Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 45 minutes, 39 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 45 minutes, 40 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Prance Prance Evolution - Sgt Squirrelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In "Prance Prance Revolution", you take on the role of a rancher trying to breed the perfect racehorse! A few simple mechanics make the game easy to pick up, but difficult to complete.

    View Sgt Squirrelly's journal. | View all entries by Sgt Squirrelly

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #199Theme3.35
    #318Innovation2.98
    #337Humor2.14
    #504Overall2.73
    #538Mood2.31
    #541Fun2.43
    #563Graphics2.39
    #578Audio1.35

    Comments

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:58am

    Very interesting take on the theme and quite an unusual game. Right now I did not find the game to be very fun, but I think that is partly because I don't really understand the consequences of my actions. I would try to make it easier to understand what does what and have the player make more meaningful decisions about sending horse A or horse B to race, etc. This could certainly turn into an interesting sim-game.

    NedortGames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:21am

    Graphics and animation are a dissapointment as Ive been following this game since your first post and I thought it looked good.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:26am

    Yeah, I made some poor choices with the way I designed my menus early on, and spent probably half of my time making everything work. Because of that, I didn't get to spend a lot of time polishing anything or really playing the game. Thanks for the feedback, guys. This was a really great learning experience, even if my game is a little incomplete.

    Rellikiox says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Interesting concept, but not very well executed in my opinion. While the goals are clear (get the best horse) the way to achieve them isn't. With more work it could be very good.

    panzermancer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:36am

    I didn't know you could get that kind of surgery for horses.

    http://www.64digits.com/users/Panzermancer/horsiemitosis.png

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:19am

    I crashed it by putting down all of my horses and then going to the races! Will give a more thorough review after some more playing!

    moonmagic says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:35am

    I enjoyed the rainbow horse sprites and the dizzying array of statistical options, but found myself wishing for the entire game to be a lot more ridiculous. I encountered a horse called Chevy, and I wished that it was Chevy Ray Johnston, and that caused me to wish for many silly horse names and Acme / Mariokart style random events during the race. Quite a comprehensive horse sexiness simulation attempt, though!

    robcozzens says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:40am

    I wasn't able to play it since you didn't have a web or a Mac version.

    superjoebob says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:15am

    Not bad it's a neat little tycoon game, pretty entertaining to fiddle with. I was able to get a horse with like 390 speed and wipe the floor with everyone right off the bat though :P

    Thurig says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Nice game. I like farm games, but the option to race with your horsses makes it more fun. Too bed there are no animations. My wife would love a game like this.

    timtipgames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    I actually enjoyed playing it. Although I did not like looking at it :) But the acutal game mechanics seem to be working. Good job for 48h! I fixed my game that you were unable to start btw.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    It doesn't work for me(Graphics card Apparently)

    Daisuke909 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    It could have used some refinement... maybe letting the player name the horses? Having 2 Dazzlers was a little confusing.

    whilefun says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:22am

    Clever take on evolution, I think :) The lack of audio and animations kind of made the game feel lifeless though. Also, I think I found a bug - at the end I put down all my horses and the game crashed :|

    zkenshin says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:35am

    Enjoyed the game, but I had put down two horses to free up room to breed, and I went to breed and it said I need five or less horses to crossbreed, and then crashed.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Interesting concept. I was having fun until it crashed on me. i put down half my horses and then went to breed new ones. also a indicator of which horse is yours would be nice during the races

    agersant says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Crashed on me after I put down some horses and went to breed new ones. Was fun before that (but it's hard to tell horses apart) =)

    Spelchan says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    I like the combination of horse breeding with horse racing but the gameplay was a bit lacking.

    goffmog says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    I put down all the horses, and felt bad. Then it crashed and I felt even worse. So I played it again and it's brilliant :)

    EatThePath says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Interesting idea and decent execution, but I didn't really find it that engaging. Maybe if there were more to do, or it was easier to see what all your horse's stats were compared to each other.

    zazery says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:37am

    Neat idea but it's not fun at this point but I can see it becoming fun after some tweaks. Mainly the interface needs improvement. For example, displaying the name of each horse next to them on the main screen. The racing screen is fun since watching your horse race is pretty entertaining. At first I was confused which similarly coloured horse was mine so maybe an indicator above that horse would help. Without entering the breeding screen it should be easy to tell when a horse is ready to breed. Perhaps a heart could float above the horse's head when they are ready. The put down button is kind of close to the okay button and there is no confirmation. I ended up losing a horse I wanted to keep.

    There's a lot of downtime between breeding since you can only have 6 horses. Still, overall this is a pretty cool idea.

    Porpentine says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:51am

    one thing that would improve this is a menu that listed all your horses at once in order to easily compare stats and make decisions. anyways, i'm glad to see a tycoon game in Ludum Dare, one of my favorite genres. there's something very satisfying about having a bunch of different creatures with names and characteristics that i can muck around with

    garygreen says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    Unfortunately I couldn't run the game. It gave me these errors:

    ERROR DETAILS
    Following errors were detected during this operation.
    * [02/09/2012 20:56:39] System.ArgumentException
    - Value does not fall within the expected range.
    - Source: mscorlib
    - Stack trace:
    at System.Deployment.Internal.Isolation.IDefinitionAppId.EnumAppPath()
    at System.ActivationContext.CreateFromNameAndManifests(ApplicationIdentity applicationIdentity, String[] manifestPaths)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ActivationDescription.ToActivationContext()
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)
    * [02/09/2012 20:56:43] System.ArgumentException
    - Value does not fall within the expected range.
    - Source: mscorlib
    - Stack trace:
    at System.Deployment.Internal.Isolation.IDefinitionAppId.EnumAppPath()
    at System.ActivationContext.CreateFromNameAndManifests(ApplicationIdentity applicationIdentity, String[] manifestPaths)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ActivationDescription.ToActivationContext()
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
    at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)

    Raptor85 says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:02am

    not able to play, no linux version and xna4 doesnt work under WINE

    evilseanbot says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    Neat little game. I think sound would have added a lot.

    Horse games alliance!

    sev_inf says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Good concept, but quickly becomes boring

    Kmad says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:01am

    Fun game, I like the idea and it plays well. As mentioned some animation would be nice, as would little features like the ability to name horses. Great entry though.

    vilya says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Interesting game. It's not really to my tastes but that's not your fault, it's because I've never really been a fan of this genre (I prefer more action-oriented games). I think you've done a pretty solid job with the concept.

    It could have really done with name-tags floating over the horses - I kept forgetting which was which & having to click to check. Also when starting a race, you have to basically remember the stats for the horses in order to decide which one to use; it would be good to show the full stats on that screen as well.

    infernet89 says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 11:19am

    Don't liked the need to setup just for trying it, but a horse management is a good idea. Need sound and an animation for the races!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]