if I'd like it better to just hold a key). Oh, and the humor is great!

    And the more I play, the more I appreciate the mechanics: Your indirect weapon, the train, that can kill yourself too, distracting the police with the damsels, and the possibility of targeting a policeman with the train.

    I only miss two things: Music, and some kind of indicator when that a train will come soon.

    Good job all around!

    PS: Ahaha-*hit by a train*

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    PPS: I love the title

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Love it! Really well thought-out mechanics, great presentation, good intro explaining the controls, downright hilarious! Would have liked some sounds for the trains, and perhaps a screen rumble? Great effort

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Ha Ha! Love it

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Both amusing and a good solid mechanic. Every game should have a "laugh evilly" button.
    Really well done.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Hahaha! Mine is an evil laugh!
    That was fun - only thing I didn't like was having to repeatedly hit the keys to move. I kept expecting to be able to hold a direction down, got me hit by a train more than once.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Including the evil laugh is a sure sign of a winner. Simple and fun, like it should be. Very nice!

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Bad Job! That means good job because you are trying to be bad.

    Loved it! very simple but solid mechanics. The evil laugh is such a great bonus. Super fun!

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

    Excellent!

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

    Really great!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47am

    Can't play a windows game :-(

    JDM says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:18am

    This is a game I almost made, but I'm glad you did, because it's better than what I was going to make, I'm sure. Fantastic.

    Sos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

    I love the grid-based rogue movements, great work!

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32am

    Nice game. Graphics are pretty cool, it's original, and I feel very evil :D

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    Nice simple yet pleasing graphics. The overall feel of the game is great! :)

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    Funny game. The whole idea, the sound effects (especially the evil laugh) are hilarious. Although, it could've used some music.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    I'm giving lots of evil laughts!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Nice!

    vandriver says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    haha, excellent. very funny and feels complete. the laugh is really quite perfect. take all my stars!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Haha, such a great game - The Gloating is my favorite part.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Thanks everyone! Glad you like it!

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:38am

    Funny, original and evil game. My fingers got tired because of how the controls work.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:52am

    Haha, truly awesome. Now that's a real villain ! :D

    gritfish says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:19am

    I also did a "tie girls to tracks" game (with cops and everything), but you did a much better job of scoping, I think. Everything in this is really well polished and has a great arcade-y feel. Really made me nostalgic for old Atari games.

    The laugh button is a fantastic idea.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:51am

    Bad job! Lol!

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Excellently polished. My eye couldn't keep track of everything so I'd run into a train or a police by mistake often - awesome! :D

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:06am

    Excellent game. I love the feel of the grid-based movement along with that little tapping sound you make. A lot of other nice touches in sound/graphics/humour make this one really memorable.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]