Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 5 hours, 21 minutes, 2 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bunnie - Dmitrix - Jam Entry

    Made in under 72 hours for Ludumdare 25!

    This is the first time any of us have entered Ludumdare!
    Sorry about how buggy everything is, it will eventually be
    fixed.

    Made with Love2D!

    Marcel - Code!
    Daniel - Code!
    Jesse - Art
    Cosmo - Music


    EDIT: To play on windows, drag bunnie.love onto love.exe

    www.dmitrix.blogspot.com

    View Dmitrix's journal. | View all entries by Dmitrix

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #159Audio(Jam)2.81
    #178Humor(Jam)2.50
    #195Graphics(Jam)3.00
    #220Theme(Jam)2.96
    #248Overall(Jam)2.67
    #254Mood(Jam)2.43
    #263Fun(Jam)2.31
    #307Innovation(Jam)1.96

    Comments

    Yngar says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Had to change the filepath on love.exe to get it to work. It was set to your dropbox folder.

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27am

    Hm... hard to describe. That villain reminded me a bit of one of the Angels from NGE, I'm not sure, but it just stomps on the bunnies!? Very strange game.

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Forgot about it: The x86 zip file contains a shortcut to "E:\bunnie\love\love.exe" which obviously won't work on most people's computer. I'd suggest adding a "start.cmd" with the line "love\love bunnie.love" instead

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:59am

    Sorry about that, i'll fix it in a bit.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17am

    cant get past the spinning screen with the pig on the mac build.

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26am

    The villain looked amazing, I enjoyed the graphics style a lot. Only problem was it wasn't very fun to stomp endless bunnies and they jumped way too high which was weird.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:29am

    As other has said. A lot of work to get it going. Note also you need to make the link/batch file actually open the game too. I fixed the link and got a happy pig; though it was an intro to the game, then when I couldn't continue realized it was the default application for love.

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

    Fixed it.

    Cat Burton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32am

    Also can't get past the spinny pig on the mac build :(

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:43am

    It won't load past the pig.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:47am

    You could just get people to drop the bunny.love file onto the exe that's inside the folder.

    The jump physics are great.

    Also the main character is cool.

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    Killing the bunnies is actually a bit unintuitive the way it works. Sound is great!

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    I just dropped the .love file on the exe that is in the "love" subfolder. I liked the main character design really much. The jumping is also smooth. Unfortunately that's all that there is to do, right?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    Does not work with Love 0.7.2 on Ubuntu 12.04:

    Error: [string "loadPeanut.lua"]:20: attempt to call field 'setNewFont' (a nil value)
    stack traceback:
    [string "loadPeanut.lua"]:20: in function 'loadPeanut'
    [string "main.lua"]:9: in function 'load'
    [string "boot.lua"]:310: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:308>
    [C]: in function 'xpcall'

    The .love file from the Windows build gives me the same error.

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    @Frozen Fractal - Sorry, but the game is not compatible with love 0.7.2, must be 0.8.

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    UPDATE - The Mac OSX Version of the game has been fixed.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:39am

    Really like character design and music.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:17am

    good job on a first go and loved the music!

    LoneStranger says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

    I thought it was pretty neat for the first couple minutes. I think with some sort of increased drop rate and an eventual overrunning of the screen with bunnies as a stress increaser and you've got yourself a game.
    Other than that, I think it's pretty complete as far as visuals and sound are concerned. Good job.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:29am

    "Sorry about how buggy everything is, it will eventually be
    fixed." On the contrary! It all worked flawlessly.

    Jumping on top of those poor little bunnies was quite fun! Though the fact that there are no rewards and no progression made me stop after about ten or so killed. The physics felt right, and the bunnies spawning out of mid-air was quite hilarious.

    You've got a solid base and it's only the Ludum Entry time that has ended, not this game. I urge you all to add some rules and gameplay. It could be quite fun! :D

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:10am

    Simple, but quite fun for the few minutes I played :).
    I liked the music and effects, and I'm amused by the idea of killing virtual bunnies, unfortunately it is only really good for a few minutes! Solid entry, though!

    SFX says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    I got bored kinda quickly. Other than that, it was an okay game.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Great work team!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    Main character looks cool, beyond that this feels more like a 48hr entry. Congrats on finishing your first (LD) game, maybe add levels / goals next? Also I did not see any pigs, not sure what other people are talking about.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: using cached page]