Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 21 hours, 4 minutes, 51 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Voynich Experiment - Wan & Almudys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    * 26/04/2014: Unfortunately, the original game made in 48hrs does not work anymore in modern browsers. I only maintained the post-compo version - which has more levels and is compatible with Firefox.

    _______________________
    THE GAME

    The Voynich Experiment is a game that takes place in the scientific manuscripts of a mysterious 1600s scientist. Resolve the puzzles made of cells & science as the truth of evolution is revealed to you...
    Tip: finish the game to unlock an additional kitten-themed level!

    _______________________
    POST-COMPO VERSION

    Since I couldn't fit in a lot of the ideas I had for the game, I'm continuing to make new content when I feel like it. Currently the post-compo version has:
    * 8 new levels
    * 2 new cell types
    * A level selection screen
    * Some bugs and unclear things fixed
    If I eventually find that the gameplay has enough potential, maybe I'll turn this into a real game!

    _______________________
    LINKS

    Soundtrack: http://soundcloud.com/silexwan/ld24
    Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhjHe0FHlEg

    View Wan & Almudys's journal. | View all entries by Wan & Almudys

    Ratings

    Overall4.34
    Coolness75%
    #5Audio4.13
    #11Mood4.05
    #19Fun3.84
    #23Theme4.08
    #30Graphics4.21
    #75Innovation3.63
    #105Humor3.09

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Wow, this is the most amazing entry I've played yet. The design was super, the gameplay was great, too. Kittens were awesome! :D

    JonRB says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Love it! I like the whole concept and the graphics are really well done. I did struggle a bit with learning to do things on my own but it's relatively intuitive!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:04am

    I have just now managed to pick myself up from the floor after a good five minutes of laughing various body parts off.

    You deserve a medal.

    Skulls says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Great game, but when I played it firefox went up to 51% CPU usage about half way through. I switched to chrome but shifting my size with v didn't seem to work. I can tell it's a good game though just wish I could play it properly :(

    Nick Knowlson says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36am

    Best music, period. The rest of it is great too but I especially loved the music.

    You're the only one I've given 5 stars across the board to, congrats!

    hnjslater says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Very good. First game I've played and wanted to finish so far. I would recomend chrome/chromium. I started off in firefox and it was waaay to slow to play on my laptop.

    dvdking says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Graphics, story, gameplay, everything was great.
    It must be something bigger in future.

    Wan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39am

    @Skulls: Indeed the game is laggy with Firefox unfortunately, mainly because of the libs I used. Regarding the controls, it's not "v" but "down arrow", I didn't notice the symbol ambiguity, sorry!

    kidanger says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Very nice ! It's cool you added a bonus level.

    vilya says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Brilliant! Love the look, the music, the unobtrusive tutorials, everything. The only complaint is that it's a little tricky to position yourself over the narrow holes so you can drop through. Everything else: brilliant!

    Kralle says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Lags on third level when using chrome, didnt work with ie

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    Great game. As others have said the music was a great choice. I also thought the faux diary was a nice touch. (Though you should go through and fix the many typos it contains.) The gameplay itself was OK. I would like to see some more interesting puzzles, though, which really make the player think. There were also a handful of bugs with the collision detection, especially when rotating the cells. But all in all I thought this was a great entry, nice work!

    arzi says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Quite amazing, I love the atmosphere of the game. Very nice art too, and an extra point for the hidden level ;)

    MortalWombat says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    I liked it even though it's quite rough around some edges (e.g. the collision detection edges ;)).

    The one thing it lacks, in my opinion, is some interesting level designs and a proper ending (apart from the "improper" ending which was lovely :D).

    Lovely audio and graphics, though!

    Joker says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:26pm

    Great art, interesting gameplay. It's terribly laggy in firefox though.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:44am

    Aside from the graphics, sound, and over-all mood. I also liked the gameplay mechanics. Although simple, they still forced me to stop and concentrate. Now that's a beginning of a good puzzle game. Looking forward to seeing more of this in the future!

    tdsmale says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:51am

    Best I've played so far! :)

    zx81 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    with i.e. & firefox not working.

    One of the most interesting games, although Ive had some problems with starting the game. The music is really good.

    cappelnord says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    epic good. Favourite so far.

    BumpkinRich says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    Thanks Wan. Really enjoyed playing through your experiment. Really lovely mood.

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:26pm

    A very nice puzzle game, I'd like to see it expanded in the future. Maybe a different control for rotate, the game didn't respond well to me pressing down+left+right together and would only rotate me like 25% of the time.

    Zed says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    It won't load for me, just gets stuck on 'loading libraries', which is really sad because, from the looks of things, it's amazing.

    saguaro says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Great game! I'd love to see this one expanded.

    yosh says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:41pm

    Well that's an amazing HTML5 game. I really really liked the hand-written style of the graphics, put in that a old-fashion scroll.
    Good job!

    raohmaru says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    This game is amazing!!

    Haddy22 says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Fantastic! Great job- the design was inspired- the evolution theme fit 5/5 and I love the old paper element fitting seamlessly into the BG on the page. Very cool game- nice 1

    Igor Silva says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:59am

    great, the history is amazing, the graphics is very good, congratulations, i loved this game

    deepnight says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    That's a really impressive work for a 48h game :) The overall art is great and level design is good. I especially liked the music, works great!

    Good job :)

    frogmaster says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    Everyting is so delicious in this game: humor, fun, graphics, audio, attitude to theme! Fantastic!

    Ronny says ...
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    This menu music sounds a lot like star wars :D Currently playing seems very very cool.

    Sep 21, 2012 @ 7:21pm

    Well, that was really fun to play. I love the art style of the paper textures, the combination idea and the music is just wonderful.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]