Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 9 hours, 24 minutes, 10 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Blob's Gotta Eat - MrDanH - Jam Entry

    My first group effort for Ludum Dare. We started off with the initial idea of a game based on an alien that would eat people to evolve into a more powerful lifeform, and in the end we cut the evolution side of things due to lack of time. Nonetheless, we ended up with a fun (IMHO) little stealth-puzzle game.

    Use furniture and walls for cover as you sneak up on the enemies and then lunge for the kill. The Blob will glow and make a noise when you're close enough to eat enemies. If an enemy sees you, then you need to get into cover before they shoot you. Different coloured enemies have different behaviour.

    View MrDanH's journal. | View all entries by MrDanH

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #24Humor(Jam)3.50
    #38Fun(Jam)3.50
    #100Mood(Jam)2.95
    #111Overall(Jam)3.18
    #116Audio(Jam)2.88
    #125Innovation(Jam)2.89
    #150Graphics(Jam)3.07
    #244Theme(Jam)1.82

    Comments

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    I laughed so hard when I first heard the "Huh" sound effect

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    Actually really fun! I loved the stealth element.

    FrederickK says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:35am

    I loved the gameplay!
    But I think that would be better if the game was a little faster.
    Very interesting, simple and great humor!

    sfernald says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Oh, I loved this game! Great job! This is game I could definitely go back and play some more. I wish things were a little bigger so I could see them better though. That's my only complaint. Otherwise fun and polished game with appropriate graphics.

    sfernald says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:03am

    What framework did you use to make this in, btw?

    MrDanH says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:56am

    We used Flixel, since I was familiar with using it from the last Ludum Dare. Thanks for the kind words people :)

    Zamando says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    Nice game, a litte slow at times.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Interesting, but yeah, it seemed a little slow

    imef says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:41pm

    Great game! Had lots of fun playing it!

    sfernald says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    Oh flixel, awesome. Are you considering releasing the source? I would love to see what the source code looks like on such a professional game.

    xhunterko says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:21am

    The blob's nom made me smile more then a few times. Heh.

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Nice implementation of stealth mechanics, but yeah it does seem a little slow.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:18am

    Slowed down a bit when there were lots of enemies on the screen but it was really fun to play! Eating up those people was oddly satisfying, especially after being shot at by them :)

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Nice! Very slow paced as mentioned. Also, the idea seems familiar... ;)

    X-0ut says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Its a shame you guys couldnt get the theme idea in that you had planned, I can really see it working out. Got that 1950's b-movie scifi going. Amusing sfx :D

    zx81 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    I've won :)
    Great game and audio effects.

    Maple says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Huh? Omnomnomnomnom. A nice entry. :) Now for the bad :p Your idea was great, but I thought it wasn't executed as best it could be. For example, while things like slow movement and enemy placement which forced you to walk around the whole screen are great for prolonging gameplay, I started to feel more like it was a waiting game. An easy way to combat this, would have been to make Z lunge in the direction you are moving, when you aren't locked on to anything, to speed it up. Overall, presentation was nice.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:41am

    I like stealth gameplay. All good but I can't figure out about evolution...

    gritfish says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Moving felt painfully slow, but I loved the stealth aspect, and the "omnomnomnom" sound made me giggle every time.

    Haddy22 says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Great game!~ 5 stars very well done and very fun to play.

    atraxgames says ...
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 7:29pm

    I like the stealth idea, but after a while it become a little bit repetitive, nice sounds indeed!

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    Fun game to play. Loved the different approach where you had to sneak up on your enemy and get close whereas they could shoot you from a distance. The sound effects were good and quite funny. I hope you continue to develop this and polish as it is a really great start! Awesome job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]