Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 20 hours, 32 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Go Darwin - StabAlarash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Darwin needs to prove his Theory of Evolution
    So he decides to force dodos to evolve...
    ...By shooting at them !!!

    View StabAlarash's journal. | View all entries by StabAlarash

    Ratings

    Coolness88%
    #8Humor4.01
    #27Fun3.80
    #28Graphics4.22
    #54Overall3.71
    #70Mood3.47
    #103Theme3.66
    #140Audio3.15
    #585Innovation2.34

    Comments

    Misericorde says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:27pm

    Dodo are amazing !
    Art and gameplay are really great ! Your game is awesome.
    Too bad for the lack of sound.
    I just saw the huge purple one but a Dodroïd killed me :(

    Misericorde says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    Ok, I played the latest version with the sounds.
    And I managed to finish it at last.
    Still awesome.

    LogGiant says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:47am

    I seriously loved this game. I was hoping you would end it the way you did. This is amazing!
    The sounds make it sooo much cooler, too!

    Misericorde says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:42am

    It's really awesome.
    The idea is fun, the gameplay addictive,
    and the dodos super-cute.

    Fadobo says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Great arcade-like shooter. Lovely sprites!

    adventureloop says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    Dodo is awesome.

    ChronoDK says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    Haha, this is a funny take on the theme. Bonus for humor!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    Haha. Very funny game. Although it is not that innovative, I still enjoyed it.

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    Nice! I think this is super fun. Great graphics and sound. Will bookmark this one.

    emveyh says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    That was fun :D Played it till the end. Graphics are awesome!

    agersant says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Very cute dodo and difficulty very well-balanced (this is very rare in LD games!). Audio is a bit disappointing.

    Brassawiking says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    A nice polished arcade shooter, perfectly executed. Only issue I got with it is that it got to crowded, couldn't really move around that much, especially at the end. Which is bad since it makes you a sitting duck when they start shooting.

    Great humor, had a blast with it =)

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Really nice, I loved the different types of dodos. Definitely enjoyed playing this one

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    Just when i thought fat dodo looked big...

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Cute fun game. It was enjoyable seeing what new dodos would appear. The pacing was pretty good. It would be nice to add some power ups or something to jazz up the gameplay.

    Japskua says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    A decent game. Would have hoped something a little bit more clever. However, the dodos DO evolve, which is good :-)

    gustavodort says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    Man, the art is amazing!
    I love how the dodos evolve and get harder and harder to beat!

    The humor is awesome and you've got yourself an awesome game, right there :)

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    Really good fun, love the pixel art style as well. Sounds are right on and the music has that 90s console vibe. I was defeated by the giant purple dodo. It just kept on coming! :(

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    Ok, I laughed a lot. I loved the premise, dodo sprites & sounds. My life is better having played that game.

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    Ahaha so simple, yet so fun!! Nice game!

    Materie says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:56pm

    Great game :D

    My only complaint is an explanation as to how they evolve when you kill them. Say, something like "Darwin gave them a potion which boosts their mutation rate".

    daydalus says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:21am

    Fun shooter here, nice pixel graphics and sound ;) The various Dodos were pretty funny.

    mdkess says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:23am

    Haha! This is great, I love it. simple concept, well executed and polished. Good work.

    Priapus says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:33am

    Very satisfying to kill me some dumb dodos! Love the cylons :p

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:56am

    MegaDodo!
    This game is awesome. I like how even after they evolve, the previous species is still mixed in.

    LuizHGMonclar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:05am

    Hahahahaha, so fun! Thumbs up for HUGE amount of character art... and might I say pretty freaking well done art :}

    I loved it, simple, direct and fun. Dodos.

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:22am

    Great game. Evolution of the dodos folows the theme perfectly. i wanted to keep playing to see the next evolution.

    turkwise says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:32am

    There have been a lot of these dual-stick-shooter sort of games this contest. This is my favorite so far.

    eyehawk says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:11am

    Hilarious game dude! Great gameplay and great use of the theme - it made me laugh out loud :)

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:59am

    Ha, funf little twin-stick-shooter! I love the enemy-variety, and you nailed the "empty look" on the Dodo's eyes :)

    munchor says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:05am

    The graphics are amazing, it's a simple game type, but it was greatly adapted to the theme "Evolution", nice job :)

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Darwin versus DODO & guns evolution!! it could be another name hahaha
    I like this kind of game

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Good game play and funny!

    K1NET1K says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    the best representation of a 'darwin' game

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:47am

    MEGA DODO!!!

    benderbinary says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:26am

    Expendables 3: King Dodo Kong vs Darwin

    theomnis says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:11am

    Awesome but short. I almost didnt make it.

    Nile says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:34am

    Creative concept, was extremely fun to play, awesome graphics and the chicken sound was extremely annoying. Definitely 5 stars for humor.

    dengzo says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    good humor ;)

    scoots says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Good game! :D

    wlad says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    most-finnished game i've rated so far! really nice. actually i finished the purple one first round by accident. second and third round i failed though. great game!

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    I laughed when that 800 pound pink dodo showed up. Great little game; great graphics, funny and well-thought theme. Really liked it.

    gritfish says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:56pm

    Great fun. Gets challenging once the dodos start shooting back! Really nice design and animation on the dodos.

    free_napalm says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:29pm

    Well done.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]