Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 21 hours, 15 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Pimp my Rat ! - 90sml - Jam Entry

    Ladies and Gentlemen,
    Here is "Pimp my Rat", the story of a green rat whose only goal is to help a professor to create a new form of plant. He will have to try 3 different kinds of pills wich will change his own body and abilities to complete the professor's test sessions.

    - Platform game
    - 5 levels
    - High challenge.
    ... Be careful ! This cage is full of traps !

    Controls:
    - ARROWS : Move
    - Left SHIFT : Run
    - Space : Jump

    We hope you will have fun playing our game.
    We will post soon our post-mortem with our impressions about our first Ludum Dare experience.
    Happy Gaming to everyone :)

    View 90sml's journal. | View all entries by 90sml

    Ratings

    Coolness74%
    #81Humor(Jam)2.81
    #81Theme(Jam)3.11
    #103Audio(Jam)2.97
    #119Mood(Jam)2.79
    #123Graphics(Jam)3.26
    #166Innovation(Jam)2.63
    #186Overall(Jam)2.74
    #197Fun(Jam)2.47

    Comments

    Frib says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    The platforming was a bit frustrating, sadly :(
    Sometimes a key would get stuck until you pressed it again, but it wouldn't do the action then. Jumping over a pit without actually jumping isn't a good idea :D
    It also felt a bit jittery, especially when sprinting. Also sometimes it doesn't detect that you're eating a pill.
    And it crashed twice. Once the first time I died. And once during level 2 past the part where you get smaller. Everything but you vanished, a few seconds later everything came back, and then it crashed :(

    But the music and graphics are nice

    ABPositive03 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:26am

    It would crash here but it might be my system - still what I did play (3 levels worth) was really neat! Could use some tightening up but I'd love to see a more polished version of this.

    Really like the "night vision" level too, really made me think of how to tackle the level. Good show!

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:09am

    The graphics are nice, but the game-play is frustrating. The blind drops on the second level were particularly frustrating.

    90sml says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:10am

    Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate.

    The game is now updated (we fixed memory leaks and lots of bugs). But i'm affraid the gameplay will remain as it is.

    Thanks a lot !

    infernet89 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:52am

    Sometimes the world become all black (everything except the rat), specially over the light blue pill!
    By the way, i loved the graphic of the storyline!

    90sml says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:01am

    The black screen is a special effect that we didn't manage to custom (fade-in/fade-out) but there is a special pill that makes you see in darkness.

    Thanks for playing

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:07am

    Gameplay is a bit clunky, but the game is fun and the rat is cool. There still seems to be some bugs cause I got stuck on a black screen and then the game closed suddenly.
    Nice evolutive audio and nice loading title too

    hansolo says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:29am

    I liked the story boards, and character makes me smile :) It needs a save or checkpoint system. It was hard for me :)

    Andrei Barsan says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    First off, why 87 Mb? Could the assets really not be compressed further?

    The platforming was pretty bad and sluggish, the graphics were glitchy, the game kept jittering in an odd fashion and the level graphics weren't too polished, and kind of clashed with the rest of the style.

    90sml says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:13pm

    87Mb is mainly due to the music that we didn't manage to compress indeed.

    DevWouter says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:54pm

    87MB!? Oh dear... I guess I can write this comment while I wait for it to finish.

    You could easily reduce the size of the game by using jpg, mp3 (or ogg) next time.

    About the game it seems nice but a bit more polish would have made the game a whole lot more playable.

    science4cake says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    Loved the concept, was able to get used to the controls, but the level design needs some work.

    AMSmirnov says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    First of all, very long downloading. My speed was about 70 kb.
    Nice game. Sometimes, if you died with pressed shift, in next life you running fast, until shift doesn't pressed again.

    90sml says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    We didn't manage to make ogg or mp3 work with pygame and we really didn't want to throw away our musics :/
    Sorry for the size of the archive.

    The shift bug is puzzling, i'm pretty sure i fixed it.

    Thanks for playing and rating :)

    Skaradams

    zx81 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    nice graphic, funy story, but a little bit frustrating and lagging.
    Good work.

    kibertoad says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    Absolutely gorgeous art, however, very poor programming: it kept slowing down for no apparent reason in random places on pretty capable CPU, controls were clunky, objects meshed in a strange way.

    90sml says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:47am

    Thanks for the feedback :)
    I got to say that it was my first game so the level design and the textures are really basic.
    I hope we'll do better next time.

    Thanks for playing guys :)

    Jeremy

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:41pm

    Cool game, but needs tweaks -- blind jumps (you can't see what you're landing on) and dead ends (picking up the green pill after you get small).

    Karel says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:46pm

    I like the basic idea, but the game becomes kind of unplayable after a while (or too difficult). It also crashed somewhere just after the first blue pill.

    NgonGames says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:21pm

    game-play is frustrating.

    scoots says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:24pm

    Cool game, good work! Some more play testing might have caught the really frustrating parts, but you can only test so much in 48h. :D

    DalsGames says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    The controls was very slughis but other than that, good game :D

    mohammad says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    PHEW!
    DATS ONE BEEG FILE!
    anyway i liked the story, but i couldn't grab the pills nor get past the first level.

    brita_ says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:46am

    Nooo, this looks awesome! I want a linux version :-P
    Linux, Linux, Linux!

    90sml says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    We're working on linux version. Might come very soon :)

    90sml says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    Dear gamers,
    The link for the Linux version is now available :)

    90sml says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:50am

    - Known bug -
    Sorry, it doesn't work under Ubuntu 12 (we're trying to fix it).
    Actually, it should work under Debian and Ubuntu 10/11.

    sev_inf says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Liked idea, graphics and music, but controls are not very responsive and level design is frustratig.

    kddekadenz says ...
    Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    Get stuck at the darkness stuff.
    I do like the graphics a lot. The music was good, too.
    It was very laggy at the darkness part (~3 FPS).
    Gameplay-wise: you do nothing really new, just alter the classical platformer.

    goerp says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Good use on the theme I think and I love the mouse and the plot-pictures. Music is good as well. I did find the controls a bit hard and I must agree with the 'blind jumps'. You have to guess what to do.

    brita_ says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:05pm

    yay, Linux! Thank you. Worked out of the box here (Slackware Linux 13.37, 64bits) except for sound. It just said "Failed to load sound !" 5 times. I did, however, listen to the files in resources and I really liked them, so it's 5stars for sound anyway.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]