Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 55 minutes, 12 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 55 minutes, 13 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evoland - ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    **Link Updated !** (will never use DropBox hosting again)

    Evoland is an action-adventure game where you start back on a very old monochromatic low-resolution computer, and then both the display technology and the gameplay rules evolve, (maybe) as they did in gaming history.



    View ncannasse's journal. | View all entries by ncannasse

    Ratings

    Overall4.38
    Coolness100%
    Theme4.45
    #13Fun3.91
    #13Mood3.97
    #17Innovation4.03
    #18Humor3.80
    #22Graphics4.31
    #39Audio3.66

    Comments

    Perry says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:28am

    The take on the theme was amazing. Love it. Art is fantastic too.

    hatingcollege says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34am

    Brilliant use of the theme. Ad banner was funny.

    Materie says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

    So, uh. I got stuck after getting inside the place with the bats. No idea where to go, can't open the next door, and I've backtracked all the way to the start in the hope of finding new opportunities, to no avail. A bit of help, mayhaps..?

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:50am

    @Materie : there's a rock to push somewhere, in case you didn't ;)

    Materie says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:14am

    Hmm, still can't find any pushable rocks. Tried walking into all five accessible rocks from all directions, but none gave way.

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Great! The text are a bit too fast to be read properly though. I would add 1 or 2 seconds...

    AdamHarte says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:59am

    Awesome game. Very interesting. That looks like a lot of work crammed into 48 hours.

    codesavage says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Wow, played this one all the way through... really nice job! Nice take on the theme, nice gameplay, fun finding secrets. Great job with very few kinks.

    K1NET1K says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:23am

    Nice use of theme. Reminds me of DLC Quest in that way

    Matt Rix says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:42am

    I had the same problem as Materie. The only clue I have is "push the rocks" but I've tried pushing all 5 rocks I can get to from all 4 directions, and none of them does anything. Maybe it's a bug?

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:07am

    @MattRix : the single rock has to be pushed down, try to push more :)

    Krobill says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:32am

    Utterly amazed by the amount of content you have included in your submission... Great little game.

    Danik says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:58am

    Really great! I like how many video game advancements you captured!
    The text goes away too fast though, I didn't have time to read it.

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14am

    For me one of the best entries.

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:22am

    Awesome job. I like your take on the theme and the execution is excellent. As others have said I would have the pop up text stay a bit longer as I often could not read it in time. I also felt the attack was too short ranged, forcing the player to get incredibly close to an enemy in order to attack. Oftentimes I would die just trying to swing my sword at something!

    polegar says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Great idea, and well realized ! Really good job, hopefully we get the smooth scrolling really fast, cause I was about to puke :D.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    loved the idea of an evolving game itself - especially a zelda typed game

    if you improve your pixelart a bit this might become quite something :)

    headchant says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    Wow. Great idea!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Amazing, really good game, best I have played so far

    agersant says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Great idea and execution.

    YopSolo says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    amazing :D

    leyeti says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    A really amazing entry.

    FoxFiesta says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    Just amazing. In 48 hours, wow.

    Vladp995 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:41pm

    Amazing game, awesome graphics :D

    Cryptix says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Nice! I like the graphics style a lot! The only bad point was the camera wasn't updating smoothly, and kept jumping.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:21pm

    Really cool game! Very nice use of the theme :3 Maybe you should let the text stay on the screen a little longer when it pops up, I had trouble reading some of the texts and they all seemed too funny to miss :)

    michax says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:27pm

    What a great idea ! :) Loved everything except jumpy scrolling which hurted my eyes a little. Despited that i enjoyed playing it!

    mdkess says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    Great use of the theme! I really can't criticize - except to say that the choppy scrolling part was a bit annoying, and I think that save points get introduced too soon (I died a few times on the first monsters... yeah). In any case, amazing game - a great take on the theme, and well implemented too! Awesome!

    mdkess says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Err, by too soon, I meant, too late. But anyway, that's a minor criticism at best.

    dagan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    How can i get the treasure on the right top ? I think this is the last one but i can not find the key.

    dagan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    on the left*
    BTW this game is awesome !

    Misericorde says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    Best game I played so far. Brillant way to use the theme.

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    @dagan : you might need to restart the game and plan accordingly to complete it 100% ;)

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    The concept of the game upgrades is excellent, and I love the graphics.
    So it's an awesome game for the time that has been given to you.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Reminds me of DLC Quest! Nice job :)

    savethejets1 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    I love the use of the theme. Nice work!

    Biped says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Fantastic idea and execution. Well done!

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    What a clever interpretation! :) Nice work!

    Japskua says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Nice game, really good idea on the thing :-D Feels good to play.

    recursor says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    Loved this.

    khoa says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Really nice!

    kidanger says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Awesome!

    Kevin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:37pm

    Well played. I liked your use of the theme.

    Chimera says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:30am

    The dropbox link has been disabled due to high traffic.

    nuria says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:37am

    mirror it, please.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:45am

    Good game and good play around evolution theme. That's all I can say=)

    byrono says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:53am

    Link is Down :(

    BNeutral says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:56am

    Hey, I had pretty much the same idea! Although execution is way different.
    Also your dropbox link is down, I had the play the version on github.

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:48am

    Link updated, didn't knew DropBox had such serious traffic issue... will never host again there...

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:41am

    So this appeared on BoingBoing
    http://boingboing.net/2012/08/27/evoland.html

    I guess this explains the over-burdened webbuild :)

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:43am

    Perfect use of the theme, great humor too

    Citiral says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Wow, this game was amazing. *Slow Clap*

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:56am

    Amazing. I missed 5 chests, I hope there will be a walkthrough ^^ As the others mentioned, the text is not visible long enough. 5/5 in everything.

    lathomas64 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    I wish the notes about what you gained stayed a little bit longer, or you had some way to go back and read them.

    Nickolai51 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Awesome game! Really funny and brilliant art! I'd have to agree with others though, text went away a bit too quickly..

    Ragzouken says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    Great idea! I was going to complain about the scrolling, but then I saw what was going on :p The text when you unlock stuff doesn't last long enough for me to read it :( Very pretty style too :)

    darkshadow says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    Best Entry I've played yet, its not the first time I've seen the theme evolution of gaming but this is the best and most polished one I've seen yet.

    How much traffic did your dropbox get? Only asking as I've hosted my game on there, though I shouldn't worry as much as it is nowhere near as good or popular as this.

    ChronoDK says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    Clever little game! Big fan of Zelda, and this game catches many of the classic elements of the series. Good work!

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    Words cannot describe the feelings I have for this game. All I've got is that they are very very nice feelings. Amazing work.

    quasist says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Porn banner is awesome. Too bad princess has no dialoge/coin reaction

    ratking says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Aww, very nice idea. Loved the game. The notification could stay a bit longer for reading.

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Amazing take on the theme! I love the trip down memory lane, and how the much I looked forward to each aesthetic upgrade. Definitely one of the best entries I've played.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:13pm

    A great take of the theme. Complex enough to not feel like a 48-hour game.

    ryguydavis says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:13pm

    That was really enjoyable. I loved how you made me use skills I forgot I had (push ALL the rocks!)

    Eniko says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:48pm

    Really creative use of the theme, lots of fun, very well polished. I'm not sure if I can even think of anything to improve. Excellent game!

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Well this is the fourth (and counting) game I've played with this concept, but this one is certainly the most comprehensive. Amazing amount of content for 48 hours, and a very funny, enjoyable experience.

    CappaGames says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    5 Stars all around. Awesome job.

    muh_h says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39pm

    A had a similar concept for my game, but your implementation is brilliant, Gongrats

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:01am

    @everybody : sorry if the texts are too fast, I'll update the game after LD voting is done since IMHO "extended versions" are not fair :)

    Mayto says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:55am

    Awesome! I really like it :)
    Great job, 5 stars!

    Zemmi says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:47am

    That was fun, sweet entry. Funny and clever take on the theme, and looking for secrets is always cool. Didn't 100% it though, probably had to use my keys more strategically or something. 4/11 Gold Coins and 31/39 Chests, probably will come back again to do better.

    BenW says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:00am

    I had a blast playing this. I felt I like I died a little too easily early on and I feel like the later upgrades could have been spaced out better.

    dr_soda says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:21am

    Such a great take on the theme! Truly inspired! I'm very impressed with this one.

    I only wish the notifications stayed on screen longer. I often miss them.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:10am

    Wow, amazing and original idea !
    I had a lot of fun playing it. Good job !

    L says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:54am

    I'd have liked it if the graphical enhancements were more accurate (the lowest graphic level doesn't really correspond to any historical computer - speaking of which, is this a console game or a PC game?) and I was wondering about the lack of a "horizontal sprite direction" powerup, but otherwise this is relatively decent.

    pythong says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:59am

    at first i felt like getting sick from the choppy movement, but after that, it was nice. with the free movement upgrade, it was very pleasent

    TheSarcastic says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:14pm

    Best game of ludum dare 24

    MrDanH says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Awesome, great use of the theme, I just wish the sword-fighting was a little easier to aim.

    FunByJohn says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    Entertaining, hilarious, creative and pretty. :D This is really brilliant. Especially the way you unlock features along the way, I was really relieved when I got a health bar. :P And it's got just the right length for a Flash game.

    keenblaze says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    You rocks!

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Brilliant game and concept, my only real complain is that the text moves too fast, and the dungeon entrance's position made me talk there accidentally like three times afterwards.

    notnasiul says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    Brilliant. One of my favourites so far. Fits perfectly to the theme, it's interesting and entertaning. Can't ask for more! :D

    Kinokochan says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    Such a cute and clever game! I loved the way it progressed as I slowly unlocked more types of gameplay. :)

    However, I'm having the same problem as Materie and MattRix. I ran around for about 30 minutes pushing every rock from all directions (including the single rock, the group of four, and the group of six where the hidden gold piece and key are). Could not find any more rocks, despite exploring the level several more times.
    A shame, because I really want too see where this game goes!

    chuchino says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    Neat idea. The character moves a bit too slowly for my liking, though. I'm not sure if I missed a "run faster" item somewhere.

    Kinokochan says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    I took a break, tried again with the rocks and got one to move. Yay! :)

    Again, really cute and clever game! Well done!

    ramoncb says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:07am

    Amazing idea! And well executed! No doubt, one of the best! =O

    Zelen3d says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:26am

    Great! but I still can't pass the bats, euh

    Jorjon says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:18am

    Superb game :)

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:25am

    great game -- awesome graphics -- nice use of theme.

    Doft says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:38am

    Wow, this was awesome. The music did get repetitive though, and I must have died 10 times to the bats :(

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:48am

    Evolution of games is a nice interpretation of the theme. The graphics looks really nice!

    jijaweb says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:44am

    Awesome!

    Akoitre says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:29pm

    Amazing game and very good idea !!

    Nick Knowlson says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Holy crap that was incredible! Can't believe you did all that in 48 hours!

    90sml says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    The game was a lot of fun, i always was wondering what would come in the next chest. The kind of games that start hard and finishes easy. I liked it though, good job.

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Wow. Perfect. Need I say more?

    CapGrip says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:09am

    Great great game! The artwork and sounds are very cool, great use of theme. Well done!

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:40am

    Fantastic game, you pulled this off really well for 48 hours! One of my favorites for theme and execution. I beat it but was still missing three gold coins, will play through again to try to 100% :D

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:37am

    This game was brilliant on so many levels. This one of the most creative games of this event.

    Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    Great game :D

    Yakka says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Awesome! A little bit hard before the life bar but very good!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    A link through time.
    So much to say but since a lot was already written I will just say that I like the way the character's ears are moving.

    Colisan says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:53pm

    This is just a-w-e-s-o-m-e... You MUST win this ld ! Congratulation :3

    Eldaryze says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:50pm

    Reminds me DLC Quest & Upgrade Complete, a flash game.
    Really cool game, i enjoyed it !

    Codexus says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Great use of the theme. The game itself is a bit tedious. I gave up at the level up room. Dying in this game is way too brutal in the beginning before you have the save points.
    Also I lost quite some time at the rock thing.

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Really loved this one. The slow introduction of new mechanics actually makes for great game design, too!

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:11am

    At first I thought it was broken, and then I thought, "ooohhhhh!" Well-executed! But I got stuck where the NPC gives me a hint to push a rock, and there are two rocks with keyholes, but I'm not sure what to do.

    FrederickK says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    Many had the same concept, but you was you of the few who made it right.
    Great job!

    FredericRP says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Very nice game, great job !

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Wow. Just wow. This game has it all and it strikes a nerve. I literally got shivers when the music came on.

    The game is so full of great touches it's just unbelievable that everything got done in 48h. I love the date on the title screen, for example.

    This is a beautiful homage to games and their evolution, as well as Zelda, which is the greatest gaming franchise for many of us. As a game on its own it also stands tall, very well crafted and with a lot of insight.

    Congrats.

    Winner of compo?

    Maple says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:54am

    Wow. Amazing. I don't need to tell you what everyone else has been saying, so I'll stick to what I didn't like ;) Which... Isn't much at all! Basically the main thing I didn't like was how you didn't instantly respawn when you died, and you had to go through the menu to play again. Also, I don't know if it's intentional, but lol, I thought it was funny how the game got really easy with the health. An evolution in gaming if I ever saw one!

    triliyn says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    The combat was frustrating and not very fun, but otherwise this is a really nice game. Good job!

    tomhunt says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Nicely executed, and an interesting take on the evolution theme that has nothing to do with biological evolution. You, sir, get some 5s!

    ollie says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    By far my favourite game I've played from LD24. Couldn't find any flaws. I only got 7 coins and 35 chests which infuriates me though :P

    skintkingle says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    I cant believe how many fives i just gave you.

    Zccc says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Really good, but I couldn't read the text, it disappears too fast. And I cant really find all the chests...

    robcozzens says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 2:36am

    That was amazing!
    Like anything, there are a lot of tweaks that could be made, but considering the time-retraint it was fantastic!
    One thing that should have been changed was the text should stay onscreen longer.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 1:37am

    Makers of evolving game buddies! Very awesome. VERY awesome. No complaints at all, and I liked how certain things showed some satirical commentary on how games have changed. (a.k.a health = super easy)

    lekochen says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 9:50am

    This is brilliant. Thank you for making this game.

    dector says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Very nice idea. But I stuck. :(

    Qaterknan says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:26am

    Awesome! But still I can´t find anything more about fishing... Maybe there is skill system in a last chest?

    RawBits says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:25am

    This is awesome in idea and implementation too. Love the music and how you incorporated the different elements. I am missing the sound evolution though.

    monsieur_nez says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Great idea!! But I almost quit before smooth scrolling :)

    free_napalm says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    Very inspiring. This could be made for every genre. Also, every LD participant should play this to see which upgrade he has yet to perform on his game.
    My only complaint is the too boring music. The song is great, but it doesn't loop well for 20 minutes. I was hoping for a multiple song upgrade (or orchestral), but sadly, there is none.
    Great work though, one didn't even notice that you had to finish in such a short time.

    Robotic says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:57am

    Great game indeed.

    Rubsrub says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 2:52am

    It's really to deserve 1-st place

    tristamus says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 5:22am

    To add to an already long winded list,

    Great work, kept me playing. Very well done, sir.

    dredlockz says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Awesome job!
    it's funny to see some people stopped playing with the jumping camera stage, I almost did too. Should've made that just a bit less annoying, like just scroll on the sides.

    alphonse23 says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 9:58am

    Well, that was very enjoyable, except I skipped the sound effects and music. sorry. Prefer my own tunes tonight.

    numpad says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Awesome!

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    Holy crow, dude, you won! Epic job!

    ncannasse says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    Big thanks to all the people that played my game, especially the ones that give me good scores :D

    goffmog says ...
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Deserved winner! Absolute gem.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    I never noticed how much coolness affects the score...
    I thought it was a creative and cool game! Keep up the great work!

    ahm99 says ...
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    I once had an idea of making a game which started with 1D, then move on to 2D, and then 3D. But I never thought about it during this LD. The game is fun but I got stuck and Still couldn't see anything even after looking at the map file. However this was still a lot of fun. Good job :)

    ahm99 says ...
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Oh I got it now. You have to first unlock the door by spawn. If you do the other one first (the one by where where you unlock quests), you can't get all the chests. Maybe you should try to fix this. I really liked it.

    Nov 11, 2013 @ 3:37pm

    Can I say that I really, really, really hate bats now?

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]