Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 8 hours, 26 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tad's Adventure - dalbinblue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Tad's Adventure

    TAD (Timely Adaptive Design) must navigate a harsh and unyielding environment. As he progresses he will need evolve into a stronger creature by learning new abilities, while at the same time forgetting those that help the least.
    The game is a basic shooter, with a twist. All abilities (save for basic movement) must be selected from a random list of choices. You may go completely defensive and avoid enemies rather than confront them, or take the offensive and try move to the top of each food chain. Each level you will choose two new abilities, but you must first lose one you already had. Choose carefully as each has their own benefits and weaknesses.

    Controls:
    Keyboard:
    Arrow keys - Control movement
    F - Swim (if you are not buoyant)
    D - Use your normal attack if you have one
    S - Use a special attack (if you have one and the special gauge is full)
    Space - Start and pause game

    Gamepad:
    Digital directional pad - Control movement
    (A) - Swim
    (X) - Normal attack
    (S) - Special attack
    Start - Start and pause game

    Written in C# using XNA 4.0. If you haven't run an XNA application before, you will need to install the XNA redistributable, available from Microsoft at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914. Note that you will not need to install the game itself on your machine, just unzip the archive and run the game executable.

    View dalbinblue's journal. | View all entries by dalbinblue

    Ratings

    Coolness82%
    #46Overall3.74
    #49Theme3.89
    #75Graphics3.90
    #101Fun3.43
    #120Audio3.22
    #160Mood3.08
    #247Innovation3.15
    #377Humor2.06

    Comments

    misson20000 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:27am

    Linux port, please?

    misson20000 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:29am

    I would love to play this, but I use Linux and it doesn't work under wine without mono

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:47am

    I took a tomorrow off, to recover, so I will see what I can do. I haven't used Linux in a while, and have done very little development in that area so I can't make any promises. I'll keep that in mind for the next competition.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Really fun! I suck at it, though, lol. Asking the player to choose skills to drop makes for interesting gameplay. Great job!

    gamblore says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:48am

    Why did I give up buoyancy in the second round! That ability makes the game much easier, especially paired with fast movement. Buoyancy is the best of the ability in my opinion. I wish you could re-choose the abilities to lose and gain, like at the start of a level, when you die so that you can "evolve" to meet the needs of the level. Instead I found my self guessing what would be handy/cool. Although I bet the levels are doable with out any of the traits any way.

    This was a fun game and the music was pretty good too.

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:12am

    I loved the system with getting two skills and losing one, that was really interesting and a great adaptation of the theme! Fun game too, took me a few tries but I managed to beat it! Excellent artwork for everything!

    cadin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    Your screenshots look amazing! I really wish there were a Mac version of this.

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Really liked this game. Very well executed and solid gameplay. Quite challenging though!

    _AM_ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    I downloaded the XNA redist file, but it also requires before that is installed to have "at least Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile".

    Vordux says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    Super retro game, with some excellent graphics and audio.

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Good done with the features and graphics, you have to improve sounds and music in my opinion...
    The movement should be smoother :)

    Kuulog says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    I really love the retro feel of this game. Very fun and challenging levels.

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    Great overall ! I really like your game ! Some of my habilities seems to vanish beetwen round while some other are staying... Since you have icons for each habilities you should make them appear ingame on the interface.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    Ben, after each level the game asks you to lose an existing ability before letting you choose new ones. When my brother was testing late into development he suggested that I make it more obvious that you were choosing an ability to lose. The dialogs look nearly the same, and at that point it was too late to do anything about it before the submission deadline.

    Dakota says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    Very Nice. I love the graphics and the game design is also great as well.

    madpew says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:51pm

    Good idea and a great game. Enjoyed playing it.

    Cell says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Cool. i like the graphics

    JaJ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    There was nothing I didn't like about this game, really.
    Great job!

    FoxFiesta says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    This game is rich and complete. It's nice to play !

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Fantastic, a great use of the theme. I too loved the graphics, nothing like nostalgia.

    BMacIntosh says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Great game! Looks good, sounds good, and the abilities are fun to play with.

    Sequel? :P

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Wow, nice retro graphics and gameplay, I love it!

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    @BMacIntosh Haha, not sure yet. Probably will clean the game up and expand it a bit more.

    zkenshin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:20pm

    Fun game, I enjoyed the skill/evolution system :)

    echa says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    Doesn't work for me, unfortunately.

    echa says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Ok, game works now (I just need to install XNA).

    Amazing work!

    LuizHGMonclar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:33am

    I liked it! I really sucked at it :( I wish my xbox controller was here so I could play using it, I think I'd suck a lot less :)

    great art, sound, mood and gameplay, I really liked it.

    gustavodort says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:37am

    Nice job!
    It reminds me of 16-bit games, congratulations for that :)

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Loved the art style!

    braingale says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:26am

    Sorry, I really wasn't able to get into this. This controls are awfully clumsy, ESPECIALLY without buoyancy. The relative pacing is awfully slow, and in a flash you're reduced to nothing, and the whole thing starts over again. The regular attack never worked, and I always died too fast even at the first moments to even get a chance to see if you developed anything interesting with your take on evolution. Meeeeeh ;/

    - BlueSweatshirt

    Adok says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:42am

    The best game from the compo I've played so far. Well done! The only thing I found strange is that you do not have a forward-shooting cannon by default. I only obtained it at the beginning of stage 3!

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Love the retro feel to this game. The music, sounds and graphics are spot on. I'm not very good at it, which is a shame, as I'd like to see those other levels from the screenshots. :)

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    @braingale; There's definitely some balancing issues that need to be dealt with on the "normal" attack, and while the game is solvable without buoyancy (especially if you take spikes or shocker instead), I think I need to reduce the effect of gravity so that you don't have to mash the jump button as much.

    timtipgames says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    I also liked the idea of choosing your skills as an interpretation of the theme. The game is really hard but also very enjoyable. Well done.

    Sestren says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    Not the killer seaweed! I'm having TMNT flashbacks! Difficult game, but very fun to play.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    @Sestren, hehe, I had to throw that one in. I'm a big NES nut.

    vilya says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    I couldn't seem to hit anything with the regular attack, so if I wasn't lucky enough to get an offensive ability at the start of the level I was reduced to just dodging for the whole level (I never did make it past level 1, unfortunately). That said, it seems like a pretty solid game - and I do like side-scrolling shooters.

    raarlac says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Very nice and challenging

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:05am

    @dalbinblue I just came back here and saw your answer about the hability loss. New skill award is the best time of the game and you really dont want to read text, just chooses skills :) Maybe red window background would help the player notice it.
    You can't change entry but maybe explain it sooner in your note. I think it's your core gameplay the most important thing the player have to know before playing : -1 +2 habilities each level

    Jezzamon says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Omigosh when I was ~9 I thought of a game I called Tad's Adventure

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]