Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 9 hours, 47 minutes, 53 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Good Doctor - Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Story:
    In the 14th century, the bubonic plague wiped out over a third of the European population. Entire villages are being decimated, and you've been separated from your children. Your goal is to reunite with them and leave the village.

    Controls:
    WASD or Arrow Keys to move.

    Confession:
    Sorry for the absence of real gameplay. I tried a few new things this time around (hand-drawn artwork, music, etc), all of which took far longer than I had anticipated to implement, and so I had no time left to add more depth. Also, you might notice there are no side walls on any of the buildings and that everything looks rather plain. This is due to my having at the last minute to scrap the 3D effect I had worked so hard on for the walls. While the effect looked good initially, once it was applied to the full map, the framerate dropped way down and I just didn't have enough time to make it efficient enough to be playable. In the end, I decided scrapping the effect altogether was the best decision.

    Bug fix:
    (12/16/2012 8:35PM CST) Fixed the ending screen so that it doesn't fade out immediately upon becoming visible. Now, you should actually be able to see it properly.

    Post-Compo Version:
    For those that are curious, I have finally optimized and fixed the 3D effect that was originally planned for the game and included it with the Post-Compo version. The gameplay is still the same (which is to say virtually nonexistent), but I may decide to expand on it at some point if I feel I have any really good ideas for it.

    View Sestren's journal. | View all entries by Sestren

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #57Mood3.56
    #202Audio2.93
    #423Graphics2.80
    #444Theme3.03
    #510Humor2.09
    #576Overall2.61
    #676Innovation2.16
    #727Fun1.84

    Comments

    Yngar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22am

    I really liked the music combined with the visuals. The mood was really good.

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Is your character supposed to be the black death? Cool take on the theme to be the disease or some aspect of it. I liked the mood, and the sound effects added to that. Not too deep of gameplay as you mentioned. Good job of finishing something playable!

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

    The thought balloons that appear as I walk gives me the background while letting me explore. The rats following me felt sinister! If you continue developing, I'd like to know where to go after I've gathered half a dozen rats.

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Quite a sad game- depicting the plague as a traveler with no home is rather depressing.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05am

    Cute, enjoyable, interesting mood, and telling a story without too much exposition - I think I can forgive that there's not much gameplay. The little squeaks and the queue they are forming: Adorable!

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

    Nice job on the audio! Good story, fun gameplay. Nice job :D

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Though somewhat dark, I thought this was cute. It's a relaxed game more like Knytt and such. Good atmosphere because of the graphics and music. Not sure how this even could be a full game, curious what you'll come up with!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    Nice mood and narrative, although it lacks a real essence.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    a little bit too short. But I like how you simulate clouds and buildings.

    soupy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:55am

    I actually really enjoyed this despite the lack of challenges. Walking around was fun and the game was the right length so that it didn't get tedious. I definitely felt like a really evil person playing this game, which is saying a lot since a lot of these games feature actively killing innocent people (like mine) and in this one you just walk around talking to rats. But you do in a really villainy way.

    Milo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56am

    This game has some pretty fantastic mood. There's not much gameplay, but hearing all those squeaks from the mice made me smile.

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Great mood, felt kinda evil, kinda depressive, but fun. Liked the effect you had going on with the art. I would say keep going with this, see where you can take it.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:51am

    i liked the writing, and the mood. i like how the graphics scroll, too. it's too short though! i wish there was more here.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Great mood, and characterization. Even if he is a personification of the Black Plague, I definitely feel a little sympathy for him. I also like the parallax effect on the background. Wish I could preview the 3D effect you scrapped!

    angela says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:30am

    I really enjoyed the graphics and the mood, and I also really like the mechanism where the little rats would squeak when you got close to them to let you know which way to go.

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    At the beginning I was like "How is this supposed to be related to the theme??" and then I saw the first child and then I was more like "Yeah, I see what you did there, niiiice"

    I loved the mood and the story telling, It really amazing how much you managed to tell the story with almost anything

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:13am

    Very nice mood and cool idea. I also liked the way you made walls '3D'. Well done.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    You came up with an interactive story. The history are cool, the graphics are nice, as the music.
    I just think that you worried too much about working on this '3D effect', time you wasted while you could be working on more things like a map and how much rats the player are supposed to find. You know, things that add to the gameplay and are comfortable to the player.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:37pm

    Cool and weird game, the dialogs got me curious about it

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:16am

    Excellent atmosphere. Please finish it it is very promising. Beautiful art and music. Nice 3D effect.

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    This kinda reminded me of Pathologic and it was quite nice, albeit without any gameplay.

    ix says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:44am

    I like the atmosphere you're cultivating here. It's sinister but also friendly. It's a shame the 3d effect didn't make it -- the post-compo version looks really good.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:44am

    Interesting idea! I look forward to a post-compo version.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:08pm

    the mood is indeed really nice and the idea is pretty sad x) I like it

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    I actually really enjoyed this. Perhaps I've had my fill of killing this that and the other, this little interactive vignette was delightful! The text was very amusing, and it was just the right amount of challenge - if I'd had to hunt too much harder it could have become annoying but actually you ended the experience before it got old. I really liked the weird avatar and Cagney - what a star ;) Would have like to have seen some kind of graphic for the promised "Town" - I was expecting a twist ending. Were you supposed to be a metaphorical bacterium or something? Great, thanks

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    The shortness of the game was a bit disappointing, but the mood and theme were very good. I'm guessing the character is the black death, right?

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Interesting idea, but as you said, there is not much gameplay. The mood and story kept me till the end, so that's a plus! Good job finishing this.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:38am

    Good mood ;)

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:50am

    creepy...

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:50pm

    I like the character design, looks like one of those apothecary back in the medieval days. Really cool story and mood. Got a little tedious walking around the level though.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:03am

    It really is a shame there isn't more gameplay, but still, it was an interesting experience.

    radmars says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:53am

    "Rats and children follow me out of town..."

    Mar 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

    More of a story than a game, but I enjoyed this greatly. The concept is great, and the graphics and sound create a creepy enough ambience. Good job.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]