Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 13 hours, 49 minutes, 27 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Crown Jewels Job - Will Edwards - Jam Entry

    We wanted to make something that our young kids could play, so the game is deliberately tame and safe, even if the theme is that the baddie is a goodie somehow...

    WARNING: includes goats

    A few features and lots of polish did not make the deadline. We had to turn off spiders because they could float up the vertical shafts and go in the sky, and the guards are rather simple. Oh for an extra day!

    Its a 2D platform game WITHOUT TILES. Please take a look at our level editor and try and see how the engine works. Most of the artwork are true 3D meshes, with a bit of parallax scrolling for the backgrounds. All the floors and walls are defined using free-form lines. We built the whole engine from scratch for this LD, and despite the glitches we're super pleased and relieved to have got such a big project mostly working in the time limit!

    We are particularly pleased with the level editor - you can play with that too, although we've disabled 'save to server' mode. We developed the game with a built-in git repo on the server, so everyone could add artwork and levels and so on without having to email everything to a central integrator person and wait for contributions to be uploaded.

    The background music uses the old-fashioned audio API, but the sound effects - for jumping, collecting coins, getting hurt etc - use the new HTML5 audio API, which your browser may not support.

    Team:
    Mr War (Wombatica) - gorgeous art, level design
    Will - coding
    Virgo - generously helped e.g. added the guard patrol logic

    background music is "Sneaky Snitch", free by Kevin MacLeod

    View Will Edwards's journal. | View all entries by Will Edwards

    Ratings

    Coolness89%
    #97Audio(Jam)3.22
    #137Graphics(Jam)3.35
    #163Overall(Jam)3.00
    #192Mood(Jam)2.72
    #207Humor(Jam)2.28
    #238Theme(Jam)2.88
    #259Fun(Jam)2.34
    #311Innovation(Jam)1.92

    Comments

    laaph says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25am

    I get a 404 when clicking on the webGL link. :(

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

    great fun working with you. it all came together at the end! maybe switch the main image to the square one?

    se1by says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

    You got a http://www.notek.ch/img/dead_link.png

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:54am

    @iaaph @se1by I am temporarily rehosting on a VPS, as long as the traffic holds.

    laaph says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Works now. Beautiful! Lovely background music! It says HTML5 Audio is not supported on my browser, so no sound effects, but I still get background music.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51am

    I really love the way the stained glass contrasts with the rest of the textures. It almost glows right off of the screen. The jumping controls need some work. The platforming physics in general just feel a bit awkward. The level looks nice, but there are some spots where getting hit is a certainty.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52am

    It's pretty nice!

    My only real gripe was that sometimes it wasn't clear which walls were passable (e.g. at the top of the towers).

    Really impressive for the time taken.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:35am

    I get an error :<

    Per says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Really nice little game you've made :)
    Like the music and graphics.
    You could work a little bit on the control though :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:39am

    @Per yes lesson learnt is never ever make platform games without tiles; its just not sane! We added a 'tidy' tool but all the same...

    23 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Nicely put together - the theme of the level came through really clearly.

    One thing that would have been nice was more contrast between foreground elements (characters, pickups), passable items, and impassable items.

    Rob says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Theres a great deal of work done here, good game, the character movement or physics needs work, felt too sticky while moving around. Other than that great job :)

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    Impressed with this game being made in a weekend. I like the mix of the bad guy with burglar stripes and medieval guards.

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    The BG is awesome, and i like the Level Editor, but you need to work more in the controls, and the enemies pathfind.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Wow, a lot of work must have gone in to making this. Quite hard to control the guys though. Picking out walls, platforms, etc can be tricky too. But well done - a nice use of HTML5.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    It's sometimes a bit hard to see if you can stand or something or not or whether something's gonna hurt you or not (e.g. I first thought the pumpkins were loot)

    D3zmodos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    Pretty cool game, I really liked the music!

    Logun says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    I didnt realy understand when I can go through a wall, and when he will block me ! But cool huge level with nice music and arts

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    Interesting map editor, not much gameplay.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    Agree with the rest on the soundtrack here. It's weird, I have played a *lot* of games with a really nice soundtrack this time, when I'm not used to really hearing much at all from LD entries.

    It does sometimes feel unresponsive when I press keys however, and sometimes it feels like it's still processing my last command long after I stop pressing a button.

    By the way, I perfectly understand the desire to keep the theme light. I struggled with the theme myself because I had a flood of inspiration but as I played out all the ideas they just felt darker than I wanted to explore.

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    graphics guy here. Seriously, thanks for all the feedback, we will take it all on board. Oh for more time! I won't make excuses here but will do autopsy.

    PS. Reclusive Frog; love your game man. Have to vote via Will's account tho per Jam rules.

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Ambitious, but as has been said above, the basic mechanics felt wrong. It was hard to figure out what was solid. Multiple places would look the same but interact differently. The editor was neat, but the game is what I rated.

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Yey a "swag" score! I don't know what I'm doing but it's kinda fun. Nice graphics and audio, the controls are weird though!

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:51am

    cute =)

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:37pm

    Cute little game. I liked the music and the graphics. The controls weren't too great and it was pretty easy to run into things on accident.

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    Graphics guy's autopsy: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/21/ld24-the-crown-jewels-job-autopsy/

    Volute says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    Had fun playing it !
    My only complaint is that sometimes the platforms don't stand out enough from the background (color too similar) and it's hard to spot them.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Impressive work, especially with the level editor. The game is annoying in some ways; the physics feel wrong. Too much inertia, and the height of the jumps seem inconsistent. And the problem that it's difficult to see where you can walk and what hurts you. Also the level is too non-linear, so I didn't know where to go. But good graphics and I like the level of ambition!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:17am

    Im impressed :)

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:44am

    This was lovely!!! My only gripe is horizontal collision, it feels very wrong to be stopped in mid air, just because you're pressing against a wall. Very very impressive level editor

    Spacehunter says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Very responsive webgl game! Audio == A+

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:44am

    this game make me feel strange: nice music, good graphics level editor.. but gameplay is not so good for me. Player just jump around, enemies do nothing, only moves around and don't try to catch player :(

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    The art is very good, collision checks and physics are wonky. Technically impressive level editor even though I couldn't make it work for me (which makes it more impressive that you got a whole game done with it)

    Post-compo work is to get the physics and collisions working properly and to use light-dark hints or other visual ways of making it clear which areas are passable and which aren't. Well done.

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    thanks everyone for feedback, really helpful.

    Zenmumbler, I forgot to mention it in the graphics autopsy but the light-dark hints is something we realised too late. We didn't put the level together until the last couple of hours and due to sloppy modelling it wasn't easy to add highlights to the Scenery layer. I did add some doorways to the In-Front layer but that's drawn in front of the player so doesn't work everywhere - eg the battlements.

    We've learned a lot. If we do another platform game next time it'll be a ton better with loads more graphics because I can front-run the engine next time as I now know roughly what bits I'll need.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

    It's fun, but the controls can be a bit frustrating. They need tweaking, especially collision detection and jumping.

    The style is pretty unique, I liked it. And the music was great too.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    My only gripes are that the controls were a little bit wonky and sometimes I wasn't sure where to jump. Other than those things though, the artwork is really cool, and the game was fun to play. I only messed around with the editor for a little, but it is really cool.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]