Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 21 hours, 26 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 21 hours, 26 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    SPECIES - alwaysinbeta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Humans have evolved into 2 separate species. The aggressive, dominant species are keeping the good natured species imprisoned underground working for them. You lead the rebellion!

    View alwaysinbeta's journal. | View all entries by alwaysinbeta

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #198Humor2.63
    #459Fun2.64
    #476Audio2.08
    #512Mood2.37
    #577Overall2.59
    #619Graphics2.25
    #702Theme1.79
    #715Innovation1.93

    Comments

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Fast moving game. Controls and concept very easy to grasp. Good job!

    dekart says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    Pretty easy gameplay & control

    Cake&Code says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Particle effects in an otherwise very boxy 2d platforming shooter? xD

    I got stuck in a wall a couple of times and the collisions didn't feel right in general. The jumping also needs some work I think. It feels too linear and when jumping I like to feel the gravity slow my down and then pull me back.

    The silly characters were amusing, but why are those red guys always so grumpy?? They could learn a thing or two from the mustachioed men.

    quill18 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Fun game, nice fire effects!

    evilseanbot says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:43am

    I really pegged the mustachioed guys as the kinder, gentler species. How wrong I was.

    Everythings kinda wonky, but its got a certain charm. I felt like the bullets should go for longer though.

    Jeremias says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    Hi! This is my feedback for you:

    - Collision system works not perfect: Sometimes you get stuck in a wall without falling.
    - An enemy should react to shootings. E.g. on screen 2, you can kill both enemies without they shoot at you.
    - Screen 4 is too heavy. The enemies attack the player without having a chance to dodge or kill them fast enough
    - Starting from the beginning is a bit frustrating. So you should make a spawnpoint system or something like that
    - What does the sound means at the beginning of a new level part?

    Keep on and make a post-compo-version!

    Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    I like the framerate. Unique for browser games. The rate at which one enemy could kill you was somewhat ridiculous, but the length of the game made up for it to a degree. Parts of it were very frustrating. Lots of points for humor; the mustache made it. The theme was very loosely tied in, though.

    Moops says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    I like that everything exploded.

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Cool fire effects! The physics could use some work overall, but fun to play!

    YSelf Tool says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Not bad, but not as solid as a jump&run-shooter should be. It's easy to get stuck in a wall/the ground, but nonetheless fun to play and as hard as it should be!

    pjchardt says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:53am

    Like the fast paced nature of the game and the exploration. However the enemies seemed far to difficult, I kept dying and felt like I could never experience the game.

    pereubu says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:40am

    rofl, insanely hard for me :D

    MunkeeBacon says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:44am

    This game, has a lot of potential. But seems like a prototype at its current stage.

    savethejets1 says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Sweet, fun stuff! I like the fire effects.

    kato9 says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Nice effort! Could use a little more polish, but the basic gameplay is there for sure. It seemed a little hard, but I was able to beat it so maybe not!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: using cached page]