Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 0 hours, 12 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 1 hour, 0 minutes, 35 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evolvsion - sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

    A strange portal takes you back in time and devolves you to a tiny insect. Do you have what it takes to make it back to current civilization?

    Arrow Keys move player.
    Spacebar to Jump.

    Made with:

    GameMaker Studio
    Paint.Net
    Paint


    Added HTML5 version -- no changes to actual game -- there are some differences (some sounds missing, some graphics slightly messed up) but the game plays exactly the same.

    View sP0CkEr2's journal. | View all entries by sP0CkEr2

    Ratings

    Coolness79%
    #50Theme(Jam)3.36
    #134Fun(Jam)2.87
    #136Humor(Jam)2.21
    #137Audio(Jam)2.63
    #159Mood(Jam)2.54
    #164Overall(Jam)2.89
    #176Graphics(Jam)2.87
    #227Innovation(Jam)2.16

    Comments

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    Really liked this game, thought it was very well made, only thing that bothered me was that the screen resolution went off mine because it wasn't adaptable, but that is just me being picky. I also saw your post about your family helping with the art and they have done very well. I gave this game a 4 overall, would have been 4'1/2 if it was possible :)

    Jeremy1080 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    Very fun! I can see the effort you and your family put in! Great game!

    Guardian_Bob says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:55am

    Well, it didn't work on my VM, guess DirectX doesn't like the VM. I might give it another go later on without the VM

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:19am

    it uses DX9 (GameMaker) -- cant make a linux version.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:28am

    I thought this game was really fun, and it reminded me a bit of Mario. The only thing I'm going to be picky about is that it would have been even more fun with in-level music, and not just title-screen music.

    2Creative says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:34am

    I thought a cool approach to the theme in his game. When I died a Fatal error appeared but overall very good and fun!

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:40am

    Nice job team! I liked how the movement scheme would change from level to level

    LemonTree says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:09am

    Nice game!

    ramoncb says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice game! And with good choice of props and music! =)

    Really cool know that your family helped you!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    @2creative -- not sure why is crashing for you when you die --

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:01am

    I liked the butterfly level the best, the monkey level left me too frustrated to continue.

    gnx says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:26am

    Played html5 version, it seems strangely slow.
    Nice work with the sound the though.

    Would've got a higher graphics rating, but the best tiles are from smb3 ;)

    Raptor85 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:45am

    lots of mario assets used i heard, sometimes in the "butterfly" area also the camera wouldn't pan down so it was iffy whether it was playable or not, sometimes have to f5 to reload

    ScreamRawr says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    I really liked it. I think my favorite part was when you played as the butterfly. It was interesting to play a platformer like that. GJ.

    cobrajs says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Well done guys! Very cool that you got the family involved. I did notice one small bug, though... I was on the title screen, and I walked off the edge of the screen, and I had to restart the game to get back :D

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:04am

    Ok, let me say I was hooked. I am a total hardcore platform fan and this didn't disappoint. I love the throw back Super Mario feel and you nailed the theme. The 8 bit sound was really a good touch and appreciate you sharing this gem with us.

    BTW thanks for the review.

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:07am

    the graphics are nice. In the web version, i died once, and then the camera did not followed me anymore, i tried restarting the game but it didn't work

    Maple says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:44am

    Dat monkey. Good entry! Hope to see what you can come up with next time.

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:14am

    On my first time through the butterfly didn't render.

    X-0ut says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:06am

    As mentioned can really get that mario vibe, its in the gfx I think.
    The music was very good, however there appears to be a bug in the web version in which a new instance of the music is started for each level / death but the old instance remains playing. The result is many layers of music playing out of time with each other. Other than that good job.

    CapGrip says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:18am

    It's not innovative, but it is very fun to play. I liked the music and sounds. Pause button is not working and sometimes crashes game, like starting the second level with only background, no character and no enemies. But it´s a cool game, well done.

    Nile says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    Fun, but couldn't see the top part of the game on my screen (I'm using the latest version of Chrome), meaning I couldn't see the score & sometimes my character. Other than that, though, nice tie to the theme.

    Spaceoff says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    Pretty well done. Kinda felt like the same thing with most stages of evolution, the ripped sprites and sounds really subtracted from the game too, but overall it was fine.

    DaveDobson says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Good game - nice graphics, good mechanics, interesting varied levels (though very Mario style). I got stuck on the monkey level - it was frustrating trying to jump from platform to platform across the tree trunks, and I couldn't figure out how to get to the bananas that I couldn't jump to. Good sounds, good programming, good art - nice work.

    Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    Nice graphics, I liked the changes in gameplay from level to level

    Teknik says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    ok game. had a bug when i was on the level you play as a monkey. fell into the water and it didn't reload me properly the screen went to the top of the level and didn't seem like i had control of anything. other wise the game was decent.

    heuermh says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Really liked the character sprite from the first level, then he/she/it went away! Not sure what was going on with that monkey.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]