Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 9 hours, 30 minutes, 39 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Villainous! - gritfish - Jam Entry

    First, pick your hero, victim, and villain characters (you can be man, woman or goat!).

    COMPLETE THE TRAIN TRACK AND TIE YOUR VICTIM TO IT
    SPACE = PICK UP / PUT DOWN TRACKS AND PEOPLE
    X = USE HAMMER (IF YOU HAVE ONE) TO KNOCK OUT THE HERO

    I ran out of time, so here's what's missing:
    No sound
    No score display
    No indication of what you're holding

    Updates/Fixes:
    Game now reloads after win/lose screen (thanks Marco Jonkers)
    You can hold the arrow key to keep moving in a direction (thanks Flai and rinaka)
    When you get caught by a hero, all heroes are cleared from the screen to stop them getting you again as you respawn (thanks rinaka)

    View gritfish's journal. | View all entries by gritfish

    Ratings

    #11Theme(Jam)4.13
    #57Innovation(Jam)3.44
    #92Overall(Jam)3.36
    #98Humor(Jam)3.00
    #123Graphics(Jam)3.47
    #140Fun(Jam)2.94
    #176Mood(Jam)2.77
    #1012Coolness26%

    Comments

    Flai says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    I liked it, but moving felt a bit annoying because it didnt move continuously

    Marco Jonkers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    Too bad I need to refresh if I lose. Fun game otherwise.

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    Beautiful pixel graphics! Also, I like that you can select the villain and hero in any combination of women, men and goat.

    Took me a little while to get used to the tile-based movement. Also, sometimes the heroes spawn too close and grab you right away. On the other hand, I loved it when a hero saved a victim just before the train reached them.

    gritfish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    I've put up a quick update - you no longer need to refresh to restart the game (it just goes back to the start screen on its own)

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    A really beautiful little game

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Loved the graphics and I'm partial to tile/train games. Sometimes the hero would drop right on my head, and at first I found it hard to figure out where the tracks needed to start and stop.

    zachstronaut says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Nice work!! You got much farther on graphics than I did, they are great. You've also introduced this frantic arcade element instead of going with a pure Pipe Dream clone like I did. How do you get a train to run on the tracks?!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Damn cool!!! Full marks, all over the place!

    chambers says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:55am

    Humor and presentation was awesome (especially the winning screen)

    You can say the game has two parts: one in which you complete the train track and one in which you tie the victim to the rails and make the train run over him/her. In the first part, I felt there was no way to lose. It's more of a sandbox game in which you can build tracks in the way you like, using the given resources. Getting hit by a hero didn't penalize me in any way...

    In the second part, it's somewhat easy to grab the victim and place them right in front of the train before he or she can be saved by the hero.

    I loved the fact that you can select the gender (and well, species) of the hero, victim and villain.

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:22am

    The movement is a bit too slow, which makes the controls overall pretty frustrating, but I do really like how you made this concept into a speedy action puzzler :).

    Nice graphics and style! Some sounds really would have helped, and perhaps making the spawn points of the start/end of the track non-random would have helped, too. You could start them near each other the first time and further apart for subsequent "levels".

    Well done!

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    Feels very polished! It's kinda tricky to tie the victim to the road und build it at the same time. But fun!

    StMatn says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:46am

    Cool idea! Was really fun to play. Good job

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]