Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 12 hours, 45 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 12 hours, 45 minutes, 36 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evolution VS 1000 kittens - Citiral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    PLEASE PLAY THE POST-COMPO VERSION. IT REMOVES THE GRIND FROM THE GAME BY MAKING EVERYTHING CHEAPER. (It's genuinely fun now, I swear!)

    My first Ludum Dare entry.

    You control a race of dinosaurs, who are constantly attacked by the "Thousand Kittens". It's time to evolve and kill them once and for all, the save your race from extinction by to evil "Thousand Kittens".

    WASD/ZQSD/Arrow keys to move, LMB or space to shoot. In control scheme 1, use the mouse to aim, in control scheme 2, use the K/L keys to rotate. Eat the dead kittens to gain their DNA in order to upgrade yourself.
    Press enter/escape/P to return to the upgrade screen when playing.

    I hope you have fun playing it! :)

    View Citiral's journal. | View all entries by Citiral

    Ratings

    #37Theme3.94
    #43Humor3.54
    #183Mood3.00
    #188Overall3.33
    #230Audio2.81
    #255Fun3.00
    #399Innovation2.78
    #488Graphics2.59
    #601Coolness47%

    Comments

    Bemmu says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 4:28pm

    Best LD game so far. At first the controls were confusing. Awesome that you managed to get a "tech tree" included, I kept playing longer than I intended just to see the effects of the different upgrades.

    surreal_whale says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    Quite fun, although I never worked out where the dinosaurs hitbox was. I approve of the use of 1000 kittens :)

    panzermancer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:48am

    After a while it would lag from all the kittens, somehow. I could only get to about 600 before I stopped. It was pretty fun while it lasted, though.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:55am

    I like the upgrade menu a lot. At first the keyboard control map confused me.

    danlthemanl says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:31am

    Pretty fun, I was quite confused with the hole stat tree stuff though.

    toteus says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:41am

    good game i liked it

    BenW says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Neat game. I couldn't bring myself to kill all 1000 kittens but I did make it about half way.

    MasterBaldwin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36am

    Loved every bloody kitty death :) And I voted for 1000 Kittens lol

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    I think the game starts out a little too slow, but rapidly becomes overwhelming. It's not as much fun when it takes so much dna to upgrade your dino, it feels like you're progressing much slower than the kittens. Maybe add intermediate upgrade stages, and make the current ones more powerful? I also didn't get what implications the reproduce/generations functionality had? It felt more like a way to just escape a hairy situation. It was also a little hard to reach the P-button while playing.
    I liked the upgrade menu, nice with tech trees. The tune was pretty catchy, nice work!

    Wan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:52pm

    Pretty amusing! It starts pretty slow, but the evolution trees are clever and the gameplay cool enough to keep the player entertained.

    bluefoxgs says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    haha, I had this idea for 1000 kittens but when evolution came up I didn't think of this :) well done. The controls confused the hell out of me but once I got them down it was a really fun game.

    atla says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    Well looks like a nice game. But as far as i can remember i've seen screenshots of THIS game the day before the contest started?

    Citiral says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    @Atla, that would be impossible, because I made this game during the competition. It has some generic colors though, maybe you saw something that used kind of the same color palette?

    atla says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    No i saw someone posting a screenshot of a dinosaur and a kitten. And it had the exact same colors and graphics. And i'm pretty sure it was the evening (german time) before the competition started and the final theme was announced. That's why i wondered.

    Citiral says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    Strange.. I swear I made this game, and the graphics, myself. Do they keep IRC logs, maybe someone could try and find that screenshot? (also, dinosaurs usually have the same color, you don't see a pink dinosaur running around that often, :p.)

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    Really clever game design in theory, but I have to say the gameplay gets very repetitive after just a short time. Not especially strong on the visual front (that lime green color is blinding) but the music is pretty good. Overall, good effort but could use some refinement.

    thecowfactory says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:52pm

    I killed about 800 before i got bored...

    CdrJameson says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Once the odd controls were understood I rather enjoyed it. Upgrades come too slowly (and fire rate is too slow), but nice Robotron/Infinity Blade cross idea. Bit cheeky with the kittens! Getting an upgrade tree in there was a bit of a coup.

    pardue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Interesting use of the theme... I like the dark humor. :)

    gbellgames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    I liked the use of the theme, but the game is too slow to be any fun. It takes toooooo long to be able to evolute, and in the beginning when you get overwhelmed by the kittens, you don't have much to do.

    The controls work very well, the scheme with wasd+mouse is pretty good.

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Awesome in-joke idea! :D

    Takes way too long to evolve though. I lost the fun before i got my second mutation.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    Really enjoyed playing this one. It reminded me a bit of Infinity Blade, with the generations and stuff. Very good game overall.

    X-0ut says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Easy selection of evolution, a little slow paced in the shooting department but I still went on to destroy 1000 kittens :D

    Maxzilla60 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:53pm

    Ollie, you and your game rocks! ;D

    pighead10 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Quite fun, although it was a little slow paced.

    tumoxep says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Awesome, but controls are bit confusing.
    Thanks for review.

    timtipgames says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    I liked the tech tree. Played the compo version for rating. I understand why you made things cheaper in the post-compo version :) Overall I think its a good game.

    Zabot says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:51am

    Good job squeezing in the kittens. Much approve.

    moonmagic says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:17am

    I loved the mechanics and menus (!) of this game, and the slew of kittens that happened (ha). I wish it was a little faster? I just want to stack them kittens up.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]