Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 21 minutes, 29 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 21 minutes, 30 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You Are The Goatman - kroltan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ***THIS GAME FEATURES GOATS***

    Controls: WASD/Arrows
    Objective: Protect goats and kill villagers

    - Goats run towards you if you're close and will run away from villagers.
    - Villagers run away from you and run towards goats.
    - When any character bumps on obstacles, they are damaged.
    - Watch out for spiky plants, they hurt on high speeds.
    - You get points by killing villagers and lose them when goats die.
    - To kill villagers, ram them the fastest you can. Take care not to die with the impact, though.
    - You win if you're alive when the time ends
    - If all goats die, you lose

    17/12/2012 - 11:09 GMT-3: Added standalone ports for better performance.

    View kroltan's journal. | View all entries by kroltan

    Ratings

    #203Graphics3.39
    #204Humor3.00
    #240Innovation3.13
    #381Overall2.95
    #435Mood2.65
    #468Audio2.09
    #487Fun2.58
    #675Theme2.30
    #817Coolness42%

    Comments

    kivifreak says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    2d sprites in a 3d game nicely made :)
    Long time no seen such a game

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Well at the current state it is I lost when I start I'll come back later ._.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    It suddenly became playable, Please excuse me.

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    Hard bug here, going to look into it

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Fixed! The code that was looking if there were any surviving goats to make you lose was running before goats were added. haha

    RyanArcher says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Good Game Kroltan :) Although I suck at it :(

    SumX says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    May i ask, What did you use to create the 2D Sprites, and what (if any) Asset did ou use to manage those on Unity? Some SpriteManager?

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    @SumX: I used this: http://www.famitsu.com/freegame/tool/chibi/index1.html (Dated back from the times I used RPG Maker) to create the human characters, and built my simple SpriteManager (see source of game) that allows for basic animation by UV switching.
    The manager is simple: drop it in a GameObject, select spritesheet and dimensions in cells, put a Transparent kind of material and you're done. There's some obviously-named public methods for hooking into anything you would need (animation management, etc).

    angelk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

    I love the art style, that's what I was planning on going for. I was a little lost on the gameplay, and I wasn't too sure about the theme until I realized I could beat up the eskimos by running into them :)

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17am

    The music alone is worth playing this game. I didn't hear anything like it since the frog song in Botanicula.

    But it lacks actions, clear goals. A sword to slay the villagers would help, or a pen where I can lead the goat in to be safe.

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:49am

    @TomK32: Thanks! I might do a post-compo version with the pen you suggested, however I kind of disagree on the matter of swords since you play as the Goatman, and goats attack by ramming at menaces. Possibly even a 2-player version!

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:30pm

    Nice Game I do enjoy and the goats >.<

    Hitagi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    Wow nice game - I like this :)

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

    Fun fact: the "AI" in this game are just magnets.

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:36pm

    Still uploading standalones, for now use the web version.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    It's original

    Tapestry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    The graphics are nice and I liked the gameplay where you use momentum to damage the villagers. I didn't like the music.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:44am

    Neat idea. Smashing the villagers was fun. Weird music :).

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Nice graphics and cool gameplay. Not sure if it fits the theme though

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:07am

    that was refreshing! Sprites are nice too! the music was a bit stressing though...

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]