Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 13 hours, 48 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 13 hours, 48 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    2-deoxyribose - Gib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The platypus are angry, because evolution has fucked them up. So they decide to mutate their own DNA, and kick some asses before the extinction hit the race. Simple as that.

    You can choose up to 3 mutations before a game. Each of them brings some advantages, but sometimes some trouble too. Their names and effects are hidden at first, but you'll be able to unlock them by lasting at least 30s in a level.

    Try to combine the most powerful mutations to obtain the best score :)

    In game, fire with the mouse, move with the Arrow Keys or WASD, reload with CTRL or R and mute with M.


    I used Flashpunk with FlashDevelop, Photoshop and Bfxr.

    I'll probably update a bit this description tomorrow, a bit tired at the moment . Good night yo.

    View Gib's journal. | View all entries by Gib

    Ratings

    #25Humor3.72
    #41Overall3.78
    #43Fun3.67
    #55Theme3.87
    #63Mood3.51
    #146Innovation3.42
    #193Graphics3.40
    #308Audio2.58
    #791Coolness36%

    Comments

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:23am

    gah! W and A keys dont seem to work.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:50am

    Looks neat! I love the art style and the way those guys want to get bitches :D

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:44am

    A bug happen the enemy generators stopped and I am alone for so long time on shooting field :(

    But the game is so amazing I like it :)

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14am

    awesome!

    Enimal says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:26am

    It's an awesome game, congrats.

    Pitoum says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    Wonderful. True story bro.

    FredericRP says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    Great game, I wanna know every mutation !

    kidanger says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    The mutation system transform this classic shooter game into a really cool game, very nice !

    zkenshin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    Having to discover what all the evolutions are definitely hook you and makes you want to keep playing. Fun game :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:09am

    Hay, man! It's really awsome! I like humor and visual design. Really, I like geometrical animals. Animation is good too. Gameplay also very addictive and interesting. I promise you, that I beat the game later!

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Y U NO WRITE WE'RE SUPPOSED TO CLICK ON THE MUTATIONS?
    (great game)

    Colapsydo says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    platypus + mutation = great game for sure.
    Sometimes we get out of the screen and there is no way knowing if we are coming back or running away from the scene. Some arrow to indicate our position or a scrolling could be a solution.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    I didn't expect it from the main screenshot but this is an awesome game!
    loved every second of it

    darokin says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:52pm

    Great game ! I though it would be quickly boring at first but the mutations really help the whole thing. It's annoying the lack of accuracy at the beginning, but it's also what give the taste to the game, and why a 'accuracy+++++' mutation is needed ;)
    It would have been great if the previous mutations selected where memorized from level to level.
    Overall nice game !

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:53am

    Those unlockable mutations sure add a lot to the game! Found myself playing it for a lot longer than I thought I would, fun game!

    Barry Abrams says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    Great art style!

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    Great game !

    eyehawk says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:41am

    Fun game! I'm a big fan of retro style games. I always love a good geometry wars game so this was cool for me! I have a few things that would help improve:
    1. Get rid of the screen shake when you're firing
    2. Bound the player within the screen (you can float out accidently)
    3. Allow the player to fire continuously (no reloads)

    dector says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    First game I meat today with good humor.

    Gib says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:54am

    Thanks for all your feedbacks guyz o/

    Eldaryze says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:50pm

    Excellent game, very time consuming!
    Unique complaint : we should not be able to go out of the screen.

    Miltage says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Fuck yeah!

    2 things: You should prevent the player from leaving the game area and I encountered a bug where enemies would get stuck in the top left corner (0, 0)

    Other than that, awesome game.

    JaydenB says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:17am

    I really loved this! Great job for 48 hours!

    airdeck says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    I really enjoyed this one. Simple, fun, humorous, and addicting.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Whoa! Amazing style, you really nailed down the look and feel of the game.

    The idea is very cool. I'd say that it would work better if you adjust the difficulty level, or create some kind of goal. Right from the first time, I was playing for way longer than 30s and was more interested in seeing new mutations, so I kept killing myself on purpose.

    Make it harder! :D

    But nicely done! Loved all the dialogue and the mutations are also pretty clever.

    matheod says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:26am

    Nice game but neer more enemy ;)

    DaveDobson says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Fun game, well crafted, and funny. The only complaint I have is that it was really fun to discover the mutation effects, but it was so slow to do so. One modification might be that the longer you last, the more mutations you can discover? I think that would be fun. Nice work.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]