Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 18 hours, 14 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 18 hours, 14 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Executive Zombie - TheH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hello Mr. Executive Zombraaaaaaaaiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnsssss..... *drools*

    Executive zombie is a goofy little RTS where YOU are the Executive of Big Brain Corp.

    Sadly... times have gotten rough, and you need to re-purpose the interns. Collect their brains, build your work force, and help drone the day one neuron at a time.

    View TheH's journal. | View all entries by TheH

    Ratings

    #142Humor3.21
    #212Graphics3.36
    #235Innovation3.15
    #247Fun3.08
    #271Theme3.43
    #286Mood2.93
    #318Overall3.07
    #1027Coolness24%

    Comments

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20am

    This is what I wish I would have come up with and I wish I would be able to execute! (my game is similar) Well done!

    Mercur1c says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31am

    The staple gunners need to be weakened a bit.

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Great little game. Seems a bit quiet though, lovely graphics and really fun and enjoyable!

    fussycashew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    Great concept! It felt a touch boring though.

    TheH says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    @AlexFili: Yeah, there was a bug with the sound loader, I didn't find it until after the time was up sadly.

    @Mercur1c: The game as a whole is going to go through a balancing while I do post-dev and turn it into a full game.

    BiceMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    Humourus game. Fun concept. Some more polishing would be nice though. very funny comments from the interns!

    Mago says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Fun game and interesting idea. I like the graphics, but the game could use sound

    Maristak says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Good idea, well implemented. Good job!

    lukew23 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:55am

    I think the staple gunners a re fine, the problem is the level design. Overall it was good, but there is one level where it seems as if you randomly placed staple gunners at the end of a narrow hallway right at the start of the level thereby rendering that level nearly impossible. Overall, the game was extremely enjoyable and a great entry.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Great entry, especially for the 48 hour compo. It can be hard to see how many zombies are selected (they all stack on top of one another). The sprites, animations, and backgrounds are all nice and consistent-- it really adds to the polish.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

    Best sprite is the guy rolling around with the office chair :P

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]