Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 21 hours, 59 minutes, 19 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 21 hours, 59 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    How Mosquito Became Human - SaintHeiser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This game is about brave mosquit who wants to became human. Can he fulfill his dream?

    Controls:

    Arrows - move/fly/jump
    Z - eat something
    X - climb on green bullshit at background(in penguin mode)
    Esc - exit

    View SaintHeiser's journal. | View all entries by SaintHeiser

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #25Audio3.78
    #38Overall3.79
    #44Graphics4.14
    #45Theme3.92
    #54Humor3.45
    #63Mood3.51
    #127Fun3.34
    #278Innovation3.07

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Very well done, nice Graphics and a catchy soundtrack. The Level Design is well done, but a little bit frustrating.

    sclark39 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:16am

    I wasn't able to get anywhere once I got the frog (couldn't make it up to the next platform), and I died at first as a mosquito because I went to try to eat the frog (as instructed), before discovering the ones with their tounges out are harmful.
    Cool idea, good graphics/sound. Reminds me of E.V.O. a little. :)

    LuizHGMonclar says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Absolutely loved the graphics, cutscenes, sound and mood... I'm a fool for pixel art.

    As soon as I turned into a frog I couldn't get past the huge wall to get the birds... the height of the jump just wasn't enough :(

    magicdweedoo says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:24am

    It'd be cool if you could switch the way you're facing without moving (for the frog). Other than that I like this.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:47am

    2magicdweedoo
    You can use right+up and left+up to execute hight jump in required direction.

    brita_ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:04pm

    No windows here. I'm running on linux.

    Ezzam says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    Really well made game. It took me a second to figure out the way i was supposed to be going as frog. The ending is good, too ;)

    sgehlich says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Very very nice graphics and sound, but the gameplay is quite confusing and frustating. You first tell the player to eat frogs. There are big frogs that I tried to eat, but I died. Then, after passing the big frogs, I found small frogs that I could eat.

    After that, I couldn't get any further. I couldn't find birds because I couldn't jump high enough to the next platform.

    cadin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Your screenshots look great. I wish there was a Mac version so I could try it out.

    tompudding says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:32pm

    Wow, that was awesome! Beautiful pixel art, great music and fun to play as well.

    Vordux says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34pm

    Very difficult gameplay, really reminded of some of the titles from the Amiga era. I loved the ending, it felt rewarding once I got there.

    The music was really good, again it captured some of the memories I had from Amiga titles.

    Graphics were excellent also, the overall style was fitting and enjoyable.

    Great game.

    Dakota says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34pm

    God that was hard. Love the ending. Might was not mention you have to go back as the frog.

    I also liked how the difficulty changed as you evolved. Don't know it that was intentional or not.

    shinD says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:37pm

    The controls are a bit finicky, especially with the frog lining up a proper jump is a bit too difficult. Otherwise nice job!

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    I cant go up the wall being a frog...

    reverso13 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    Great game, but controlling the frog is driving me crazy haha

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Brilliant game. Wonderful pixel art and a great sense of humour. I agree that the controls are a little tricksy sometimes but that's the challenge, right? And like other people have said, great ending as well. Really well done.

    K1NET1K says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    Nice tunes, and nice pixels

    fruitfly says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    this i actually quiet hard. nice pixel art and feel to the game. very nice controls.

    Kortuga98 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Pretty good game, graphics were excellent, nice sound, but in my opinion the frog was a bit hard to control. Otherwise, good job.

    KR-Eddie says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    I know I are what you eat, but I'm pretty sure that's not how evolution works... still, great game =)

    Cell says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    This is awesome!

    Ithildin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Graphics and music were excellent, brilliant job :)

    Gameplay was fun, too, despite the confusion with the bigger frogs at the beginning, and the need to carefully plan the jumps (in frog mode) to reach higher places.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:53am

    @KR-Eddie
    It's just my joke about avolution %)

    gustavodort says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:56am

    MAN, I LOVED THIS!

    Awesome graphics, very well used mechanics and the level design is rewarding!

    :)

    Materie says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Liked it a lot! I didn't die at penguins, but that part was a little too long considering the risk of death, in my opinion. Might want to make it a bit shorter, or safer.

    Zoomyzoom says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    I LOVE this graphic style! game was great was well!

    ramoncb says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    nice graphics and music, but I got stuck in the frog part, can't jump higher even with up+right T_T

    X-0ut says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Loved this, super 8 bit style. You got three 5 stars from me (theme, gfx, audio). Not gonna mention more because I dont want to spoil for anybody else. Great :D

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:21am

    Good stuff! But, I couldn't figure out how to get beyond the frog mode. Still, it's really impressive for 48 hours!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:20am

    If anyone stuck on the frog mode, here my solution:

    ***SPOILER***

    1) Jump into left hole, from which you fly as mosquit. You need to turn back to the start.
    2) Use long jump (left-right keys) to jump pits. And hight jump (up key) to get to the edge of "islands" between pits.
    3) At the start you can jump up on left wall. Move left and you find first birds lair.
    4) Second birds lair located slightly higher. Move to left until limit. There is you need jump up to the top platform. To do this move left to the left wall. Then do one long jump right. Now you must land on the brick. Then press left+up to execute hight left jump. Then do one long jump right. Here is second birds lair =)

    Maple says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Very very nice. It was interesting to see how each of the creatures would control, and I really liked controlling the frog.

    Spaceoff says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:24pm

    Great little game, ending was epic too. The music is decent, graphical style is great too, all in all a very nice entry.

    Adok says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Good game!

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:57am

    That was certainly very unique - can't say I've seen a mosquito evolve into a frog by eating some of them! :P The music was great, and really suited the graphic style. I enjoyed the sense of humour present throughout. :D

    aare says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    I love the design of the level and how the different mechanics changes it. The frog movement is a little bit irritating though :)

    Also, best ending evah :D

    JaJ says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    Very polished, and long too! Penguin and frog modes were a bit frustrating because of the controls. I did manage to become human... and what comes after that.

    bobiniki says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:19pm

    Wow this is my favourite game so far. And it reminds me so much to my game :D

    CapGrip says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Nice graphics and sound, I like the mechanics too, but it´s very hard to jump where I want and this makes the game a bit frustrating.

    infernet89 says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    Amazing game, best humour i've seen so far. It's fantastic how many things you did in only 48 hours!

    khoa says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Really nice game, even if controls were terrible è_é

    BMacIntosh says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Excellent game. I almost couldn't get up to the second bird nest, even with your directions. But that's about the only problem I found. Clever, and looks great!

    Cyboot says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    looks very nice.

    but seems to be very hard, I died every time at the first frogs. Maybe I am just too stupid to play the game or I am too tired. I try it tomorrow again ;)

    science4cake says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    platforming with the frog was too difficult. Otherwise looked good. Wish I could have finished it.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    If someone stuck, you can see this let's play:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rbfw-7p7hj0

    Huitre says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:31pm

    Really nice !
    Maybe put some effort on writing correct English next time !
    If you like eating cute animals, check out our game !

    RawBits says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    Nice game! The only part I didn't liked is the dog eating thing but aside from that everything is allright.

    Gabriel says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Wow, very nice! It's simple but I really couldn't let it go before I finished. And the ending is well worthy it! :D
    The dark humor is awesome, but what I really enjoyed the most was the absolutely nonsense science notion. hahaha
    The part with the frog almost made me give up, not because it's hard to control (I understand THAT is the challenge after all), but because the wall to the right (right after you become frog) is just tall enough for you to not reach it for a few pixels. It makes it seem like I was doing something wrong or the game had some bug. The tiny hole that led to the left made it look like I was going somewhere I wasn't supposed to go, so I didn't insist on that at first. Once it became clear that I had to go back, I enjoyed everything else. Congratulations, very nice entry! :D

    NeiloGD says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    I am not usually a fan of the platformery ones, but love love love this! The bad English I felt add to the humour a bit, gives it a nice feeling of not being serious. Frustrating controls for the most part, but it made it so much more rewarding when I finally completed it. Great work!

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    Making multiple con troll systems is always a challenge I am impressed you did so many.

    raarlac says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:41am

    Best use of the theme I've seen in this LD. 6/5 stars
    The game is great too! I loved how the controls are aweful while you are less evolved forms and It keeps getting better.
    Graphics and audio are great too. And that ending LOL I knew it would happen and I loled anyway.
    One of my favs :)

    mes says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:45am

    funny game :) i like how each of the creatures has different controls. very nice art and music!

    nate427 says ...
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

    A very good game. Graphics, gameplay, and theme were all there. Loved the ending.

    "You are what you eat"

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]