Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 14 hours, 49 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Fortress Keeper - CMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A defence game, where peasants attempt to overthrow you, the cruel, overtaxing lord of the fort.

    Didn't have time for sound, traps or escalating difficulty, but the core game is there. Hope somebody can get some fun out of it.

    View CMaster's journal. | View all entries by CMaster

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #505Graphics2.58
    #518Fun2.52
    #561Theme2.74
    #576Overall2.61
    #601Innovation2.36
    #629Audio1.00
    #648Mood2.18
    #671Humor1.59

    Comments

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Nice concept. A little hard to tell the difference between units, and also had a few "swordsmen" kill my shields with arrows. Good start, I think you could definitely make something out of this.

    Arowx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Nice. Needs a move to command for the defenders.

    ElScootro says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    Good work! Fun and playable. I was a little confused by the starting viewpoint, I didn't realize where my villian was for a bit.

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

    You're onto a really good game here. I would love to see you further develop it. At the moment it is quite nice but repetitive and full of bugs.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    @Aswissrole I'm sure some of them will become obvious if I plau a little more, but mind listing the bugs you found (can email them to the contact details on my site if you like)

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    A death sound or animation would really help get you more in to the game i think

    gilesa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19pm

    The interface for buying units is a little cumbersome. The buy button feels unnecessary. It would be a lot quicker if just clicking on the unit type would buy it. But otherwise, good job!

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Neat concept and makes for a fun little game. Further development could lead to something great.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    @jerre
    Yeah, definitley. Don't knw much about animating yet though, and ran out of time for sounds.

    @gilesa
    Yeah, that was a reason for that originally, but I forget what it was now. Definitely worth looking at replacing.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33am

    Just needs a few little enhancements and this could be a very cool game. Still, had fun with what is there already.

    Mago says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    little bugy but still fun game

    someone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    There is no text in the linux versions which makes it tricky to play.
    Good start though.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19pm

    @Mago
    Details on bugs would be good
    @Someone
    Ouch, that's pretty serious. I just used standard Unity stuff - is it possible you are missing some common fonts? Any idea what fonts WOULD be a good idea to use?

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Mice little tower defense!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Concept is cool. The controls are pretty rough. Scroll was inverse of what I expected, and took too much effort. Placing units felt like it could have been 1 click instead of the extra buy button. Overall good work - keep it going.

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:29am

    The animation of the arrows is great, and I like the way the units move. My main criticisms are the lack of instructions, no option to speed up the game or call waves early. It's a great little game though, good job :)

    wademcgillis says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    This is great. I spent a while playing this, but was disappointed by the lack of a timer or some sort of score.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:25am

    Fun game! I noticed that I cannot seem to buy items if I have exactly the right amount of gold though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]