Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 20 hours, 38 minutes, 38 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Place of Origin - evilseanbot - Jam Entry

    Press Space to advance the intro section.

    Programming, Art, Sound, Design by Sean Musgrave
    Art, Sound, Design by Chris Musgrave
    Voices by Nicholas "Eeyore" Page.

    Follow me on twitter if you do that sort of thing: @evilseanbot

    View evilseanbot's journal. | View all entries by evilseanbot

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #24Mood(Jam)3.63
    #84Audio(Jam)3.19
    #103Innovation(Jam)3.00
    #137Humor(Jam)2.20
    #147Fun(Jam)2.80
    #155Overall(Jam)2.93
    #190Graphics(Jam)2.68
    #250Theme(Jam)1.73

    Comments

    airdeck says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:28am

    This game is pretty lo-fi, but there's something about the mood that will haunt my dreams tonight...

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:46am

    I really liked the atmosphere of this game. The theme really appealed to me, and it had a certain artistic appeal even though the graphics weren't that good. I also love what you did with the music, how it sounds between the two worlds.

    However, there were some technical issues that bothered me, like seams in the artwork, etc. The movement feels really good once you are moving fast, but it's so frustratingly sluggish when you start moving. I wish the minimum speed was just tuned up a bit.

    I don't really see the "Evolution" theme in here at all.

    wizbane says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:51am

    Nice game! The graphics seem a little rough, but the horse is animated quite nicely. The music is clean and simple, and does a good job to create the introspective mood. Other than a brief mention in the intro, I can't see how the theme has been addressed.

    Mamick says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:54am

    I love the shifting mechanic and would love to see more of it. I don't really see the 'evolution' either though.

    ubear says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:21am

    I saw only white applet window after start. I'm on ubuntu 12.04, trying FF and Google Chrome.

    DaveDobson says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:31am

    I liked this; the idea of breaking out of the modern world to rainbow-land is very appealing, and the paper horse is neat. I couldn't initially figure out much to do once I made it to the alternate reality; it took me a while to realize I could switch back. That's a clever thing. Nice work!

    clavicarius says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:33am

    Good mood. Now I know what that category is for.

    The horse is fun to jump with, but there's nowhere to really let loose. I wish there had been some longer stretches where I could just jump over stuff.

    Follett says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Very moody and good innovation. Initially I though it was really weird but I became strangely accustomed to it. I really wish there was a place I could just run and do big jumps. It felt so cool going fast!

    alvivar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:19am

    In Firefox, on OSX, I can't see anything, everything overlaps :(

    batiali says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:20am

    First 5 stars on mood!

    blundis says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:48am

    I liked how you move really really slow until you get on the horse and suddenly your sprinting everywhere.

    Don't really see how it ties into evolution.

    Enjoyed it, very relaxing.

    dredlockz says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19am

    nice mood and audio, not really related to the theme tho, i think it would've been great if the parallel worlds category had won.

    Yann says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19am

    Oh noes paradize is all flat and full of grass... wait...

    Desi Quintans says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:21am

    I really enjoyed that. There were some seaming problems during movement, and I wish it was longer.

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:54am

    Is this game ending in the green screen?...good mood :)

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:04am

    Very poetic =°)

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:08am

    i love the melancholy search for a distant song, very sehnsucht...so very romantic. the volume shifts between worlds taking me ever closer to this sound...

    Switchbreak says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:29am

    I like the animation and music a lot. Is there anywhere to go after you get up on the roof of the building?

    evilseanbot says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:10am

    Thanks a lot everybody :)

    Juaxix: Green screen? It ends on a black screen after a thank you message on every machine I've tried it. If you got the thank you message than that's that :)

    Desi: Not sure what you meant by seaming problems? If you're talking about the lines on the horses body parts, they're supposed to be there, he's made of paper!

    Switchbreak: You can get on top of the Plateau. Think about imagining that the building blocking the way isn't there.

    To people asking about how it fits the theme - To me it speaks very powerfully about something that I think about evolution. About how our instincts and bodies are in many ways mismatched in time. But if you need how it relates to the theme explained to you, that means that there was it wasn't really communicated to you in the game, so I deserve your low rating in Theme. Hopefully next game we'll really successfully vulcan mind-meld? :)

    evilseanbot says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Oh and Mac users will probably have better luck on the download version, I did.

    ratking says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:04am

    Very nice, both from a technical point of view and from the mood.

    Andy Go says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:38am

    A lot of nice things here ^-^.

    The animation of the horse is quite funny, he seems to run as if he has 4 human legs .

    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:56am

    Ooh top marks for fun, this was beautiful and simple :)

    echa says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:58am

    Nice atmosphere.

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    Great game. Good mechanic. Had to finish it.

    Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:29am

    That was a really neat experience, thanks. :)

    Only one small gripe really, which is that the glass breaking sound is painful to the ears. Played with headphones on and it made me cringe.

    Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:02am

    The connection to the theme might have been a bit of a stretch, but I really enjoyed the atmosphere and sound. It's short, and maybe a little easy, but I really enjoyed it.

    infernet89 says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:36am

    Looks like more an entry for "parallel worlds" rather than evolution, but overall it's a good work!

    RawBits says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    Don't see how this game is releated to evolution but I think this would be a great start for paralell universes. :)

    A bit slow on my computer so I don't get into controls and such but I can tell you I love the animation on the horse! But what happened with the waterfall? I looked better in the 2nd blog post.

    zx81 says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    Lovely & nostalgic game.
    Thank you evilseanbot.

    TheSarcastic says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    got an error here:
    org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.nChoosePixelFormat(Native Method)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.choosePixelFormat(WindowsPeerInfo.java:52)

    Cyboot says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Theme "Parallel world" would have fit perfectly i guess.
    But good game nevertheless, very entertaining.

    MrHalfman says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    The acceleration make me feel like I was galloping on ice, and I'm not sure about the end (Do I simple should jump on the cliff ?). Finally I don't see where is the "Evolution"

    Good points : humour & music.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]