Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 11 hours, 5 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Trolling - permanente1600 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    As a troll you feel its your duty to rid the world of cute flowers. Pesky unicorns keep planting them though. Stomp on the flowers and keep the world free of all that is good and cute.

    This game was made with HTML5 and a little bit of unicorn magic.

    View permanente1600's journal. | View all entries by permanente1600

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #36Graphics4.16
    #161Humor3.14
    #218Theme3.54
    #219Overall3.26
    #281Mood2.94
    #297Fun2.98
    #348Innovation2.91
    #430Audio2.20

    Comments

    soupy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00am

    I like how the Troll bobs his head. It's a nice touch. I wish the game felt less arbitrary and gave me more positive feedback than just printing my number of flowers. If I could sometimes earn my own bombs or something that'd be cool. Obviously it's hard to get everything done you want in 48 hours and I know my game has a lot of features missing that I wanted, but that is my two cents.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    Nice Trolling >.< this was a pretty good game

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    Cool art! :)

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

    Got to 69 flowers, felt like a good stopping point! Overall, this game has great potential on every front: aesthetics, controls, sound, rules, etc. I think the only thing holding it back is the randomly generated field. If the unicorn reacted predictably (and he might, I don't know!) and each level was a certain field configuration, I could see a long shelf life for the game. Great work!

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39am

    gorgeous art... didn't really know understand the "big flowers" killing me though, and the lack of info about unicorn behavior means I just end up staying safely away -- not really sure what other strategies I could've used?

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:42am

    Nice game, sweet and simple. I was dissatisfied with the fact that I couldn't be the unicorn and stomp out all of the flowers, but it was well designed nonetheless. Very crisp feeling, no bugs, I like it. Good job, and keep up the good work!

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Oh, feels like that I'm the one being trolled! The unicorn smile is too nice for me and made me want to stomp the flowers real bad!
    If you had more time, I'm sure that would be a lot of gameplay improvements.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17am

    If there's anyone trolling in this game, it's the unicorn :) Good art and gameplay.

    sletari says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Hahaha, my first thought was "wow, this unicorn is damn fast", but then I realized...

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Very cute!! My only note is that, for me, it would need a second mode, with a goal. But that's only because Endurance mode isn't my cup of cake, as a gamer.

    Lovely lovely work! Top marks

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:50am

    Awesome graphics! The sound effect gets a little annoying after a while

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Thanks everyone for the feed back, I was definitely limited by with time and got to the "its good enough" phase towards the end. Things i wish were better, which many of you have mentioned, are additional powerups, better unicorn movement patterns, a second unicorn, and other game modes. In the end im pretty happy with the results for my first ludum dare! thanks everyone for playing it and all the feedback.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    Cute game. I got to 89 on my 4th or 5th or so. I like the idea too. I made sure to die from everything just to test it out. Well done.

    cdata says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    This game really gorgeous; I love the visual style. It is incredibly simple and yet requires a strategic approach. It would be super fun if I could do shared-keyboard vs. multiplayer with a friend :)

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Really love the graphics and the idea. It does get a little repetitive after a bit, but that could easily be changed with a little more time.

    Per says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    Nice graphics!
    Bombs that create big flowers ;)
    I enjoyed playing this game!

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Excellent artwork, I wanted to destroy that damn smug unicorn, grr! Well thought out and executed, but somehow I felt like I wasn't the most capable of trolls ...

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Good!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Very good art.
    I didn't try to beat my score a lot because I find the luck factor too high.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:03pm

    Nice art. Some background music would be nice. The gameplay is fun, but a little shallow. A unicorn which poops bombs. Yeah :D

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:12am

    Great art, and polished gameplay!

    chambers says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:20am

    Very nice art!

    I felt the game was too easy (you can play it ad infinitum if you're careful enough, maybe make the unicorn plant bombs more frequently as the game goes on?)

    Also, I think it would be better if there was some way of knowing how many turns it will take for the bomb to explode - or at least if it will explode in the next turn or not.

    high-score: 221

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:35am

    Super fun game! Had a lot of fun with this. High score was around 70. Nice, simple mechanics and controls and well polished for 48 hours. Very well done.

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:29am

    Fun game! The unicorn is great.

    Feedback for the deaths would be nice. Right now it feels kind-of arbitrary, and it isn't really clear what happened.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:52am

    Loved the presentation, and the game feels nice to play.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]