Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 0 hours, 43 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Darwin's Ark (Web) - DevoreUK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Help the Mincertrons survive! They eat, they breed, they die.

    *Very small size (quick to load) Unity game*

    You need to guide the evolution of these cute fellas through disasters including; famine, meteor showers, mean predator kittens and cooties!

    Technical stuff:
    - DNA engine
    - Parents pass DNA to children
    - Includes mutation

    View DevoreUK's journal. | View all entries by DevoreUK

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #20Theme4.12
    #42Innovation3.82
    #151Fun3.26
    #217Overall3.26
    #221Humor2.54
    #289Mood2.79
    #413Graphics2.82
    #564Audio1.50

    Comments

    Grouflon says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    I loved the experiment with simple rules concept. It's a little bit frustrating that the Mincertrons get stuck so much in the corners and in the slope.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:31pm

    Wooooooo I survived! It only took four tries but i got it...I enjoyed how this does actually portray a somewhat acurate model of evolution...

    Krobill says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Interesting concept. I just wish you could feel a little more the effect of some choices.

    DevoreUK says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Because it's a simulation of DNA there's some randomness going on. The plus is that every game will be different. The downside is that sometimes you get unlucky. You may choose Shield but then be unlucky and none of the Mincertrons evolve it.

    Thanks for playing!

    darkshadow says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Its a fun little simulator, the minimal input is challenging in its own way and there are cringing moments where the creatures can't seem to find the food or can't quite reach a mate if they are the last two. In a way it is similar to my own game (creatures evolving in a simulator) though I didn't have the time to write as complex behaviour and events as you managed.

    One possible bug I found is that the creatures got stuck in the section between the ramps.

    Shmarah says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    This game is so much fun, even if those Mincertrons can be pretty dumb. I guess that's the challenge... I really like it!

    garygreen says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39pm

    I liked the simple choices in the game and it was fun to see how your choices affected the Mincertrons. Nice graphic style too.

    diki says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:43am

    This hits the sweet spot between too little and too much choice & interaction in evolution! :) I found myself cringing in despair - when I could not do anything to help the Mincertrons _right_now_ - or exhilarated - when an evolutionary choice worked out just splendid - on several occasions. Really involving little game!

    lurkingshadow says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:34am

    great idea, has allot of fun playing. would be nice to start with a choice as nothing to do for first 30 seconds. you should use this for October challenge. i would buy it.

    nseward says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Loved it. I like how an evolved state gets rid of sexual reproduction. I think there is a glitch. I picked them to run away from predators but they started swarming the predator in mass.

    DevoreUK says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    You're right nseward the behaviour is really confusing for players. Some of the choices could be named/explained better. 'Move away from predator' really means make the Mincertrons aware of the predators position and factor this into their movement. Some of the Mincertrons will ignore this information, some will evolve to move away from them, and some (the really stupid ones) will move towards him!

    science4cake says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Awesome job!

    DevoreUK says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    @lurkingshadow I know what you mean about the first 30 seconds, I wanted the player to see the Mincertrons in their dumbest state before evolution kicked in but in hindsight I should probably get the player involved sooner.

    I didn't know about the October challenge, thanks for letting me know and thank you for the kind words, much appreciated.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Man, I'm such a sucker for simulations like this one. I just love indirect control.

    goffmog says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:31pm

    Really cool, reminds me of my entry in some ways ;) I'm planning a game based on my ld24 engine that will have more of an element of indirect control - this game gives me some good ideas and tempts me to factor evolution (or at least, a learning process) into it too.

    zazery says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:24am

    I watched in horror as my Mincertrons huddled up between the ramps starving while an impending asteroid attack was coming. Most starved before the asteroids came. 2 survived in the end.

    dr_soda says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:10pm

    I enjoyed the premise behind the game, though I did feel that the Mincertrons were really bizarrely ignoring their food, or get stuck near the ramps. They would literally be starving to death in a sea of plenty, and I wasn't sure how best to help them. Things only got a little better when I evolved the "jump" ability and they had a bit more freedom of movement.

    DevoreUK says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:12am

    Sometimes Mincertrons be stupid :)
    That's the thing with evolution sometimes a branch is bad at surviving and they get weeded out. Sometimes you need to play a few times to evolve well adapted Mincertrons!

    Thanks for playing, glad you enjoyed it.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 8:36am

    How frustrating it is to see all these Mincertrons starving when there is plenty of food just behind them.

    pardue says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    This is a fun game, I enjoyed rooting for my Mincertrons... I survived thanks to one little guy who toughed it out through some hard times. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]