Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 16 hours, 13 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Hard Life 3X - echa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Known bug: if you select gene or mutation and it is not aviable, your active skill drops to none. Please rechoose it.
    UPD. According to the post about "typo bugs", I set main game link to the bugfixed version. For very first version, go here: http://echa.spb.ru/ld/24/

    ** In every level you should achieve target score AND then you should survive for 30 seconds. **

    Without sounds, unfortunately.

    Use mouse to play. Please note, than you need create non-solo creatures to increase score multiplier.

    Here is my tips for second level (maybe spoilers):
    a) Try to create one big creature. 5x is very good. Than create solo creatures and try to survive. Do not collect more evo-points!
    b) Choose "spray" active skill. Create 13 solo creatures, than use spray to boost you score and try to survive.

    View echa's journal. | View all entries by echa

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #55Innovation3.75
    #183Fun3.18
    #255Overall3.18
    #276Theme3.14
    #500Mood2.39
    #553Graphics2.42
    #577Humor1.46
    #603Audio1.19

    Comments

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:17am

    Interesting concept and good execution. Had quite a bit of fun with this.

    littleball says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:34am

    I had fun. I found it to get quite tricky (not a bad thing)

    JokerDen says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:34am

    It's good gameplay when you playing with circle. But text part is not so good.

    ollie says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:35am

    Cool concept and pretty challenging. I couldn't get past the first level (level select only let me click the top item even when it said 27/25) but I might be missing something. Having to swipe over more than one with the things that bounce you around is a cool idea and was very well executed

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:36am

    A bit complex to understand at first, but you somehow get stick to it :)

    infernet89 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:40am

    Nice twists on typical avoider mechanic! And the graphics of complex enemies fits very good.

    PohyCZ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:41am

    Very addictive! :)

    Rellikiox says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Very challenging. Had a lots of fun.

    Zed says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    REALLY clever, but very difficult. Could've done with some music.

    reheated says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    Hard and addictive.

    LuizHGMonclar says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    Wow, I really had fun! I love these fast play-repeat games, especially when you got some upgrades to go along. Great job.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Pretty cool, wish it had some sound though.

    echa says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00am

    >Pretty cool, wish it had some sound though.
    You're right.
    I didn't have enough time. I'm glad I've made 7 levels as I wanted. )

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Agree, this is addicting. Good entry.

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:15am

    Good concept and very difficult at times

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:46am

    Great gameplay, nice work!

    Talslain says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:42am

    Interesting game and concept. A little difficult to do but still had me addicted for quite some time. Well done

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Nice complex take on the avoider-genre!

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:40am

    This game is really hard for me

    Waynetron says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:55am

    Found it way too difficult.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Loved the idea very original! Especially liked the 'health indicator'.

    gustavodort says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    The lack of sound really ruins the game man :/

    IJoshayy says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:07pm

    Good game, but it gets too difficult too quickly. Besides that this was fun.

    Brassawiking says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Really interesting to see the different creatures appear.

    whilefun says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:01am

    Interesting concept! I like the snappy/bouncy feel of the controls, and that the border got smaller if I hit it. I couldn't get the second set of genes though. But I like the idea of different stats/upgrades with each gene. Very nice!

    ahm99 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Interesting idea but I found it difficult. Nice job though.

    GreyShock says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:57am

    Insanely hard! I like the concept very much, but I can't get over the 2nd level. Did you beat your game? :o

    ChronoDK says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:23am

    A nice concept - extremely challenging!

    echa says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:49am

    GreyShock, I just haven't time to build up difficulty curve =\
    Yeah, I beat it. =)

    In second level:
    a) Try to create one big creature. 5x is very good. Than create solo creatures and try to survive. Do not collect more evo-points !]
    b) Choose "spray" active skill. Create 13 solo creatures, than use spray to boost you score and try to survive.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:53am

    Had no idea what I was doing for a while, but I got it after playing it for a while. It was pretty fun just messing around with it though. Nice!

    - Andrew

    Barry Abrams says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    Had a bit of trouble playing on a trackpad. With a regular mouse, it worked just fine. I like the feel of moving your player around. The little bit of momentum adds a ton.

    Nile says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    Very interesting and unique concept, had a lot of fun playing it. Different from every other game out there.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:00am

    Top Fun and Innovation scores from me! :-)

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:34am

    Nice game! The concept was good.

    raarlac says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Great and original concept! Spent a lot of time playing :)

    mdkess says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    Very clever game, and a fantastic take on the theme. Love it!

    FunByJohn says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:07am

    Innovation!

    Sestren says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    Fun to play and very challenging. Good job.

    pknowles says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Quite frustrating, but I had to finish it so there you go :)

    dector says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:35pm

    Little bit hard, as for me. But funny and has good and pleasant graphics.

    harusame says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Fun game but too haaard !
    Good concept !

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    I got to level 4, where it essentially got unplayable for me because of the constant following by those balls and because every touch to the edge of screen means quick death. Too hard, but I would play it even more if I had some time - so, definitely fun. Frustrating, but fun.
    Theme wise, I suspect you were waiting for 'survive' or something like that, but the mechanics are so innovative and interesting, that it doesn't really matter for me. Very good entry.

    cadin says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:01am

    Really challenging. It gets really hard to tell which circle is my character once there gets to be a few organisms on the screen. I couldn't really figure out what the Skill/Gene/Mutation settings did.
    I only made it to level 2.

    Neat idea though. I think this could be really fun with a little more polish and balance.
    Great work.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:47am

    Awesome concept! Gameplay is very addictive, but game is really hard. It's a pity that there is not any sound. Great work anyway!

    zatyka says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    Very addicting but difficult.

    jplur says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    Quite hard but a solid game that has a lot of replayability.

    Jedi says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:02am

    Seems really cool but it needs some sort of tutorial.

    Jorjon says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:43am

    A bit too hard.

    yosh says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:53am

    Really nice concept. Would be a nice mobile app!

    Walt says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:19am

    took some real patience till i got it. and never actually got very far. pretty difficult.

    mohammad says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:09am

    Didn't know what to do at start.
    Didn't know that the wall was hazardous.
    I'm not a big fan of UBERHARD games.
    But I still feel that just because I don't like the difficulty doesn't mean others will, so i'm giving it the rating it deserves.

    Teknik says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    good game, but very hard. maybe have the enemies spawn a little slower/ later.

    RipX says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:51am

    Despite the simplistic graphics, this started to feel like a more in-depth and interesting game the more that I played it. I found it quite innovative and captures the theme well and you get a sense of urgency when you collide with an entity. :)

    munchor says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:47pm

    I liked the concept very much, but it's very hard to get the trick ;)

    axcho says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Really intriguing mechanics, but maybe tuned a bit too hard at first. Would be nice to ease into it more. Worth exploring further! :)

    DWallin says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 3:00am

    A simple soundtrack//sound effects would have gone a long way for this one. Some interesting mechanics although I feel they could be better explained.

    airdeck says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 5:18am

    A little confusing at first, but a lot of fun once I got into it

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]