Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evolution Heroes - Rubsrub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The parody game about most popular old-school heroes and evolution sequence. If you doubt all music and sprites was created by me.

    View Rubsrub's journal. | View all entries by Rubsrub

    Ratings

    Coolness78%
    #49Audio3.55
    #86Graphics3.85
    #132Overall3.45
    #157Humor2.82
    #203Mood2.97
    #215Fun3.10
    #327Theme3.00
    #417Innovation2.75

    Comments

    K1NET1K says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    Great graphics especially the lighting. movement/controls felt a little slow. sounds are cheerful

    Drabiter says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:15am

    Great hard, the mechanism is kinda hard because the sprites are kinda small :)

    Kickerua says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:29am

    Cool graphics. :)
    It's so fun to see Worm Jim. :)
    A little bit annoying enemies, maybe you should disable respawn?

    jijaweb says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:16am

    I love it! Like the graphics and the music. Fun!

    leafo says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    This game looks really cool. I found it hard hitting the enemies. Great music.

    monomanio says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Wow, awesome graphics, and the sound aspect is amazing :)

    rxi says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:52pm

    As others have said the graphics were excellent. It was nice to see some familiar characters in a lower resolution form, especially with how well they were done. I enjoyed the music, too, and how it managed to link in to each character.

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    haha, this was fun game, at first I was wondering how the character looks like earthworm jim, then I noticed rest of the characters are all from videogames too.

    it was short and sweet. Really good minimalistic graphics, hitting enemies with attacks was bit hard though.

    Kmad says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    Looks good and is a decent concept, I found it a little difficult as the sprites were very small and the levels were quite crowded. It's a good effort and quite fun.

    garygreen says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    That's definitely a frustrating but fun "just one more go" type of game. Thought the graphics were well done and the fact that your character changes was a clever/nice touch.

    Dan C says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Great graphics and sound. Good use of the theme. Amazing amount of content for a 48 hour game.

    It's let down quite badly by the controls in places.

    The worst controls problem is that some of the characters cancel their attacks if you press z again too soon. This is really misleading in the case of the first character, since the attack animation plays but no damage is dealt. Took me quite a while to figure out what was going on.

    Jorjon says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    Nice one! The hit area was problematic, and I was like 5 minutes with Jim trying to hit things

    Starmen says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:52pm

    The hit detection seemed kind of broken to me. I couldn't hit anything at all.

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Good effort to integrate all these old school heroes :)
    It was hard and frustrating because of controls, but I wanted to go until the end.
    I didn't understand why sometimes, Mario dies, and sometimes, he just goes through the enemies...

    ggiraldez says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:06am

    Very nicely done! Good graphics and sound (music gets a bit annoying after a while though). The game screen is a bit small, making it difficult to see and control the character with precision in a high res monitor.

    yosh says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:11am

    You're playing the nostalgic string :D
    Controls are a bit tight but that's good overall!

    amidos2006 says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:32am

    the character reminds me of earth worm jim :)

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Great music and awesome graphics. I really like the references to Earthworm Jim, Battletoads, Sonic and Mario - I just cannot figure the long and blue one (around the middle). I liked the overall gameplay, but there seem to be some collision problems (Mario was especially frustrating), especially since controls feel a bit stiff. Checkpoints when "leveling up" feel a little arbitrary and sometimes they help, sometimes don't (see: Mario). To sum up, I'm really impressed by the look and feel - controls could use a little fixing, but this is an awesome entry anyway!

    Sestren says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:50am

    Loved the classic videogame references. The tiny graphical style was great!

    Sestren says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:10am

    Ecco the Dolphin is the second, I'm pretty sure. I'm guessing big-time on this one, but is the one before Sonic perhaps Chip or Dale from the Rescue Rangers?

    Jacic says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:54pm

    The jumping controls were a bit touchy, but it was fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]