Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 4 hours, 20 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 5 hours, 8 minutes, 50 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Trinity Labs - Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game of evolutionary match 3. With a laboratory feel.

    Simple ruleset, a limited number of things to build and a single objective per level... only, there are some intentionally fuzzy edges and all is not quite as you'd expect it in any other puzzle game.

    See if you can find out what evolves at the end of level 5... and if you can keep things in order until you get there.

    An experiment in rapid pipelining and physical puzzle mechanics by Gareth Jenkins -- garethjenkins.com

    View Gareth Jenkins's journal. | View all entries by Gareth Jenkins

    Ratings

    Coolness89%
    #114Mood3.21
    #120Innovation3.51
    #125Theme3.56
    #165Audio3.02
    #170Graphics3.49
    #193Humor2.66
    #233Overall3.22
    #401Fun2.73

    Comments

    NedortGames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:30am

    It was good though it was kind of boring and didn`t a have a replayable aspect.

    And I also got some lag of the web version (chrome)

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:36am

    Looks really great.

    Brian Crick says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:37am

    Wasn't quite sure what I was doing, but it's got this great hypnotic feel.

    nicholi says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Well this is an interesting one. It brings a very cold and mysterious mood, which I like. The music is much to monotonous to play for long. After the 3rd level I had no motivation to keep playing (I would have stopped earlier if I wasn't trying to review this). The gameplay is too simplistic, but has potential. I found the easiest way to play was to throw out the spawned animals until you get the ones you want. The "byproduct" spheres were very irritating and cluttered the cells, sometimes causing problems with fusing. I found myself constantly nudging the creates to get the game to fuse them.

    Ramikaze says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:04am

    I love this game.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:39am

    Interesting concept for a puzzle game. However, I see two major flaws with it. One, as nicholi mentioned above, is that the little balls got in the way and prevented combinations from working. Two is that the lighting coming from behind the camera instead of overhead meant that I had trouble placing the animals in their cups. I would drop a dino and it would land in the wrong cup.

    Ithildin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    I liked the idea. It's reminded me to Triple Town, but with the ability to freely move the tokens.

    Responsiveness, though, could be improved a bit. At times it was difficult to place the items in the board cells.

    Sachka says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:23am

    I like that it gets messy over time. Cute "toys", nice idea.

    eyehawk says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:59am

    This is one of the most bizarre yet so weirdly addictive games I've played! It's so strange, yet I couldn't stop playing! Great game!

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:35am

    This somehow makes sense in my mind lol. The audio track really gets the mood down right.

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Very cool idea, like playing with toys. Like others mentioned, a shadow directly beneath the items would have made placing them easier.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    Interesting concept. I ran into issues getting it to work at time. but it was fun

    Gryxitl says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Oddly mesmerizing.

    goffmog says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    arrgh, very addictive but when I finally got the thing at the end I picked it up and it floated off into space and I couldn't put it in the circle :( I had issues with placing things properly, as others have mentioned but overall, a really bizarrely compelling game. Well done :)

    timtipgames says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:01am

    This is great because it is different. Unfortunately there is one or two bugs that really bothered me: Velocity on a object doesn't reset when I grab it. So it may float away while I am holding it. And (partly as a result) objects may float out of screen (I lost the final result in level 5 before I could put it onto the petri-dish due to unforeseeable velocity changes. Beside that it was a lot of fun. I changed strategies after level 3 (won't tell them as I think this exploratory part of the game is what makes it good). It's a bit tedious to get the higher level objects if you stick to the "match 3 to get 1 higher" concept. But one doesn't have to. A great puzzle game with really nice atmosphere.

    hgcummings says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:44am

    I played this to the end, but it became a bit of a death march in the last level. I never quite figured out the rules for things evolving: It seemed like sometimes three items would evolve if they only matched in colour, but not in type. I could reproduce this consistently, but it was really hard to experiment because you had to place items *very carefully* in the cells for them to evolve. It was also frustrating how items would occasionally bounce off each other and float into space while you were moving them. Nice graphics though and some neat ideas. Would like to see it polished up.

    Robotic says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:13am

    Very addictive and cute, liked the fact that it doesn't always work that well. Fun game, bravo.

    Kmad says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Great idea, I like that you've given physics to a match 3 game. I did have some trouble as it wouldn't always register that I had 3 objects of the same colour next to each other. Really interesting though and worth developing some more.

    samoojamies says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    Nice moody audio! Was a bit hard to drop dinos into the sockets. Smaller dinos maybe? A good game for kids! Improve graphics and other stuff and make an iPad version and sell it as kids game -> profit. :D

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    The small flaws I saw are already pointed out in other comments, so I'm not going to repeat. I liked the overall feel and audio, but the last level was a real pain. Good entry though!

    Teknik says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    other then the items bouncing off each other and floating away especially the last giant robot, it's a pretty fun game.

    Qaterknan says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    Later on I didnt know what to do

    Walt says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    nice. not sure the physics weren't more of a pain than a rewarding toy component. difficult to judge where objects would land. liked the music :)

    nseward says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    I couldn't put it down. Great job.

    goerp says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Man, this game is messy! Its even worse than my desk! Sometimes the rules were not so clear. Some combinations I didn't expect. A lot of things were frustrating (your first spotted human bouncing out of reach, the music after 10 minutes) but you do keep on playing. Well I think I reached the end (it didn't fit so I dont know if anything else would come). Very original!

    nosfer says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Nice idea and execution. It sucked me in for a while but "3 dotted robots equals?" was just too much for me :). I think this can be quite a good fun for children to match objects... and learn to clean after yourself (those side effect particles don't help :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]