Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 11 hours, 38 minutes, 39 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 11 hours, 38 minutes, 40 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Infect the World - Cyboot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ### UPDATE 2: added difficult Version (try it if you need a REAL challenge :) )
    ### UPDATE 1: added Timelapse


    Uhhh, that was intense...
    But here it is, my game for my 3rd Ludumdare!

    Its kind of a RTS with lot of clicking and leveling-up. But its hard to describe so just try it :)



    # More infos:
    Web/Applet-Version coming soon...
    smaller Resolution hopefully too...


    --------------------------
    # Disclaimer for Sourcecode:
    You know 48h are a short time. So there are some dirty dirty hacks in it, like really really dirty. How dirty? Well if I would read some parts of the code I would want to punch the programmer right into the face ;)

    View Cyboot's journal. | View all entries by Cyboot

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #82Audio3.36
    #162Theme3.67
    #173Overall3.36
    #213Fun3.15
    #245Mood3.00
    #279Innovation3.06
    #301Graphics3.09
    #340Humor2.61

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    cool unit building, I liked the use of theme too :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13am

    Weird, but I like the graphics!

    DTG says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:17am

    Neat concept, reminded me a lot of eufloria, I'm not sure if there is a lose condition, but got cured pretty early

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:32am

    This was pretty good although I totally suck at it. :)

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    Cool game. The last level is a bit hard thought! :)

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Ooh I actually found the difficulty to be a bit on the easy side, but had fun.

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Nice. Reminded me of Galcon a bit!

    barigorokarl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Wow! Very cool game. I liked almost everything. Except the viruses. Although you showed them ("these are yours") I didn't understand that in the game so I thought the blue ones are enemies...

    uwap says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Amazing game but a bit too easy

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Thanks for all your comments so far. I really appreciate it :)

    A word to the level of difficulty: I think its very hard to find the right level here and as I know that most people rating the game like easier and "finishable" games more (at least I prefer them) I choose a easy difficulty.

    But therefore I added the hardcore-mode version which is a REAL challenge, even for me as developer :)

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    Cool idea. The last level seemed quite tough (in fact, didn't beat it).

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    Nice little strategy game, although it still misses a few crucial features.

    mailman105 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    I enjoyed the game, but am still annoyed you didn't catch the firefly reference I had in my game. xD

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Fun to try. Love music most.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    It was really interesting, but a bit too much on the easy side. Needs some balancing to improve :-) Is it possible to actually lose a stage?

    One very big complaint though: When the virus spreads to the world, Madagascar is the first country infected! That makes no sense! Madagascar should be the last place infected! If it was infected at all :-)

    Cheers, and thanks for the game!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    The music was perfect, set the tone right away.
    Nice entry.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:29pm

    Nice!

    Beanalby says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Interesting mechanic, could use some scaling in white cell difficulty, like have weak ones close at the start. At first I'd tried running to expand to other cells immediately and always got creamed, didn't realized I had to basically sit around and pump up rate & strength for a while first.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:06pm

    Didn't hear any music? Nice visual style and sounds. Died in round 3, will try again later. Not sure what the spawn option does.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:59pm

    Well done.

    Norgg says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:41pm

    Found this to be fun but a bit too easy myself, the immune system doesn't seem to keep up with your evolution much and I never really felt threatened.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]