Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 15 hours, 30 minutes, 15 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 15 hours, 30 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Evolution Adventure - AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The Kongregate and Newgrounds versions are now improved post-compo versions. The Stencyl version is the original 48 Hour compo entry, please rate the game based on that version.

    Post-compo improvements:
    -Fixed bug that prevents level 2 exit from working sometimes.
    -slightly adjusted controls and difficulty.
    -Edited intro text.
    -Bigger bite detection area.
    -fixed level 3 parallax background.
    -Added a counter to show how many critters need to be eaten.

    --

    Set on a evolutionary adventure where you must devour the weak and survive against
    the strong so you may evolve and reach the top of the food chain!

    In this game, you must travel the stages and eat creatures that are smaller than you. After you have eaten
    enough, you are ready to evolve and you need to find the stage exit to proceed to the next level. You need to eat around 20 creatures per level to evolve.

    Use arrow keys to move and jump/swim
    Use Space to bite.
    Use P to pause
    - and + to adjust volume
    0 to mute/unmute
    Esc to return to main menu

    View AdventureIslands's journal. | View all entries by AdventureIslands

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #9Graphics4.46
    #22Audio3.83
    #35Overall3.81
    #42Theme3.93
    #75Mood3.45
    #142Fun3.29
    #241Humor2.46
    #529Innovation2.49

    Comments

    TobiasNL says ...
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    Nice presentation + Simple yet effective gameplay = Awesome entry.
    Job well done! Especially the tiles are nice.

    TobiasNL

    screech says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:06am

    Very nice! my only concern it's that there's no visible hud to keep score of the ones you eat and those needed to evolve.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:43am

    Awesome game! I always love the graphics in your games. Your artwork is fantastic. Your controls are always great. The difficulty is great.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Nice! Very polished, and good gameplay too. A little hard for me though.

    Ninjakannon says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Really lagged for me, making it pretty unplayable. Just the game was lagging, not the rest of my browser. That said, I liked the graphics and audio.

    madpew says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:11pm

    Hard as hell, didn't make it through the first level. Amazing work on art and setting. Lovely.

    vilya says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    I couldn't get past the first level! Do you need to eat everything in the level to progress? The graphics and music are great, but the controls are fiddly (at least on the first level) and it needs some kind of progress indicator to stop you from giving up. Nevertheless, I'll be playing this again for sure!

    Markavian says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

    I got frustrated with the difficulty on the first level after 5 attempts, the up-down red fish block fish that get trapped in the holes. Love the art style and water feel. A HUD explaining how much food you need to evolve might have been helpful to let me know my progress.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    No, in every level you need to eat around 20 creatures to unlock level exit. You don't need to eat every single creature.

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Extremely impressive! You've gotten a lot of work done, added plenty of details, and everything flows smoothly. The characters and tiles are beautifully drawn and the animations are simple but effective. And separate sound tracks for each stage? O.o *Thumbs up*

    I've got some small annoyances though: ;)
    -Having to start all over on a stage is pretty annoying in a collecting-game, adding some checkpoints or just losing some, and not all, of your collected food might be an idea.
    -The first stage is a lot harder than the others, imo. Maybe consider reducing the amount of enemies there?
    -The collision detection for the eating is a little finicky, it feels like the collision box is too small.
    -The parallax effect on the 3rd stage is a little overdone, it makes me dizzy. :P
    -As others have mentioned; a progress bar on how far you have left until you evolve would be super!

    Awesome game! :D

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    Classic gameplay, awesome execution !

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:10pm

    Very polished, as always! Loved everything :) As others said a bar indicating how much do yo need to eat would be cool!

    CdrJameson says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    Impressive! If I could do that in 48 hours, I'd be a millionaire. Well, a few appstore games better off anyway.
    Can be frustrating, but it's a platform game so that's kind of a given. On-screen count of how many creatures you've eaten would help a lot. Well polished.

    headchant says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    The graphics are great!

    Sestren says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Graphics and sound are both excellent. The biting hit detection feels a little off to me.

    Strkl says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    A bit hard, and the collision detection is a bit frustating, but the graphics a really great (I would have add a blue layer on the top to make the underwater feel more present), the music is not bad also !

    GFM says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    It's incredible how complete your game is!

    Amazing job!

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    Well done game. Stunning pixelgraphics and nice designed levels.

    LuizHGMonclar says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Hey, your pixel art is just amazing! Some weeks ago I was looking for games made in Stencyl on Ludum Dares, and I found the game "Tiny Island Adventure", was it yours? I really really loved the pixel art in that one, but in this one I loved even more!

    About the gameplay, I think it wasn't very fluid you know? The water stage was a little too difficult for a first stage. When I got to the second one I was a little frustrated when I tried to jump on a leaf that had a worm chewing on it, but it wasn't a platform, then I died :(

    Anyway, I liked your game, it has an exceptional amount of pixel art, you made it in Stencyl too and it was a very very good job, especially for being only under 48h!

    Good game!

    Misfit says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Graphics (and audio) are awesome. Very polished, but game was a bit laggy sometimes.

    CappaGames says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    Well done. The first level reminds me of the water stages in donkey kong country, which is a good thing.

    pardue says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    The graphics are impressive, the first level is a little hard for a first level, but the game was well done.

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:41am

    Wonderful graphics, great music, and solid gameplay, what more could you ask for in 48 hours? Really, awesome job! Really the only complaint I could think of if it wasn't a 48 hour game would be the difficulty curve feels backwards, but it's still an excellent game!

    galman says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Amazing game! As your all games, very chraming graphics, I always really liked them :-) Well done!

    McFunkypants says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Absolutely fantastic! Looks incredible. The parallax backgrounds and pixelly goodness is spectacular. Everything is smooth and playable. The music was the weakest part - it certainly isn't bad at all, but doesn't make me think of underwater scenes. It would be great to have a progress bar to see how close you are to evolving. Amazing work!

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Thats really incredible I adore the idea that the controls and way the game is played with every evolution :)

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:15am

    Like others have said it's very nice looking game with nice audio and a neat concept I just had a few minor issues with it. Namely the parralax scrolling of the background in stage 2 with the leaves moving both sideways and up/down. I found it rather distracting and not very visually appealing. Would of done much better without it. The lack of a counter for how many creatures you consumed was the only other complaint I had. Great job overall!

    jijaweb says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:00am

    Impressive. Great game.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Very nice looking and sounding :) A progress bar would be nice. I think your parallax effect has way too much movement per player movement - doesn't give the correct impression of distance at all.

    raarlac says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    I think the game lacks of innovation: Platform, the eat to evolve thing...
    The rest is stunning. Its amazing how you could develop such polished game in 48 hours, and with Stencyl! I didn't even know Stencyl could build such detailed games. I loved to shatter animals and see its particles falling.
    Gfx and music are great too. I wish I could handle pixel art like that.
    Overall is a great game. I think it represents well the LD24 Compo generation. Congrats

    Maxium says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    Wonderful Graphics, pretty good gameplay, as well. You really established the theme of evolution. The only real gripe I have is the penalty of death is rather harsh.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Awesome

    pekuja says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:48am

    The presentation is really nice. Gameplay is pretty basic, and there were some annoyances like the leaves with the worms looking a lot like the leaves you can stand on, which made me jump to my death a couple of times. Another thing was that it seems like the bite animation disables horizontal control of the character, which also killed me a couple of times. I really wish I could have played around as the final stage of evolution, just feeling awesome.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:39am

    Game is so good as it's fuckin hard... becaus of fucking controls. But I beat it yeah! Good job!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:05am

    How did you make this in 48h? Impressive, as always. Very polished, great sound, graphics, feel, and interesting way of implementing the theme. I enjoyed it, will be playing more of it soon!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:26am

    The fact that biting gives you some speed is a bit strange, and the parallax in the last level is a bit too much may be.
    Otherwise everything is great, especially the tunes which are all incredible.

    mes says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    the gameplay felt kinda bland. most of the difficulty was in wrestling with the controls. cool graphics and music though.

    rxi says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    Excellent game which stuck close to the theme of evolution. The platforming felt flawless and the art looked great, the elevator music was enjoyable and it all had a decent ending and felt complete.

    The parallax on the background was a bit dodgy, with the higher background layer moving faster than the foreground tilemap layer on the vertical axis, but a small complaint in an otherwise decent game!


    On the second level when you go to the end before you're ready to evolve, you can jump up onto the top of the level and run off the edge, I linked to an image showing the part I mean below:

    http://i.imgur.com/KRQdQ.png

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Yeah the original version has a bug in the second stage that if you or a fly touches the invisible exit block before you are ready to evolve, it will fly up and become unreachable, I forgot to set the area to not move. This is fixed in the post-compo versions.

    echa says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:04am

    Beautiful tiny game. Second level is harder than thitd )

    cappelnord says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    very cute! music that mathces the game well, very fun, awesome!

    I think the parallax scrolling is a little weird, the background further in the back seems to move faster than the foreground.

    MrDanH says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Loved it, wish I could've seen the transformations between the stages but the game has a nice retro feel to it.

    demonpants says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    Very well polished and pretty game. I unfortunately got very frustrated with the water controls and needing to completely start over twice while I was on my way to the very first exit. Would be nice to have an indicator of how far along I am, and checkpoints should be more numerous and/or the penalty for dying shouldn't be a complete restart.

    cadin says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Really great game. Love the graphics and the sound. It was really hard. I didn't make it very far.

    harusame says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Excellent :) Very polish, awesome entry !
    Not very inovate but it's fun !

    AMSmirnov says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Nice :)

    Evil Cult says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Awesome game! I have a couple of criticisms but all-round this was great!
    I found the death a bit too punishing. In some cases I had gotten halfway or more through a level and dying at that stage was a very frustrating setback.
    I think the game could have also used some sort of interface for showing the player how much more they have to eat to pass a level.
    That said, this is one of my top rated games so far! Graphics were very nice although I felt a bit cheated by them in one place by a leaf that I thought I should be able to jump on, where instead I fell through it to my death. Audio was nice too and it was quite a fun game in general. Very impressive for solo work in the 48 hour window!

    khoa says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Hu oh, very impressive game, graphics and sounds are incredible :o

    Doft says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:35am

    Love the graphics and music! Controls were perfect! A shame it was so short :(

    Cake&Code says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Your artwork is lovely! And I think the game has such great polish. I think the music really adds to the game, and the world is really well developed. I did find it annoying that I had to restart at every level, and that it was somewhat difficult to advance past the first level.

    RawBits says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Nice platformer! Cool story with awesome gfx and moody music. A little short I wanted to play some more but it wouldn't be tiny then. :)

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:06am

    Love the cartoony graphics and light music.

    infernet89 says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:12am

    Lovely graphics!

    RawBits says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:18am

    Nice platformer! Cool story with awesome gfx and moody music. A little short I wanted to play some more but it wouldn't be tiny then. :)

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    Great graphics, feels nicely polish and the game is tricky but not impossible. What I don't like is that some of the leafs weren't solid and trying to jump on them would lead you to fall to your death.

    vigrid says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Great graphics, as usual! The gameplay in the original release is a bit frustrating due to controls locking.

    BumpkinRich says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Enjoyed playing. Would have liked feed back on how much I needed to eat to evolve but lots of fun.

    Ken Reismann says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    Amazing graphics and audio. Some way of knowing how many more creatures you have to eat and where the exit is would definitely help, but it is very well done as it is.

    Sep 10, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Amazing work in 48 hours! Great graphics and audio and good work with the theme. Found it a bit awkward to eat some things and ended up dying a couple of times due to my bad timing though :(

    lathomas64 says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:26am

    Really great look. slightly annoyed with how close I could get and still miss. Would have liked some indication of how close to evolving I was, even if it was a vague idea.

    csanyk says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Well done! I really enjoyed this. The music and graphics stand out, although I think you over-did the parallax effect on the background layers a bit.

    Miltage says ...
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 9:00am

    Nice game, but I didn't get past the first level. I think the penalty of restarting the entire level is a little harsh. You should have three lives or something.

    The graphics were fairly decent, I can see that they were Terraria-inspired. Instead of having the little blue fish swim backwards, you should have made the sprite for the fish flip around when they swam to the right.

    Just my two cents. A well-made and decent entry. Good work!

    iandioch says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 9:28am

    I couldn't make it through the first level. I felt I had to eat almost everything, as there was no counter to tell me how much I had to eat, so that was a bit irritating. The music was nice in the beginning, but got a little repetitive. I wished for the ability to swim *down* so many times, instead of having to endure the slowness of gravity.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    I got the bug where I couldn't get past the second level. Oh well, not gonna try again.

    My first comment is: Why on earth did you add the possibility to fall off the screen? Death is so contradictory to the design of this thing, it's just not right. I got a message saying it was time to evolve half a second prior to falling off. It's extremely aggravating.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:44pm

    Of course, that was sort of negative. It's a pretty nice entry.

    Codexus says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Really nice graphics and music. The game is well implemented but not knowing what will kill me, lack of feedback on the objective and having to restart from scratch when I die made me give up quickly which is a shame since there seem to be so much more nice content on the screenshots.

    tcstyle says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Pretty impressive presentation. I liked the whole concept. Feels quite complete.

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Great graphics, good concept and really nice sound too

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]