Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 6 hours, 16 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 7 hours, 4 minutes, 7 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bad Guy Boot Camp - rustybroomhandle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Apologies if this entry is a bit gloomy. A thing happened last week that made me not-so-much want to be the villain, but in the light of all the associated rage, I decided to approach it rather from the point of understanding who the villain is.

    "This Ludum Dare entry is ham-fisted and lacks subtlety!" - Roger Ebert

    View rustybroomhandle's journal. | View all entries by rustybroomhandle

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #13Mood4.00
    #17Theme4.21
    #296Innovation3.02
    #298Overall3.12
    #402Graphics2.84
    #444Audio2.18
    #688Humor1.50
    #768Fun1.47

    Comments

    MidgeS says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14am

    Wow, was really screptical when i entered the first room. But this conveys such a dense mood.
    How am I supposed to vote on Fun and Humor on such an entry? <.<

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25am

    Honestly I would be disappointed if "Fun" went anywhere above n/a or 1 star.

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25am

    Cool entry, i like the little text appearing when you "kill" !

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    Wow, not what I was expecting. Really moody and fits the theme, really makes you think. Good job! I almost don't want to know if the murders are real, sure feels like it.

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    hard to vote game, villain ideed...

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Hmm? Kill the kids? x.x O.o

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    That was disturbing in a good way. My hat goes off to you,

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    Innovating, an interesting point of view. Sure i don't think it's fun or humorous, but it's something ! (and also something original done in 48h ^^)

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    You marched right up to the theme and punched it in the face.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    @Rex Peppers I think you and I had similar reactions to the theme, but we dealt with it in different ways.

    Volpes says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Linux download seams down? I get a weird 404 error

    poga says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Nice mood, nice idea. Good Job :D

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    Strong, clear, simple.

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    I started off wondering what I was meant to do, but I found myself wanting to learn about the character I was playing. Very grim mood, and that last guy had an important message. Also felt there was a certain subtlety about some of the meanings - for instance, the last guy blocking the exit. Nice one! :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Volpes, that's because I am an idiot. I had the wrong case in the file name. I fixed it now.

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Hm it's not an easy interpretation of the theme which you choose for your Game because of the events in the last days. But the Message you want to tell is important!

    Wukkopi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Well this wasn't that fun to play, but this is very good from educational aspect. Makes one think, why do these things happen all around the world :(

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Congratulations on having the guts to do this! My first 5 on theme 0 on fun so far.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    great work!... the detail of the text descriptions really makes an impact.

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    Well that was really difficult to play and also not easy to rate...

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Dense game.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:28pm

    Very powerful game.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Wow, that's a hard game. The internal conflict of not wanting to push the trigger, not wanting to be a villain... but still that is the only way to "advance" in the game, forcing yourself to explore your inner darkness. I guess that's what you'd call art.

    I didn't have the guts to do an entry like this, even though it was my first thought. (I felt bad when adding the children in my game, and those are just pixels on a collision map.) Congratulations for not chickening out!

    wally2069 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    I think this was a really important game to make about real life. As a side note, I think this game also demonstrates why the Humor category should be removed for the Mood category.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Touching

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Very powerful. Gave me chills.

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    After reading off the first victim's information, I was just stunned. As simple as this "game" might be, it's one hell of an experience.

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:03am

    I think we broke the server, it does not respond so I can't download the game.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:35pm

    The links appear not to be working.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:29am

    Pretty bad taste, I thought. It's not hard to do an entry like this. If you wanted to make a point you could have done the same in a number of better ways. Still, it's just too on the nose to be interesting or past the "dude, too soon" line, imo.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:16am

    I like the visual style. A serious game about serious topic. Good job!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    @GeorgeBroussard How is it bad taste? It was not created solely to be controversial, it merely takes one or two aspects of the issue at hand and hilights them.

    Yeah it could have been done better, perhaps in a more subtle way, perhaps with a little more "game" added to it, but bad taste? No.

    And "too soon" is an invalid argument here. I'm not making light of the matter, just contributing to the discussion.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:27pm

    very straightforward and strong

    Spiridios says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    I ran into a weird glitch where the mouse kept "escaping" the plugin window when I clicked to fire. I mainly mention this because the first time I shot someone the browser window disappeared and was replaced with another app I had running in the background. I was left sitting there for a moment wondering if that was the intended effect: you shoot someone and everything is gone. Of course it was just a glitch with the Unity plugin but, technical limitations aside, that seemed an interesting way to end the game....

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Spiridos: Yeah, I forgot to make it grab the mouse when in windowed mode. And it definitely should not quit by itself. :)

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:48am

    I can't download the File for OSX, neither am I willing to install the unity plugin, sorry :(

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:48am

    I can't download the File for OSX (link broken), neither am I willing to install the unity plugin, sorry :(

    donmilham says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:10am

    Deep and painful. A depressing journey of self-punishment... Art.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:32pm

    Great job, man. I was very surprised coming in. I think you've handled it relatively well.

    Beowulf1970 says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:11pm

    powerful and disturbing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]