Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 21 hours, 26 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 21 hours, 26 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Legacy Bird - Farfin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Legacy Bird
    -A ginormo sword clone, dating sim, rougue-like.

    6 different enemies to cut
    5 different girls to smooch
    12 different weapons to cut with

    absolutely everything becomes available after floor 10

    Happy Smooching!

    View Farfin's journal. | View all entries by Farfin

    Ratings

    #40Humor3.57
    #44Overall3.75
    #45Theme3.92
    #46Graphics4.13
    #49Fun3.64
    #97Mood3.32
    #115Innovation3.52
    #301Audio2.60
    #691Coolness42%

    Comments

    Zemmi says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Awesome. I had a lot of fun with yours. I was really hoping for an ending and I didn't see that "everything available after 10" comment so I kept playing for, well let's just say a long time. But ya, once I passed 10 it dried up a bit cuz my stamina was so high and enemies weren't getting any harder.

    The other thing I didn't like was coming into a room vertically when enemies were right there. At least sideways I could walk in pointy-end first but up and down kept resulting in me being hurt a little unfairly.

    On the plus side, the enemy AI fit well with the one directional attacks. Backing them down a hallway then turning to run away(if I didn't want to stab them) felt cool, like a knife showdown in an alley. So ya, I liked it and kind of want to make a similar game now, but an ending would have been nice just so I had something to aim for.

    onehappygiant says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:13am

    Haha I love the flying pants! Solid game, although it would be nice if killing the enemies meant something.

    I also seemed to always run into girls with stats inferior to mine.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    I loved this entry, the breeding for stats aspect made it very engaging and the gameplay different with each play-through. The quirky, pastel-toned graphics and minimal audio really added to the mood! Will definitely be playing it through to reach floor 10 :D

    danlthemanl says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Hilarious.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    haha this was cool! Really fun going around i loved a few ladders. was good.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    Cool idea, it used the theme really well and it is something I've never seen before. Really hard game.

    DevWouter says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    Really enjoyable game. Though I wish the girls were a bit more higher in stats (seems you have a chance it is equal, lower or above which turns out to be more often below than above).

    Zemmi says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    Just wanted to add I'm glad you liked my tiles because I based them off your hedges when you posted that screenshot.

    BrothersT says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Really nice game, with awesome pixel graphics. It's a shame that the controls are so infuriating! You really need to be able to go diagonally, or at least make it so that the last key pressed takes precendence.

    VAMflax says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    I like!

    Controls are a bit squiffy. Up-down seem to override left-right. But no big problem.

    Love the gfx. Nice one!

    Kumquat says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Great game! Nice color scheme, great to be able to procreate, and wonderful sprites. The game is quite perfect as it is, maybe the controls could be a bit smoother. I also played other games on your webpage, nice stuff you are making :).

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    like everything you make, this is beautiful

    i love the words you use--"Do you love to climb?" a small touch but elegantly above the norm

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    i like the semi-puzzular Jousty feel of the combat too. AHHH this is so cute!!!

    keenblaze says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Love the game and duck love :D

    lekochen says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    Adorable. It would be nice if you add an ending.

    Maple says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:21am

    I liked cheating on various girls simultaneously.

    Norgg says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:39am

    Cute in every way.

    Norgg says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:44am

    There's a slight bug which has caught me a couple of times. Sometimes you find a girl next to a hedge, if you decide you don't love her, she'll leave you trapped in the hedge.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:11am

    nice work :) Bravo :)

    Orni says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:25pm

    nice idea to increase stats through breeding - liked the graphic style as well
    solid game, I've enjoyed it a lot

    Ragzouken says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Do I love this humour?
    Yes

    dr_soda says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    This game is particularly fun. I did sometimes wish that the evolutions were more averages of the two parents as I sometimes found myself just inheriting all the crappy stats of my main character over and over. Without gains in speed you really are doomed.

    I once got to level 8 and kissed a girl... but then the baby spawned halfway in a wall and was stuck forever. :(

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:35pm

    It is awesome!!! Really genius idea. Here a lot of fun and humor. Really like it and maybe play it again. Well done!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:41am

    Super cute! I love the concept of kissing girls and evolving into the babies that come from it. My only complaint with that was that there were mostly girls whose stats would lower or not even change yours. I know it'd be too easy otherwise, but it was just a note. As always, your art is adorable and very inspiring. :) Great work!

    Switchbreak says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Really really fun. I wound up getting killed by something offscreen while I was moving between screens, so that was annoying, but still I like it. Would be nice if movement were faster and not restricted to one axis, and it would be nice to be able to point the sword up or down as well.

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:54am

    Do you love this girl/baby? Lol so awesome! Great stuff!

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:07pm

    I liked the game, the concept, and really liked the prompts, wierdly. The only issue I had was some odd collision detection. Sometimes, if I was too fast, I could stab an enemy, and then run through them to my death. Maybe making the enemy get knocked back more when hit would be a good idea?

    Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:31am

    I wish there was a way to hit enemies underneath or above the sprite and I walked just a little bit faster. It felts like a weird RTS holdover not to be able to face an enemy and hit it.

    khoa says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    Very nice game (and website ;) )

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    I like the minimalistic feel to the game and how anything added to the game feels perfectly placed. The combat is also done well so you have to try and position your sword between you and the monster. Some retro music might have been nice if you had the time to add it.

    Yngar says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    This game asks all the important questions.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    Do I love this game? YES! Very, very addicting. Wouldn't take much more work to become an epic release.

    I got two bugs: One, the BIG weapon glitched, left me with a lance that faced only right until I loved climbing, getting the proper BIG upon the next stage's beginning. Two, same as Norgg, had to end my game there.

    Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Nice entry, really liked the graphics

    Jezzamon says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 3:54am

    "Do you love this baby?"
    "no."

    "...Ass"

    mcc says ...
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 12:46am

    This was really cool, my only complaint is I wish there was MORE of it, which is the best complaint to have. I'd really like to see a post-compo version with "more to do" (i.e. a motivation to keep going once you have good stats, or an overall goal).

    The gender politics of this game are harrowing if you think about it

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]