Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 18 hours, 43 minutes, 57 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Sky in the Room - Porpentine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    THOUSANDS OF HOURS OF NONSTOP VIOLENCE, SEX, DRUGS, DEPRAVITY IN A 4D ENVIRONMENT ENCOMPASSING BILLIONS OF MULTIVERSES, WITH OVER ONE THOUSAND "GAMEPLAY"

    interactive fiction | Twine | mutant positive | queer | body romance | adaptive implants | vector anxiety | Italian pop songs | meloperadramatic | surgery | molto passione

    the post-compo version is identical save for a few extra sentences and more interesting pissing

    View Porpentine's journal. | View all entries by Porpentine

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #18Mood3.92
    #90Innovation3.58
    #132Overall3.45
    #193Humor2.66
    #297Fun2.93
    #494Theme2.58
    #523Graphics2.51
    #579Audio1.33

    Comments

    magicdweedoo says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:24am

    I am going to play this.

    magicdweedoo says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:45am

    mondoooo caaaaaane!!!

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:05am

    SÃ!!!!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:07am

    Love the story! And the underlying foundation of "I don't give a crap about conventions" :P

    It seems somewhat big, I guess it'll take some time to fully explore everything.

    moonmagic says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03am

    Oh wow. I played as a girl, and it took me awhile to stop trying to "play" the game and to become the character (I'm new to IF), but I really enjoyed the jarring, hallucinatory shifts by that point (particularly the TUNNELS, fantastic). Starting with an act that has a lot of finality before the reader / player has a chance to understand her own actions is a nice touch. Thanks for making this.

    L says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:29pm

    This reminds me in a satisfying way of Thirty Flights of Loving, insofar as they both begin with in-medias-res violent action, quickly segueing to romance, then to darkness and shadow.

    The strong four-colour pixel graphics look great on the black background, and especially accentuate those passages where colour or environment is important. The sickly green city graphic in particular also calls to mind the scratchy punk worlds of Lamezone and J Chastain, which is a mental connection I'm not sure I can fully explain.

    I also like the incidental variations of the 'text interface' that arise in certain situations.

    Birchmountain says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    Not my kind of game, but i'm still very impressed that you managed to make it in just 2 days! Everything is well written and it feels very professional.

    Zed says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:21pm

    I must be too dense to understand this, because I spent pretty much the entire time wondering what was going on. Along the way, I'm pretty sure I leaked gooey brain matter out of my ears.

    The pictures were pretty, though.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:08am

    Fuck yeah, Twine! Go modern IF, go. Oh, crap, for a moment there, I totally thought it wasn't in English and the whole thing was going to make me relive Latin class. Whew.

    I love this kind of trippy surreal stuff so I know I am gonna have a good time.

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:20am

    You flick the trigger and the gun tightens, spasmodic spurts of pink light drilling into Koner's back. He orgasms to the ground, twitching in relentless priapism. He's screaming at this long-range violation, he's clutching at his swelling crotch.

    Straddling his forevercumming body you prepare for extraction.

    5/5 :D

    MadGnomeGamer says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:29am

    Awesome! Also quite shocking. I'm playing it for the second time now.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:21am

    holy shit this is fantastic. i'm still on a comedown from it.

    Chinchilla says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:01pm

    Amazeballs!

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:30am

    It was AWESOME. I liked it better than Nostrils of Flesh & clay.

    "she holds you tighter than the world's hurting you" is the awesomest phrase ever.
    Thank you :`) I identified completely and perfectly.

    I hadn't heard Patton's version of the song, I swear that guy can make 60ies songs even more haunting. Pink Cigarette pales compared to this. And after the game, omg did I freak with the connotations.
    I loved the methodical way you genderfucked both characters.

    As a queer and a game developer, full marks where applicable !!!
    Also:The meat that thing kept eating. Damn.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:32am

    edit:
    As a queer and a game developer, I AWARD THEE full marks where applicable !!!

    amodo says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:48am

    Clearly one of my favourites, if not the favourite so far.

    pbdiode says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Just not sure what to make of this. I think I like it, good job!

    johnfn says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:38pm

    That was something else. Very good storytelling. Very nice feel to the whole thing. I liked how sometimes a page would only have half of the words, and the it'd expand to show the rest when you clicked on a word. That was a nice touch.

    DevWouter says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Not my game and a small warning ahead of time might be appreciated for those at work (glad I was at home)

    TinyPlatypus says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Interesting but had to translate it from Italian and I think that may have broken it. :( However, from what I managed to read I didn't find much on the theme, but still had to scrape my mind off the floor.

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    why would you need to translate from italian when clicking on the italian translates it for you

    evilseanbot says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:02am

    I am 12 and what is this

    hah

    I really really enjoyed it. It had an immediacy and payoff/girlboner-to-effort ratio that a lot of IF doesn't

    This was amazing:

    Translucent clit sights

    Nerve trigger

    Twin clitoral refraction beams

    Pulsing stroke reload (lateral labia mechanism)

    It was funny that I was thinking of pretty much all of the listed inspirations while I was reading it (except for Scanner)

    The next LD theme should be girlboner.

    Saturnyn says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:51am

    Wow. That was ... weird. In a good way I guess. Interesting stuff you have there.

    wlad says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    Well written! Some music would be nice. Great mood though!

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    So so so good.

    infernet89 says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    Woha, so many choices in storyline in so little time. Impressive work.(inspirated by a song of Gino Paoli, i never expecting something like that)

    mdkess says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:29am

    Woah. Awesome.

    BNeutral says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    I found the contents of this game to be really disturbing.
    Reminded me of some ugly stuff.

    laaph says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Wow, very interesting, slightly disturbing, must be willing to put up with a little confusion/not understanding what is going on to play, for others wondering if they should take the time to play this, it is definitely worth a spin!

    I will admit that I haven't taken the time to rate most games, and I only checked this one out because I noticed you wrote it in Twine (I had planned to do a Ludum Dare in Twine as well).

    While I am not going to continue to play it until I explore every possible path (sorry :( ) I want to thank you for making this interesting game!

    laaph says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Also, I think there is something wrong with your source download. I thought I'd have a look ;) and when I downloaded the source, I got an .rtf with all the text and twine won't open it. My version of Twine (1.3.5, which seems to be the latest) wants a .tws file.

    I am not sure this is how you wanted to distribute your source file.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    wow. just wow. you have messed up my brain, especially during the sex scene. in a good way. I redid it a second time. It is a good contrast with all the other games.

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Source code-wise, there is nothing wrong. Twine's regular source import function bugs out when I try to import Sky (could be the Italian text at the beginning), that's why I fell back on .rtf, which is a universal text format which can be opened by most word processors.

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:45pm

    And thank you to everyone who appreciated Sky, you are why I write games.

    Maple says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:19am

    Very interesting... I really needed to piss when I was reading about the character pissing, but I couldn't go because I wanted to finish your story first. ><

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:37am

    not pissing is the highest praise i can think of!

    Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    I love how it starts with that song, love Mike Patton's cover of it (never heard the original being uneducated swine). This is at first bizarre and then brilliant, love the mood.

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:05am

    the original and most covers of it aren't really worth listening to, in my opinion. the only other version i remotely enjoy is Mina's

    lathomas64 says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    That was extremely...odd. Very Interesting IF you've made here.

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Okay, this is a very good IF. I loved it.
    That being said, you definitely should warn people about what kind of content is inside, because this is _porn_ or, at the very least, has porn elements in it, be it queer or not. And this stuff actually isn't text-only, as much as I think the graphics are really well done. This itself can be an issue for some less open-minded people, but as you might think they should go to hell, do remember that some of the players may feel uncomfortable checking your entry out in public places and not being warned beforehand. Also, many Ludum Darers here are somewhat underaged for such content.

    Nhh, forget the speech. I don't mind at all - the writing is really great, and I enjoy some good IF with erotic/trippy tint to it now and then. Text quality is of a high standard and the queerness of scenes for many can be something new and interesting. The graphics were really nice, the mood is top notch and the experience is worth diving deep into it. Great job!

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:55pm

    Thanks. This isn't porn though--it's a story that has sex in it, for the same reason many good books and films do--sex is a huge part of what makes up people's lives.

    I also find it funny that people keep telling me to warn them about the explicit content when the first line in the description says "NONSTOP VIOLENCE, SEX, DRUGS, DEPRAVITY". That may be too subtle though :3

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:52am

    @Porpentine
    It is porn according to definition in Wikipedia and to any other definition I might have seen in my life, as in "explicit portrayal of sexual subject matter". You might argue it's erotica, but it being porn is far from bad, in my opinion. Is porn bad, anyway? One just needs to be old enough to appreciate and understand it, I think.

    Regarding the warnings: I thought you may say so. However, it's not usual for a) a Ludum Dare game, b) interactive fiction game, to e.g. explicitly show visual representations of sexual organs. Well made representations, but still... :)

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:46pm

    Wow! What a trip!

    mes says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    AHAHAHA holy shit !
    excellent writing. i doubt i'll come across another entry that can top this.

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    I don't know what to think about it. Well...this is obviously great, but I feel I can't perfectly get it. It's probably because my english isn't very good...I mean...usually I can read english pretty well, but THIS english confuses me, too many words I've never met (now I sound dumb).
    Anyway, despite the fact that this is very frustrating for me, I can feel there is something strong in this game, something very sexual. The graphics are really intriguing too, and it conveys a great mood. It reminds me...something. But I'm not able to figure what it is ^^

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    it's understandable, this is more idiosyncratically written than most of my games and draws on certain hard-to-define moods and cultural backgrounds. thank you for playing it anyways :>

    Segwaytiki says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:41pm

    Oh god when did William S. Burroughs make a game?

    chuchino says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    This was intense. Gave me chills.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    If I could use words like you, I'd leave a comment that is worthy of this game.

    leafo says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    best game I've played

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]