Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 9 hours, 39 minutes, 9 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 9 hours, 39 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Moore's Game - rwos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Please use Chrome or Chromium if you have a slow machine (Firefox and Safari should also work, but may be slower).

    I'm pretty sure IE9 won't work, sorry... It's all hand-written JavaScript, no nice libraries...

    I ran out of time at the end (maybe not surprisingly) - so, there's no polish at all, and some stuff is really just badly done. Also: no audio. I hope you can still enjoy it!

    This was my first Ludum Dare - I had so much fun! I'll be doing that again, for sure! :-D

    View rwos's journal. | View all entries by rwos

    Ratings

    Coolness91%
    #112Theme3.62
    #203Mood2.97
    #226Overall3.24
    #229Innovation3.18
    #237Humor2.48
    #275Fun2.98
    #300Graphics3.11
    #587Audio1.29

    Comments

    pardue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    I really liked the idea and the transitions were well done. Sound and like you said a little more polish would of improved your game but overall, well done.

    Aceria says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    Every time I play the game and I win, I get a "You lost" screen. Very depressing :(

    I like the scrolling with the noughts and crosses game.

    vigrid says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    Nice interpretation of the theme - noone said evolution had to be present in a single game, so you made the games evolve. Well done!

    Fritzendugan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Kinda cool. I like that you used pure browser technologies (like me!). There were too many people relying on plugins or downloads for this compo. Audio would've definitely helped.

    Mouse controls would've been much better for breakout. Also, got breakout to bug out where the ball bounces straight up and down and you can't win. Should've made the bounce angle dependent upon where it hits the paddle.

    Asteroids was way too easy, you could just spin in a circle and fire bullets as fast as you could. A limit on the number of bullets on screen at once or something like that would probably have fixed that.

    Pacman controls were really buggy, I couldn't turn around. No indication of when "invulnerability" was gonna run out was frustrating.

    Collision detection on mario was weird, and jumping controls left something to be desired.

    point and click wasn't bad. Maybe add more rooms and a little bit more of a plot?

    The ray-caster was cool. Without sounds it was tough to tell what was going on. Health pickups would've been nice, and an increase on the turning speed (or use the mouse). I'm sure the ray-caster was fun to code, I like software renderers :)

    Overall, like you said, it was a game that could've greatly benefited from more polish. Looking forward for more work from you in the future

    rwos says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    @Fritzendugan: Thanks for your comments - pretty much spot-on. Just to add one thing: in breakout, you can give a x-direction drift to the ball if you move the paddle while the ball hits it.

    Filth says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    Interesting idea. Some of the levels were a bit frustrating. The breakout level especially, the ball was hard to control and sped up quite quickly.

    gamblore says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:02am

    That tic-tac-toe line printer animation is awesome. Although I won the game, and the line printer said I won, it said I lost and made me restart.

    Love the three-headed monkey. One of my favourite Monkey Island recurring gag.

    Wolf3d didn't seem to let me shoot the red blocks half the time. So I would die. :( The facial art was well done. I don't know if it is possible to beat this level.

    Nice variety of games and gameplay.

    rwos says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:09am

    @gamblore: The Wolfenstein level should be beatable, but the map is really, really large. Even I didn't find the green blocks again - and I wrote the game...

    For when the red blocks won't die - sometimes it helps to look away or go around a corner and come back.

    That's a known bug, but 48 hours weren't enough time for me to fix it...

    rwos says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

    the ENIAC-tic-tac-toe-line-printer level bug you guys are reporting is curious, however - it works on my machine[TM]

    Nidjo123 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Good idea and you did a good job realising it. I like the name! :D

    Misfit says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    Nice idea. I liked "oldschool" tic-tac-toe, but breakout was too difficult for me.

    munchor says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    I got the first person shooter, and I think you did a bad job on this last one, it's just too hard to beat it.

    Either way, I loved the way you thought of Evolution, great job :)

    nuria says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Nice idea, would be cool if it was time based a la Wario Ware, so you just get to play each game some seconds and then to the next. Overall a good entry, cheers :)

    gnx says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Looks like you managed to make a lot of different minigames.
    Unfortunately the breakout plays so slow for me I couldn't bring myself to complete it.

    Also pong has some collision detection bugs on the edge of the paddle.

    Transistion are cool though.

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Really great idea. The first level was excellent, and so well drawn that I immediately understood how the game would be. The breakout game got hard really fast, but overall really good.

    SethR says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    I found the green block!!.. at 0% life, phew, close call. Anyway, I really like the variety here and am impressed that you could do all those games in 48h. I do REALLY wish you'd just had 15 min to sfxr up some emergency sounds though, it would seriously make a HUGE difference.

    triliyn says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    A minimap would have been nice on the first-person shooter level. The second time I died I ran out of patience and gave up.
    The rest of it was really cool though! At each stage I was actually pretty excited to find out what level would be next, which is why I played the FPS level for so long.

    dwrensha says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:28am

    Brilliant! You had me at tic-tac-toe.

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Interesting idea, some of the levels felt a bit too long. Wish it had a few sound effects.

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    Awesome idea. The map in the last level is waay to big, but well, I'm astonished by the fact that you were able to do all of this with no additional libs in 48 hours. I like the game transitions and while none of games feels really polished, the overall is very playable and fun. And the size of this project, the sheer vastness of the idea... Crazy! Turn-based pacman stole my heart! :D

    Walt says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    impressive amount of work you got done there! agreeing about polish, controls are tough. great job though!

    wilbefast says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Wow, what a cool idea :) A game about the evolution of games - nice! Though of course while the concept is great, the number of games need to be made means that none of them are particularly polished :S It's the thought that counts though, especially for a 48-hour jam.

    creative630 says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Pretty cool transitions between different games. The doom and the breakout stages were really frustrating though. Good job!

    Qaterknan says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    I got lost in the Doom :( maybe a minimap could be useful. But cool.

    Nizan says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Interesting interpretation of the theme :) I enjoyed it. The Naughts and Crosses was a bit buggy though, it was saying I'd lost when I'd won. Also, the spaceship bit I flew off the screen and couldn't get back! Shame :(

    SimianLogic says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    impressive to do so much in so little time--the acceleration in the breakout level was pretty intense! I would've liked that one more if the ball's speed reset after each death.

    nseward says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    I was blown away by the amount of varied work that you did. Hats off.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    a cool idea, but i felt a lot of the 'stages' were just way too slow. but time constraints etc its fully understandable. you did a lot in a short time. good job.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]