Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 22 hours, 46 minutes, 52 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dojo - Zemmi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The ultimate kung-fu: Evolution.

    Your dojo has been invaded by creatures evolved well beyond your ability. Your students must procreate to defend the school! Push them into each other to begin making sweet love and swapping those tasty traits. If the students can evolve to match the invader's traits surely they can defeat it in battle, even if they die trying.



    CONTROLS:
    - CLICK and HOLD to push students away from cursor.
    - Use SCROLL WHEEL to increase range and power of push.
    - Press SPACE to pause and take time to plan and observe your student's traits.
    -Moving over a student shows their traits in the top-left corner, match the right corner.

    - CLICK doors to open and close them
    - R to restart level
    - Numpad +/- for volume control

    PLEASE NOTE:
    Just remembered that I forgot to put in lose conditions >.< if you get in a jam, glitched out, or your students were massacred, please press R.

    View Zemmi's journal. | View all entries by Zemmi

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #99Theme3.67
    #115Innovation3.52
    #132Humor2.94
    #139Mood3.13
    #237Graphics3.26
    #287Overall3.13
    #387Audio2.36
    #428Fun2.68

    Comments

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    I really like the mechanic, struggled a bit with the size of the graphics to match the shapes but the scrolling over students helped. Now you just need to add a kick ass Karate Kid style theme tune!

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:50am

    I like the premise of matching a shape by combining other shapes. The "push" mechanic made it pretty hard to do what I wanted to do.

    Lord_Fluffy says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Once I figured out how to play and what the goal was, which took a bit, I found the game to be pretty fun. The scroll wheel just scrolls the browser for me though, the game never receives the input. Good thing it's not really necessary.

    Zemmi says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:59am

    Ooops, didn't even think of it scrolling the web page, that was silly of me. Glad you found it fun though, I plan on starting a different version tomorrow night with new controls and some other changes, so hopefully that one will be a step up.

    SusanTheCat says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    My scroll wheel only made my circle bigger. Scrolling down made the web page scroll.

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    I'm stuck on level 3. Infact I'm always unsure of the breeding result, and end up trying everything I can, It feel like I missed something.

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    Really innovative and quite fun. I think if you do that new version and improve on it you could really have something amazing. But this is still definately worthy of a good rating. Nice job!

    I noticed a minor bug but didn't affect much.
    1) I was able to push the lovemakers through a couple walls and off the bottom of the screen. But really no biggy.

    mottmatt says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Once I figured out how to play it became interesting. Entering an no-win situation seems too easy, and the predator stops pursuing if there is only one unit left. Perhaps give the player a way to reproduce asexually to prevent this situation? The top unit on the right section of level 2 disappears if you push it into the door. Using a circle to push units around is unwieldy at first but ultimately it fed the sensation of being helpless as the predator charges. I especially enjoyed dodging the predator like a matador would dodge a charging bull.

    Zemmi says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:07am

    For those interested in what I aim to do with the new version I made a post http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/08/28/evolution-of-dojo/ Of course none of it is set in stone, but it should give an idea. If you like it or hate it let me know.

    @Benjamin I may reduce the number of traits, hopefully that will help with clarity. But as is breeding takes the traits from both parents and gives one of each category to each child, perhaps in combinations a little too random. Orange traits are dominant and wipe out recessive ones but when matched with another orange act the same as a recessive.

    Farfin says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Absolutely love the dojo tiles and the idea of a monster dojo. The controls can get pretty touchy though.

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    Hmm, well I couldn't beat the second stage. I guess I don't really understand how you're supposed to tell what the result is going to be when you mate two students. It seems like a pretty good (and unique) concept but right now it's not very accesible. I had some issues with students randomly disappearing as well.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:04am

    nice idea but I didn't get the offspring outcome depends on what ?

    Switchbreak says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:23pm

    Fantastic game! Super clever and fun. My one complaint is that I wish the sprites read better without having to pause and zoom in for a look at them, but providing the inspection mode is a thoughtful way to work around that problem.

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Interesting game! I love the animation/effect of the dude when he attacks a student!

    Huchickut says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Great idea and nice Graphics. Maybe you could the different forms easier to distinguish, it's really hard too see, which evolution you need.

    Teknik says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    it's really hard to tell whats going on with the traits, but otherwise a pretty fun game. loved the blood explosions of death!

    mdkess says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    Very stylish, and quite innovative. Excellent entry.

    LoneStranger says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    I like the breeding aspect, where you try to match the traits of the enemy. Not sure I like the method of bringing two entites together. The whole pushing with the mouse thing seems odd.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]