Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 9 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 10 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Derpymon Blue - vidarn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Breed monsters and make them fight in tournaments to win you money.

    All monsters are randomly generated so no play through will be the same (although they may get damn similar;).

    The .love file can be run with Love2D (https://love2d.org/).
    Install the engine and you should be able to double click the file to run it.
    Alternatively just drag and drop it on the Love2D shortcut.

    Unzip the .love file to find the source.

    View vidarn's journal. | View all entries by vidarn

    Ratings

    #69Humor3.26
    #88Theme3.70
    #123Fun3.35
    #233Overall3.22
    #312Graphics3.09
    #320Mood2.72
    #490Audio2.00
    #497Innovation2.57
    #601Coolness47%

    Comments

    NedortGames says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    yea... I`m thinking pokemon logo copyright!

    Ragzouken says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Reminds me more of Dragon Warrior Monster than Pokemon - I like it :) The attack power seems a lot higher than HP - at the beginning everything was dying in one or two moves.

    vidarn says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    Yeah, the pokemon-like title and title screen was just something I added as an attempt at humor.
    Regarding the attack power I've nerfed the enemies you meet in the first tournament - to try and make it less frustrating in the beginning.
    Oh, and thanks a lot for playing the game!

    cappelnord says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    I like the magic spells, even though I don't know how they work :-D

    vidarn says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

    Hehe. The spells are pretty simple. The blue creatures (water) has an ability that does more damage to orange (fire) creatures, who in turn deal most damage to green ones (grass) with their special attacks. Green ones then have a special attack that is mostly effective against blue creatures.
    So it's basically rock paper scissors.
    Grey creatures (stone) has a special attack that deals equal amounts of damage to each creature type, but in turn they don't have any weakness against other types.
    The effectiveness of the special attacks differ between monsters and is based on their "Fcs" (Focus) attribute.

    Dakota says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:29pm

    Haha Great little game had a lot of fun playing it

    bvanschooten says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    I am not much into turn based fighting games, but I like this one.

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    The title screen was really funny, but raising strong enough mons is really quite difficult!

    dalbinblue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    Fairly decent game. The controls were awkward on a laptop keyboard though; consider using space over the enter key.

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    I like turnbased combat games. Could be more strategic. I run into a blocken in creature inspection. Overall a well made game!

    mohammad says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    i looked at this and said:
    *GASP* A POKEMON GAME! (herp derp)
    shame i cant play it. ;(
    (yes! yes! i know you need the love engine but he could've just made it into a .EXE)

    juaxix says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    where is the source? :)
    All I saw in this game is correct.
    Would like to see the genetic algorithm please ;-)
    Animations are smooth and gamelogic is great, this, pleassed me my friend

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    Haha I really liked it, especially the monster design :D

    vidarn says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:56am

    @juaxix:
    Thank you :)
    The .love file is actually just a zip-file. If you rename it to .zip and extract it you should en up with the source.
    @mohammad:
    I don't run windows at home and making a .exe didn't occur to me. However, I'm sad to hear this means you (and possibly others) can't play the game. I'll look into providing an executable. Thanks for the feedback!

    someone says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    Great game, though it did feel like too much of a grind to get through the last tournament. Also there is a bug when the prize money is $1666.66666667 and displaying without a decimal point which is confusing.
    I really like the random monsters.

    Jedi says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:27am

    Awesome entry! All 4&5*'s! Excellent use of theme! It was really fun to breed those little guys, if a little tedious and demanding. :)

    I played it so much, that I left it minimized and came back to play it some more. Shortly after I did, and did some mating, I got an error: Could not read file
    monster_parts/body/5.png.

    I'm still rating your game high, because it was a lot of fun despite the error, and based on the circumstances, it might be an error with LOVE and not your game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]