Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 30 minutes, 58 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 30 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    A.D.A.P.T.S - Nik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A.D.A.P.T.S - Aliens Drive Automobiles Poorly To Survive

    Journey into space and conquer your enemies! Steal their parts to adapt to the increasing level of difficulty as they create better spacecraft! Can you survive?

    Engine Used: Game Maker

    View Nik's journal. | View all entries by Nik

    Ratings

    #54Fun3.59
    #91Overall3.57
    #105Graphics3.76
    #149Audio3.11
    #203Mood2.97
    #320Innovation2.97
    #394Theme2.86
    #440Humor1.88
    #706Coolness41%

    Comments

    hellojed says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Hell yeah, that was awesome! Good job!

    Kortuga98 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Dat Minecraft font :D

    Great submission, though.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:38am

    So very very cool

    Phobos001 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:59am

    Now I am wondering why I didn't think of doing this. Awesome job dude!

    MasterBaldwin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:15am

    Awesome! :)

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:24am

    Nice work :D i like the idea

    davidwparker says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Sorry- I can't play this as I don't have Windows.

    gabeochoa says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Really fun, didnt realize i was supposed to choose the better parts, but once i did the game picked up and was enjoyable

    Phobos001 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:14am

    Commenting again for updated ratings. (Is that how it works? IDK)

    Erephy says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:59am

    Definitely needs a small tutorial text at start, I didn't realise I could get part of the enemies.

    Other than that, I loved the name, gameplay and the music. Excellent job.
    PS. If you add controller support in a later update, it would be legendary :)

    Nik says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Thanks everyone for the positive feedback! If anyone needs any help when playing, refer to the readme.

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:31am

    This is a really fun game .

    tdsmale says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:34am

    Controls are a bit tough to deal with, but otherwise cool! Any chance of a mac port?

    Nik says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:40am

    Currently game maker doesn't have a mac export, which kinda sucks.

    Nik says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:49am

    If you want something to beat, try and beat 1204 years with 45 kills ;) https://twitter.com/NikSudan/status/240023026245193728/photo/1/large

    TinyPlatypus says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:58am

    Really addicting but fun to play! Could have used some stars in the background, though and a tutorial.

    aitorman says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:58am

    One of the best submissions i've seen so far,great job!

    imef says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Great job!

    Citiral says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Great game, very original, looks beautiful, and the game is very fun too! One of the best submissions i've seen.

    Zombie_Plan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:35pm

    Great game! I'd love to see this a bit more fleshed out!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    Great! i loved it! the only problem really, was that my computer often froze and i lost control of the ship for a while, the computer beeps for a bit and then you regain control. really cool upgrading. :)

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    Fun Game, I like the concept too, good job.

    Nik says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    @commanderstitch That's nothing to do with the game mate ;)

    pekuja says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Pretty cool, although I wish I had radar or something, because it got a bit boring to just fly around without knowing where the other ships were.

    zkenshin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Very enjoyable. :)

    Writerman says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Great game! Fun gameplay and perfect visuals for the genre.

    jonnopon3000 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    Pretty cool little entry, the controls are smooth and the graphics are better than most, but I had issues with the moust controls - 2 or 3 mins in, the mouse seemed to unfocus, and the game stopped responding to its movement. I could still use the mouse button controls, though.

    keenblaze says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    The game is super except controls, they are good :)

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:49pm

    Runs slower than a peanut butter river in January...

    farmergnome says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Fun game!

    Barry Abrams says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Wouldn't load for some reason.

    homelinen says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Great visuals and fun to upgrade ship as you play. Really good submission.
    I dislike that almost dead ships can leave the arena. Very good otherwise.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    Pretty awesome, great graphics, great game. My one gripe is that, I know the ship gets easier to control as you play and get new stuff, but that doesn't mean the controls should be awful from the get-go. Because they are, in my opinion, very annoying at first.

    Dwellingham says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 12:50am

    It's an incredibly addicting and fun game, but it's in desperate need of a minimap. I had no issues with running the program.

    Can you beat 2300 years 66 species destroyed?

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]