Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 6 minutes, 4 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 6 minutes, 5 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Obelisk Preserver - Nanolotl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Obelisk Preserver is a survival first person shooter. Protect your obelisk from 8 waves of ever evolving enemies.

    Like the game? Visit the official Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/ObeliskPreserver

    View Nanolotl's journal. | View all entries by Nanolotl

    Ratings

    #7Fun4.06
    #23Overall3.88
    #56Graphics4.06
    #69Theme3.81
    #71Mood3.46
    #234Audio2.80
    #332Innovation2.94
    #888Coolness30%

    Comments

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 3:40pm

    Really awesome game!
    Love the graphics and the upgrade system!
    The camera feels like it is zommed in a little bit though

    dvdking says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    I like it.
    Very nice upgrade system.

    NateNaterson says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Draw distance was a little too low but everything else was very nice! I love the upgrade system! Beautiful graphical style albeit basic.

    Cthulhu says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    You know what? Your game rocks!! :D
    I loved the final boss so much!

    A little music would be great.

    Desi Quintans says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:38am

    FOV was very narrow, so I couldn't play for long. Fun while it lasted.

    sev_inf says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 1:15pm

    Good game, liked the graphics style. Would be better if there will be some background music.

    mdkess says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    Didn't leave a rating - no Windows box available - but I just wanted to drop in and say that your screenshots look really cool! I'd love a youtube video, so I can see what I'm missing out on.

    CapGrip says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    great game, congrats

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    pretty basic, but very entertaining

    metadept says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Excellent game. I think it's got all the right elements, but needs some balance tweaks to make it less frustrating. The specific things that bothered me were:
    -the FOV is definitely too narrow, as others have mentioned. became very hard to see monsters before they reached the obelisk
    -monster hitboxes not always accurate (shooting tall ones in the top of the head doesn't seem to work?)
    -darwinium pickup range could be increased quite a bit
    -maybe make it a bit easier to see projectiles and the battlefield in general. a minimap/radar would also help with this
    Great job, though! Would like to see this refined further, could become really addictive.

    eli says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 11:48am

    Really hard! But fun. Great feel to it.

    Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Nice solid work! Love the slimes and the later enemies, they are simple and efficient. It's also nice how you can see the progression to the more difficult enemies.

    Pacing could use a little work. For the first 30seconds nothing happens, and you are trained to go out into the world, which will bite you in the ass later when i gets more difficult.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]