Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 17 hours, 12 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cuboid Sandbox - cominu - Jam Entry

    Half game and half simulation, this sandbox let you discover the beauty and wilderness of the different Cuboid species fighting for food and territory control in a constantly evolving environment.

    Gameplay tip: try influencing the world placing food and cuboids by hand :D

    View cominu's journal. | View all entries by cominu

    Ratings

    Coolness76%
    #13Mood(Jam)3.81
    #16Graphics(Jam)4.42
    #17Innovation(Jam)3.80
    #23Overall(Jam)3.79
    #23Theme(Jam)3.77
    #32Audio(Jam)3.63
    #101Fun(Jam)3.05
    #158Humor(Jam)2.00

    Comments

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Fascinating! And very beautiful once it's been left to run for a while. Would be nice to be able to click on the mini-map to go directly to that location. (this PC has a slightly low-range GFX card) :)

    wlad says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Really really nice and ascinating. Although i did not understand how the war works, how it ends, who wins, how to influence it. Maybe an introduction/tutorial with limited food would be great. Or some effects showing where an attack is or who wins or kills who.

    cominu says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Thanks, I'm surely going to expand this little prototype and there will be support for low-range graphics card. We were short in time and we had to cut on configuration features.

    Capro says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Beautiful, very very beautiful.

    spriters2000 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    the best game of all the ludumdare24!

    sPe says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    Neat. Really like the overall game mechanics and visualization. Some goal/challenge, and probably a bit less sandbox, could really provide some additional motivation (having some kind of RTS in mind :D). However the camera movement is a bit sluggish here.

    FredericRP says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Very nice one, that's almost a screensaver (to watch for a long time) :D
    The camera don't go very far up, I would have loved to see the whole world closer than the minimap but from upside.

    recursor says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:33am

    Very well done! This is a refreshing idea and implementation of the theme.

    arzi says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:22am

    Really nice graphics, though a little slow on my old MBP :)

    Could perhaps be a little more game-like.

    benderbinary says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:34am

    Incredible!

    imef says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Only thing I can think of right now is wow!

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:58am

    This is lovely! Although I couldn't quite figure out what was going on

    kiwi says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:42am

    Nice evolutation, not so good game (actually I didn't found any gameplay)

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:47am

    i love the idea of spray colored cubes as colonies of bacteria, the video bloom effect is really cool and all mixed looks like pixel art, i like the way you choose to interpret the theory of life and evolution in 3d, also the mood is correct thanks to music and water drop sounds :)
    Would like there was battles between colonies haha

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:53am

    Hey that's beautiful.To make it a game you could go the opera omnia way :
    - Put some cube on a map
    - Give payer a fix ammount of food stock
    - Give player objectif in size and space ( 100+ yellow in this area, 30- red in this area )
    - The player have a limited time to fulfill the objectives
    + Make things harder with red attack blue attacke yellow attack red so player have to find some path where tribes avoid each others

    PS : Well infact that's reversed opera omnia

    NgonGames says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Feels more like a toy than a game, but over all very cool.

    Uberi says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:17pm

    Mesmerizing! But sort of confusing at first.

    Cyboot says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Ahh, i love it.
    I once created a game/simulation with a similar idea (multiplying and evolving virus) but i only used colored dots to present them. It looked good to but not so amazing and beautiful like your game/sim
    (But maybe i should continue working on my game :) )

    Take my best rating for this Ludumdare so far :)

    plule says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Very very cool. Lack of interaction is frustrating, and I'd love to see an expanded version. Also Blackreefs Pirate looks great :)

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:28am

    Such a nice art style, add some deeper game mechanics and it'd be perfect.

    monomanio says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:24pm

    Lovely art!

    Gryxitl says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    Fantastic little sim you've created. Using the different species to paint the map was a hell of a lot of fun.

    wilbefast says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:56am

    Ubuntu 10.04 64 bit: /usr/lib32/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.14' not found (required by ./CuboidSandboxLD24-linux)

    Guess I should update my operating system :S

    kato9 says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:11am

    Hooooooooly craappolla - voxel magic ahoy! The ambient occlusion and glow effects are to die for! And it's all in real time, holy crapolla x2. Wonderful simulation as well, good potentially spend a lot of time messing around with this! A+

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:53am

    SANDKINGS

    very very pretty

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:55am

    ahhhh this is fascinating

    Matt Rix says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    This is fantastic! Since it's a jam entry, there's no source... so any way you could share how you did the ambient occlusion on the cubes? They look really pretty.

    Grouflon says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Fascinating !

    mohammad says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:12pm

    CANT STOP PLAYING...SO MUCH FUN!!!

    Walt says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    real cool

    cominu says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    @matt It's the Screen space ambient occlusion shader that comes with unity, nothing special from my side :)

    Jedi says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Awesome entry! Gets 5* for Innovation, Fun and Mood. If this was a competition on which entry I spent the most time with, yours would win :).

    It would be cool if you had even more control over the simulation. Especially how big the game space is and how the creatures act. It might be nice to have a random spawn check for each food type.

    It's such a great demonstration of what computers can do with a few simple rules. :)

    cominu says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Good news for you all: looks like this experiment will become a full feature game soon :)

    jplur says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    I'm really enjoying all the 'interactive simulations' for this compo's theme. This is one of my favorites!

    Maple says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:40am

    Wow, this entry looks really nice, and has good accompanying sound. Good Job!

    Nidjo123 says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    Great mechanics! Lovely graphics and really intuitive and easy gameplay. Great job!

    kddekadenz says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    Fascinating and beautiful! And I do like that it runs fine on my old laptop with Linux and that you can export the map.

    robcozzens says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    Well that was just awesome!!
    I wish you could rotate the camera and that it moved faster, but still, I really liked it. And it was beautiful!!

    Datw says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Feels very complete and polished. The music, graphics, interface and concept fit really well together. For me, it just lacks interactivity. Well done!

    Kmad says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    Fun sandbox that looks great. Well done!

    entrusC says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    graphic looks nice :) Do you use a built in shader of unity or did you write it yourself for LD?

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    Fireworks!

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Beautiful, the glowing trails are good, and the mini-map looks as alive as the world itself! In theme it is similar to my own game but very different in execution. Some of the events are really interesting, a group of creatures exhaust their food, and are forced to go on a risky migration through a forest of other coloured food. I love games where from simple rules some complex behaviour can emerge :)

    Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    This is the most relaxing game ever! It looks so beatiful too I think I could just keep playing this forever...

    Cake&Code says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Well... that was new. The minimaps it created were usually quite incredible. I loved piling food up in one area and then when it ran out all the blocks dispersed, beautiful streaks of color.

    vilya says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 1:10am

    What a great looking game! Beautiful ambient music & sounds too.

    sfernald says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:11am

    Amazing concept and execution. More a sim than a game. Still I found it fascinating and beautiful. Great job!

    Jezzamon says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:32am

    Cool... it's not really that much of a game, in that there isn't a goal. It's still good though

    Sep 10, 2012 @ 8:34am

    Woah. I never expected I would enjoy tinkering around with this game. Haha. Love the visual aesthetic. Makes it seem very calm.

    Orni says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:02am

    I've started this - went down to get a coffee, came back up and almost dropped it.

    such a beautiful game

    also a very nice demo of natural selection through territorial dominance

    matheod says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Beatiful !!!! â¥

    Qaterknan says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    This is beautiful. Not just because of graphics but also because really clever and realistic simulation. And even it is "just" simulator, it is entertaining as complete game. Made a map with food in center and corners and watched the struggle :). Good job!

    samoojamies says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 5:19pm

    I cheered for the yellow cubes but they died :(

    pighead10 says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Left this running in the background. purty!

    GFil24 says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 6:28pm

    The site is down for me. :(
    Can somebody upload a mirror for me?

    goerp says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 6:56pm

    the posts that are advertising your game probably made your server melt. It must be really good then. I'll try again later.

    Sestren says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Quite possibly the most entrancing and soothing entry. I'm absolutely going to make a desktop background out of this.

    michax says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Looks and sounds great!

    goerp says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    It reminds me of some experiments I did years ago in Visual Basic. Iw was a load of rubbish, but something like this I had in mind. Really wonderful, visually and aurally.
    I'm glad I tried again (after the server was unreachable)

    Gornova says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    it's a shame it's only an half game, because visual are good and the main "core" of the game seems cool but.. you lack of gameplay

    tomhunt says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:37am

    I like this. The ambient soundtrack is good. The graphics look really cool. It needs a bit more gameplay to it, but I think you're definitely onto something.

    pardue says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    I like the art style!

    alexandervrs says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Yes, this looks that it could be used as a nice starting point for a game, it is really a sandbox at its current state, but looks nice. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: using cached page]