Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 20 hours, 38 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    I'd Change the World for You - Zanzlanz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hey there!

    Just like many of you, this is my first full Ludum Dare submission. Here's what the game's all about:

    Separated by the one you love, you must transform the world around you in this laid-back platformer in order to complete your mission.

    As an added challenge, try and get all 5 hidden stars in the game. (Eventually this will be used for achievements on sites.)

    Note: I used the engine I made in my "I'm in" post to get a heads start on scene rendering and platform physics. Other than that, all 1000+ lines of code were written within time. :)

    I will have a timelapse ready in a few days. Since it usually takes longer to make the timelapse than it is to record it, I'll just post a link as a new post. :)

    How does this game relate to "evolution?" Well the world literally evolves, and enables you to progress in the game. I felt that doing a game where the player evolves is too expected. I feel like I've accomplished my goal of being unique!

    Thank you so much for playing, and I wish everyone good luck on your ratings! I really love Ludum Dare! :D


    ****Update at 2 hours, 18 minutes remaining: Added quality option and fixed score counter****
    ****Post-compo version has a new game mode if you get all of the stars!***

    View Zanzlanz's journal. | View all entries by Zanzlanz

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #61Overall3.67
    #72Audio3.43
    #81Innovation3.61
    #101Fun3.43
    #121Mood3.18
    #162Graphics3.52
    #289Humor2.30
    #362Theme2.93

    Comments

    GhostID says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Awesome game! I love it!

    GhostID says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:17am

    Great game, enjoyed it!

    Stranger087 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:33am

    Little slow, but still interesting.
    You need to rasterize graphics, i see

    pentaphobe says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:34am

    Really cool stuff, and great unified feel.

    Unfortunately it's running at ~5fps on this machine for some reason so I'll have to wait on votes

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:35am

    Stranger087, all the game is, is one graphic. No movieclips or images. It is were, I'm pretty sure it would be a lot slower. Particles and the background slow it down a lot though. Press Q to decrease quality if it's that bad ;)

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:36am

    Same with you Pentaphobe, try decreasing quality with Q :)

    sclark39 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:56am

    I love the effect of the changing level. Very interesting effect that you could basically get for free with the right architecture for the level (consider using tiles). :)
    The gameplay was a bit repetitive and boring, but I never got tired of seeing stuff in the level move.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:02am

    I like the effect as well :)
    I would have liked to make the entities (moving tiles) link up to each other, but I'm sure that would have caused unnecessary lag. And yeah I would have like difficulty and variation too. When I started making it, I just wanted a relaxed, slow-paced game ;)

    bryonglass says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:11am

    You know taking time to sleep is not a bad Idea :) Awesome game loved it, looks like allot of work in 48 hr :)

    monkeymad2 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:29am

    Lovely game, not much of a difficulty curve though.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    My sleep was normally from 11:00pm to 7:00am. I didn't really take many breaks. It was a lot of work >.<

    Th3dz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    Very cool. It was a bit slow though.

    Datw says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Unfortunately I had fps issues (running behind 10 fps, propably at 5 or so). The idea seemed cool, but I won't rate it because I coudln't really play it. (I even decreased the quality...)

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Fun game, enjoyed playing. Had no problems with slowness at all or any other techinical issues for that matter. Liked the changing world approach and how your path evolved in response to the things you did. Good you could go back and try again when you got yourself boxed in!!

    derevensky says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Really great idea. I wish i could play it on better computer without lags. I'm sure you can achieve better perfomance making some optimizations like caching or something. Also music is awesome, great job!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    I'll make a faster version soon. Sorry for the inconveniences :)
    Thewiseguy99, I'm glad you didn't have lag issues! It's weird that some people do and some people don't have problems with that.
    Thanks for the music complement Derevensky :)

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Great work! I love how all the moving bits fuse into the fixed ones. Too bad there isn't any checkpointing or even restarting (or is there?); if you make a mistake, you'll have to reload the entire game.

    Great job on the physics, by the way. I know that even something as simple as a stable stack of boxes can be hard to achieve.

    On my machine, it's slow but playable. Is the entire level one big graphic? Because that really might slow it down; drawing it from a small set of tiles is likely to be much faster, because of less memory access, and because it allows for the majority to be culled right away.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    There definitely are checkpoints. It says so at the beginning of the level (Press R to turn back time)
    No you're right, I'm drawing it from a small set of tiles. It's all very quick. The thing that makes it slow down is probably the tiles linking to each other. They have to check the tiles next to it...

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    Nice platformer and good level-changing mechanic. The audio was fantastic too; gave it a really feeling of momentum. In fact having the blocks move in time with the music would have been cool. Good job overall

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Ironically, I wanted to have the colors change to the music, actually! It didn't seem to fit with the design though, and the timing would probably be hard to offset properly.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    This game would be perfect if the avatar moved better.
    Still awesome game!! Incredible concept!!!!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Thanks! ;D
    I raged-quit my own game because the character doesn't like to jump at certain parts. Is this a bad sign? xD

    BuffaloPhil says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:19am

    Perfect!

    sev_inf says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    Unfortianately, I was unable to play, the game is extremely slow on my machine.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    You said you updated to decrease lag? I still get lag myself. Perhaps, and this might be a bit much to put as a fix, but I'm saying it anyway, that you should only run these tile checks for tiles visible to the player?

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Alright, I've managed to find a machine it works well on. I've got to say, you have a lot of talent for level design.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    "only run these tile checks for tiles visible to the player?"
    Haha of course :)

    I'm very glad you were able to play it on a faster computer. Also, thanks for the compliment! My first experience with actual level design was the last MiniLD where I made a puzzle game (Lab Lights) and I thought I did quite well there also..

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    By of course, I mean of course that's the case already.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    I should've known, huh? Yeah, I played Lab Lights, although I never finished it. You just really seem to be able to make all the components of your game work together.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:40pm

    If I had to clarify what I meant by 'of course', then no, you shouldn't have known. Sorry 'bout that. I was actually about to comment thrice, haha, but that would have been ridiculous ;)
    And yes, making things work together is not an easy task. I'm sure we all know that! I left out a part of the game where a moving wall carried up a box, but I realized that I didn't make box fall physics like the players. I turned that into the spike-wall part. :)

    TinyPlatypus says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    Fun with a strong mechanic, and rather innovative! Unfortunately it lagged very badly and became almost unplayable, despite changing the quality. This is probably due to using flash but it's still hurt my enjoyment of the game. :(

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    Thanks for liking it ;D
    I know about lag. People have been angering me about it on Newgrounds all week. (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/601953)
    But my engine worked fine will all my older games; I'm not sure what's wrong with this one. :(

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    *with -_-

    TinyPlatypus says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Just though I'd say I've downloaded the new version of flash player and replayed your game. Although it didn't completely fix the issue, it was bearable and I managed to reach the finish. 'I'd Change the World for You' (with out so much lag) is a really innovative game that I believe would make a great 'full' game, I've also updated my rating to reflect this discovery. Amazing!

    Thanks, Sam

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Thank you very much for coming back, I really appreciate it :)

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Nice concept but the gameplay is far to easy :). The design fits very well.

    Kmad says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:03am

    One of the most fun entries that I've played, solid game mechanics and great level design. I had a few little collision issues here and there where my character wouldn't activate a switch but in general it played well. Great entry!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    Thank you! The collision on buttons is because the character slightly sinks into the ground, therefor the button's never pressed. Oops! xD

    yosh says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:44am

    Well for a first time it's more than good! The music is excellent, the 2d engine is working and the graphics are nice!

    Two weak points:
    - The level design is too linear
    - I suppose that the switches that activate the blocks and change the level is your interpretation of the theme. I think you could have been further here ;)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:45am

    Some interesting puzzles going on here. Good job, really nice play.

    Fadobo says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Cool gameplay, nice music, overall a great game!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Thanks everyone for your feedback!

    AaronYip says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    Really enjoyed watching the level change and I definitely liked the concept a lot. I think some pretty interesting gameplay can grow out of the idea if you developed it further: the level automatically moves, you have more control over the level (rather than just press switches), or even an ambitious combination of those so you're battling a level that "evolves" to keep you trapped. I think you have a lot of potential :D

    Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

    Awesome level-design!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Oooh the results are coming soon! Again, thanks everyone for commenting, playing, and rating! I did manage to play 60 games, and most of them were impressive!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    #61 overall is nice! Apparently you guys didn't think I fit the theme, or was funny enough! I made up for innovation and some bonus coolness though ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]