Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 19 hours, 45 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 20 hours, 33 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dragonom - Kinokochan - Jam Entry

    Team Target Practice is happy to present: Dragonom!

    It's a game about nurturing a baby dragon until he reaches his fully evolved form.

    Credits/breakdown:
    - Code by Jade in C++
    - Art by Kinoko with Photoshop + Cintiq
    - Music composed by Kinoko
    - Sound Effects by Jade in SFXR

    The levels were also made with Jade's engine, Aki. A lot of his time was spent integrating new tile features into his already-existing tile system.

    This is also Kinoko's debut as a music composer. Marvel at her underdeveloped digital piano skills!

    View Kinokochan's journal. | View all entries by Kinokochan

    Ratings

    #24Graphics(Jam)4.29
    #28Audio(Jam)3.70
    #46Mood(Jam)3.35
    #51Humor(Jam)3.11
    #173Overall(Jam)2.83
    #174Theme(Jam)2.43
    #208Fun(Jam)2.35
    #223Innovation(Jam)2.17
    #582Coolness48%

    Comments

    geekygenius says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:29am

    I like the technique you used to make the ground 3D. Very nice effect.

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:58am

    I like the old English spelling and the art style. The game play was a bit lacking.

    clavicarius says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:01am

    Man, I'm glad that had an ending. What's with it taking an hour to cast new magic? Looks good and the dragon nom sound is cute.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:03am

    The art is pretty cool. What a cute little dragon!

    Not a very fun game, though. Most of the game was waiting for my mana bar to refill.

    EdgarVerona says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:05am

    Ha! I love the ending! Well done, I enjoyed it!

    Kinokochan says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:05am

    Thanks for the feedback on the mana bar, clavicarius & defiantburrito!
    We were worried that players spamming cast would not be challenging, but it sounds like more enemies would have been a better option than slow mana. We'll definitely be tweaking with that as a stretch goal.

    Starmen says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:52am

    The game itself was a little on the clunky side. The movement felt a bit strange, and it was hard to aim the spell because you only have the standard mouse. That art and music was super super super nice though, and I got a few chuckles out of the writing. Really nice work overall.

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:54am

    Beautiful assets, though there's not a lot of meat to it.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    I liked the subtle parallax effect. The collision detection ruined it a bit for me. Annoying to fire at something far way from the tree sprite but still have it intercepted. The music and ambience is really nice though. And the graphical style superb.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Beautiful, but slow and not much gameplay.

    PixelOaks says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Very cute, great art, the movement controls felt a little slippery, the magic could have charged faster. Would love to see this further developed. Also cute dragons ++

    AleksandarDev says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    I never understood RPGs, but you have some nice graphics!

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:06am

    I like the 8bit sounds and the polished art. I personally love RPG's and this one was cute and fun for me. Good job!

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:31am

    The mana bar really did take far too long to regen, it didn't make it challenging, mainly because the enemies didn't really ever attack you, so you were never running away madly. I think having a little more progress indications would have been better. Like the first time you fed the dragon, he grew a bit, then when you were half way done, then finally a full grown dragon at the end. Cause I was walking around forever just wondering if I was actually accomplishing anything. But seriously great work on the art assets and sound design, looks very good for such a sort time frame.

    Kinokochan says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:35am

    Thanks again for the feedback, everyone!

    @tupperwarespoon: We are hoping to iterate on this game more at some point, and gameplay balance is obviously something that needs to be tweaked with a lot. Maybe more aggressive enemies is also something we could include (along with faster mana regen) to make the game a bit more fun.

    Your point about the dragon is a good one too! I was thinking some additional UI to indicate his growth would help, but subtle changes to the art is also something to consider! Thanks! :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 7:55am

    Nice art and mood. But I can't understand controls first time... And this language...
    Good job, anyway.

    michax says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 1:03am

    Gameplay was a little to simple, but graphics are nice!

    Yoni says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

    I had a lot of fun! Shame it was only one level, though.

    Yes, I had some trouble with the slow mana as well, but in my second attempt I really grasped how it works and everything. It was fine, in my opinion.

    What I would change is just add "X out of Y" for each food type. Then I'd know how far have I made it through the level. It helps to know while I'm walking around far away from my awesome dragon so I don't have to make the round trip twice or more.

    Good job! Obviously, graphics and music were great.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]